We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location”
Review of Schweizer Pension

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Schweizer Pension
Ranked #15 of 114 Vienna B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Mpls
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Great location”
Reviewed November 23, 2013

Klaus was our host at the Schweizer Pension in Vienna (I believe Anita whom we did not meet is his mother) He was very helpful. He got us tickets for a Mozart concert in the Golden Hall where the Vienna Philharmonic play on New Years Eve. We didn't see them but did enjoy a wonderful concert in the beautiful Golden Hall. Klaus gave us a map and great directions and recommendations for places to eat and how to get to sights. Our room had a shared bathroom but it was still a nice place to stay. (the rooms with bathrooms were all booked when we made our reservations) There was a sink in our room. Breakfast was great. Once you get over the entrance..(like coming through an old warehouse) it's a good place to stay and very reasonable.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sailjmrm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

168 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    55
    75
    24
    13
    1
See reviews for
18
82
25
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Baltimore, Maryland
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed October 30, 2013 via mobile

Lovely pension with comfortable room, pleasant typical breakfast. Most important for us was its location. It is nicely located from many sites and restaurants in Vienna like St. Stephens Cathedral. The street that the pension is located on is a small street so for me I needed to pay attention when returning. Owners of the pension were extremely helpful to us with directions, early breakfast, good advice, and just very friendly.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Carolyn S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tillsonburg, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed October 10, 2013

If you're looking for the Hilton, this isn't for you. However, if you want to stay in nice neighborhood, walking distance to the sites and experience the charm of a B and B, this is the place. Anita is your mother in Vienna. She's so helpful and friendly. Her rooms are very clean and quite large. Yes there are little quirks but that's what you'll encounter in Europe. They are extremely energy conscientious so lights can be on timers. The floors can be creaky. They use the big old fashioned keys and the walls can thin so you can hear your neighbors conversation, so we always pack earplugs. Her prices are a good value. Anita lays out a nice breakfast buffet with sliced meat and cheese, hard boiled eggs, fresh fruit, hot tea and coffee, assorted breads and jams.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank nani54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 4, 2013

If you like b&b's, you will like this place. The room we had was huge, the beds were extremely comfortable - it had double doors so try and get that room. My only negative is the entrance from the street - kind of creepy but don't be deterred. The owners will help you with anything you need.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Patsisue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Park City, Utah
Level 6 Contributor
185 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed October 2, 2013

We stayed three nights in the Schweizer Pension and enjoyed it very much. The owners are great, the location is good for public transportation, the room was large. The furnishing are sparse and date but certainly adequate. The noise level from the street was fairly high. The bathroom was very small. The breakfast was excellent European style with great cheese and meat and cereal.
The owners are knowledgeable, friendly, and speak excellent English. There are great options for getting around town with a subway station, an electric bus stop, and a tram stop all within a couple of blocks. I would stay again!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank utahartist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed October 1, 2013

We stayed here for 3 days. Klaus (Gerald) and Anita were very helpful, going so far as making a packed lunch, gratis and unasked, when we had to check out pre-breakfast time. Also very helpful with local travel advice.

Rooms are comfortable,and functional. It is not a luxury hotel, but does the basics well. We would happily stay there if in Vienna again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DKA255100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
82 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed September 23, 2013

The staff are friendly and helpful so I wish I could give this a better rating, but this isn't a good hotel. The room is clean but basic and very dated which isn't itself an issue, but the shower pressure isn't great, the bed is hard and squeaks at every movement, the noise from other guests late at night and at breakfast was very loud, breakfast itself is okay but one of the mornings the bread was a bit stale.
Worst of all, there is no 24 hour reception, and this place has three old-style keys, the kind you need to twist several times to get doors open. The door to the building and to the room were alright but on the first evening we had a lot of trouble with the door to get into the floor (i.e. the Pension itself). With no way to contact staff and no response to our constant ringing of the doorbell (which was probably terrible for any guests who were home) we were this close to having to go to another hotel (without most of our stuff) after about half an hour of trying, when finally we managed to get it open.
All in all, not worth it.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pancreas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Vienna hotels
Inner City
Pension Suzanne
Pension Suzanne
#61 of 361 in Vienna
761 reviews
Old University Quarter
Hotel Austria
Hotel Austria
#24 of 361 in Vienna
1,304 reviews
Inner City
Pension Nossek
Pension Nossek
#169 of 361 in Vienna
245 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Inner City
Pension Neuer Markt
Pension Neuer Markt
#191 of 361 in Vienna
331 reviews
Inner City
Pension Dr. Geissler
Pension Dr. Geissler
#24 of 114 in Vienna
227 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Schweizer Pension? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Schweizer Pension

Property: Schweizer Pension
Address: Heinrichsgasse 2, Vienna 1010, Austria
Location: Austria > Vienna Region > Vienna > Inner City , Innere Stadt
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 114 B&Bs / Inns in Vienna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Schweizer Pension 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire and TripOnline SA so you can book your Schweizer Pension reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Schweizer Pension Hotel Vienna

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing