We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Okay”
Review of Hotel Kugel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Kugel
Ranked #99 of 361 Hotels in Vienna
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Okay”
Reviewed August 24, 2011

We stayed in Room 339, which was definitely not as nice as the photos make canopy rooms out to be on the website. The problem with putting such lovely looking rooms online is that people may feel let down when they arrive and find that theirs looks nothing like what they have seen. Overall our room looked a bit tired. We did have a four poster bed, made of metal rather than wood. The beige carpet looked rather tired with some stains. The wall paper didn't match the rest of the room and paint was peeling off the windowsills. All of this would have been fine if we hadn't been expecting a room looking like, for instance, numbers 223/233/346 etc on the website. To avoid disappointment of customers, I think it may be an idea to have photos of every room available on the website - and realistic ones without the soft fuzzy lighting. I suspect we may have been unlucky with the room as other reviewers here don't seem to have had the same experience as us.

Overall I would describe our stay as functional rather than enjoyable. Breakfast was adequate.

Pros:
* Walking distance to Museum Quarter
* Tram stop right outside and less than 10 minute walk to U-Bahn.
* Very friendly and helpful reception staff.

Cons:
* Very hard beds - this of course is personal preference but my mum and I found them rather uncomfortable. However the young man on reception found us two extra quilts that we slept on, which helped.
* Downside of tramstop being so near is the noise. We were in a room facing onto the road and were expecting city noise. Due to lack of AC we had the window open all night as well. Buses and trams seem to run for most of the night - great for getting around but not so good for trying to sleep! I used earplugs and could still hear them. We did still manage to sleep (my mum even without ear plugs somehow) but I would definitely recommend asking for a room off the main road.

Room Tip: Ask for a room that does not face the main road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
15 Thank WanderingLeopard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

385 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    205
    128
    34
    10
    8
See reviews for
55
199
25
33
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Adelaide
Level Contributor
45 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed August 19, 2011

Clean, tidy room within walking distance of all Vienna sights. Great value. Breakfast was magnificent. Friendly and extremely helpful staff. Secure parking nearby.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GreyNomadAdelaide
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Krakow, Poland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 31, 2011

We were impressed by the quality and service of the hotel stuff (especially Christina for being very pleasant and direct towards us). This is the second and for sure not the last time we have stayed at this hotel. Room that we stayed in was very luxorious and extremely clean. We are fond of breakfasts at this hotel with plentiful choice of meals (the hand-made rolls with grains really fleeced us). I strongly recommend this hotel to anybody visiting Wien.

MEng Bartosz Szewczyk & MA Joanna Szewczyk

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank szefu81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Billings, Montana
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 27, 2011

We loved this place! Charming, well-located, clean. Very friendly and well-informed staff. Very fair price.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank billingstwosome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
139 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed June 3, 2011

The family that started the hotel over a hundred years ago still manage the property. It shows. The place was immaculate. The staff very friendly, anticipated every need. Would recommend this place to anyone, no matter what price you normally pay for a room.

Room Tip: We stayed in a double, private bath, street view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GStroud
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hillsborough
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed May 30, 2011

This hotel came modestly recommended by Rick Steve's guidebook. The location was a good one for access to the old quarter as well as the metro. However, May 2011 in Germany and Austria has been hot this year, necessitating open windows to sleep comfortably, even at night. This hotel is next to several late night bars and located on a corner with multiple trams that loudly make their way, except in the earliest hours. We tried to change to a quieter room, but the hotel was full. They did give us earplugs to use-free of charge!

Room Tip: look for a spot away from bars/trams
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
13 Thank hillsboroughcats
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed December 20, 2010

We had a triple room booked at a really good price of £100 each for three nights. The room was quite basic, but for the price we were very happy. The breakfast was great, with an excellent range of food. The staff were friendly especially the owner who would chat to the guests at breakfast each morning. The location is great with tram stops nearby and easy walking distance to the museum quarter.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sophie_Edwards
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Vienna hotels
Hotel Lucia
#56 of 361 in Vienna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 553 reviews
Neubau
Pension Pharmador
Pension Pharmador
#32 of 361 in Vienna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 323 reviews
Neubau
NH Wien City
NH Wien City
#88 of 361 in Vienna
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,142 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Josefstadt
Hotel Zipser
Hotel Zipser
#114 of 361 in Vienna
4.0 of 5 bubbles 430 reviews
Josefstadt
Hotel Graf Stadion
Hotel Graf Stadion
#67 of 361 in Vienna
4.0 of 5 bubbles 392 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Kugel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Kugel

Property: Hotel Kugel
Address: Siebensterngasse 43, Vienna 1070, Austria
Phone Number:
Location: Austria > Vienna Region > Vienna > Neubau
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#25 Business Hotel in Vienna
#32 Family Hotel in Vienna
#34 Romantic Hotel in Vienna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Kugel 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Have you ever slept in one of the cozy romantic canopy bedrooms at Hotel Kugel in Vienna? Have you ever tried its regional, organic-breakfast in the bright breakfast room? Have you ever strolled around Hotel Kugel to explore many little shops and restaurants? No? Then it's definitely time to come over! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, HRS, Agoda, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and Hotel.de so you can book your Hotel Kugel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kugel Hotel Vienna

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing