We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“finding the street”
Review of Pension Lerner

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Pension Lerner
Ranked #227 of 361 Hotels in Vienna
Reviewed June 10, 2010

We had a lovely stay at Pension Lerner, very convenient in the heart of Vienna. Beautiful white linen, and lovely breakfast, very helpful and friendly people. The only difficulty we had was the lack of signage on the street. The Airport bus stopped very close, and the directions we were given were very clear until we reached the street, then the trouble started. We dragged out suitcases for miles as people misdirected us. We finally ended up where we started, and on walking half-way down the road a sign appeared. Travellers if you think you're in the right place, you are!

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank aimtoplease
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (89)
There are newer reviews for Pension Lerner
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

39 - 45 of 89 reviews

Reviewed January 9, 2010

This was my first time staying in a pension. Lerner is a 7 room pension located very close to city center and within walking distance to bars, restaurants, and most attractions. My room was a twin. It was clean, comfortable, and had free WIFI internet. I thought the staff was friendly and helpful. Typical European breakfast of bread and jam was included with the room. There was only one other room occupied while I was there, so the hotel was very quiet.

  • Stayed: December 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Danimal2007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
An Agoda Traveler
Reviewed October 22, 2009

  • Stayed: October 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank An Agoda Traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed May 21, 2009

The most unprofessional pension ever. We had booked a room, they had our credit card number and when we got there they told us that they had no room!!!!!

So, we spend our first day in Vienna full of anxiety!!!

I hope that nobody will ever fell the way we felt during our vacations. That incident destroyed our happiness and our holidays.

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank etoile1282
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2009

We stayed at this hotel for two nights at the end of March 2009.

This hotel is badly in need of a makeover. The rooms feel rather spartan and the furniture looks like it needs to be replaced. The linens seem like they are getting a bit old and the towels are as rough as sandpaper (no joke). The bed was not particularly comfortable either. The bathroom was rather small, and the shower not particularly powerful. We don't know what the breakfast was like here since we always ate out.

The one great thing about this pension is its location. It is in a very nice neighbourhood and is relatively close to most sights. The staff were also very friendly and helpful on the few occasions we needed anything.

Overall if you are just looking for a budget hotel that is a place to sleep, and don't care about staying in a comfortable well-appointed room, this place will do the trick. We paid 80 euros for our room, which seems very reasonable for this location in Vienna. If you're looking for a nice, comfortable place to relax after spending the day seeing the sights, you might want to look elsewhere.

  • Stayed: March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank World_Travellers2526
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 3, 2008

This was the first time I've ever spent time looking at the artwork in a hotel room. Our room was decorated with old Viennese prints and fliers that reflected the charm and attention to detail emanating from the Pension Lerner. Though it's no full service hotel, the staff made our late arrival a breeze and offered to pack us breakfast for our early departure. We stayed for two nights and we hope to spend more at this well worn but refined pension if we ever return to Vienna.

  • Stayed: July 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AMinSE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 8, 2007

The best thing about this hotel is it's location. Very close to the underground station and walking distance to everything. The surroundings are also very nice. The Pension itself is a bit old and basic. No safe box, not even at the reception. Breakfast is sufficient.

  • Stayed: October 2007, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank MelKualaLumpur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Vienna hotels
Inner City
Pension Residenz
Pension Residenz
#222 of 361 in Vienna
158 reviews
Inner City
Pension Neuer Markt
Pension Neuer Markt
#191 of 361 in Vienna
336 reviews
Inner City
Pension Nossek
Pension Nossek
#186 of 361 in Vienna
254 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Inner City
Bajazzo
Bajazzo
#253 of 361 in Vienna
66 reviews
Inner City
Marc Aurel
Marc Aurel
#229 of 361 in Vienna
160 reviews
Josefstadt
Hotel Graf Stadion
Hotel Graf Stadion
#101 of 361 in Vienna
414 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pension Lerner? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pension Lerner

Address: Wipplingerstrasse 23, Vienna 1010, Austria
Location: Austria > Vienna Region > Vienna > Inner City , Innere Stadt
Amenities:
Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#125 Business Hotel in Vienna
Price Range: $81 - $143 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Pension Lerner 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Hotwire so you can book your Pension Lerner reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lerner Hotel Vienna

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing