We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Family friendly and wonderful staff”
Review of Hotel Kugel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Kugel
Ranked #108 of 359 Hotels in Vienna
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 3, 2011

The family that started the hotel over a hundred years ago still manage the property. It shows. The place was immaculate. The staff very friendly, anticipated every need. Would recommend this place to anyone, no matter what price you normally pay for a room.

Room Tip: We stayed in a double, private bath, street view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GStroud
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (420)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

192 - 198 of 420 reviews

Reviewed May 30, 2011

This hotel came modestly recommended by Rick Steve's guidebook. The location was a good one for access to the old quarter as well as the metro. However, May 2011 in Germany and Austria has been hot this year, necessitating open windows to sleep comfortably, even at night. This hotel is next to several late night bars and located on a corner with multiple trams that loudly make their way, except in the earliest hours. We tried to change to a quieter room, but the hotel was full. They did give us earplugs to use-free of charge!

Room Tip: look for a spot away from bars/trams
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
13  Thank hillsboroughcats
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 20, 2010

We had a triple room booked at a really good price of £100 each for three nights. The room was quite basic, but for the price we were very happy. The breakfast was great, with an excellent range of food. The staff were friendly especially the owner who would chat to the guests at breakfast each morning. The location is great with tram stops nearby and easy walking distance to the museum quarter.

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sophie_Edwards
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 1, 2010

We just returned from our trip which included two days in Vienna. This hotel was listed in Rick Steves travel guide. We were able to walk to almost all locations we wished to see. The bus and tram stops across the street for other city locations. We got excellent suggestions from Mr. Ton at the front desk and the owner, Heir Roller. Everyone was very friendly and the breakfast which is included in the price was very nice. We booked a canopy room. Renovated bathrooms. Our room faced the street and there was some street noise to be expected and just added to the overall experience. Although there was no wifi, the Lan line was free and fine & we did piggy back on wifi some of the time. Our only suggestion would be extra pillows in the rooms. The down pillows flatten to almost nothing...we just should have asked for extra pillows, which I'm sure they would have provided. Overall, we were very pleased and would return.

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank okteach_61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 11, 2010

The hotel was testfully decorated, washroom recently renovated, All the furniture was white even the TV was white. Friendly staff and owner, very helpfull regarding directions, restaurants, transportation,etc.
Only drawback a little far from Metro but bus and tram stop at door.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank flexitravel22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 11, 2010

We stayed two nights. Arriving very early in the morning, the friendly staff accommodated us by letting us into the room early. We found it recently refurbished, in an oriental theme with a brand new bathroom. The room was very comfortable and welcoming. The Kugel is an historic hotel, one of the oldest hotels in Vienna, with an inner city charm to it, at a very reasonable price. It feels like a relaxed, family run business. The district is interesting, and it's very easy to get around from that part of town. It's on a tram line, so there's a bit of noise, but it's a typical urban apartment experience, and there's double glazing if you're on the street side.

Excellent location , not far from the center and in a slightly bo-ho neighbourhood.

I would quite happily stay there again, as it's such a good deal and you know what you're getting. It's not a deluxe hotel, it's more like a place that friends would have told you about. i much prefer casual hotels like that with a bit of character than a sterile heartless chain hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank karlfest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2010

Ask for a room which does not face the tram line! Our room (#344) was adequate - it didn't look like the rooms pictured on the website. On the plus side - the hotel rooms themselves are very quiet, helpful ladies working the reception desk, and excellent breakfast on offer.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Canadian_Ramblers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ABC2412, Owner at Hotel Kugel, responded to this reviewResponded October 10, 2010

First of all, thank you for chosing Hotel Kugel! In our endless support to satisfy our guests we are more than thankful for every opinion that can help us to improve our guests´s satisfaction and well-being.
However, Standard-rooms look exactly like picture Nr. 3 in our gallery, so they are visible, and then of course, due to the special price range they are not full superior canopy rooms which is clearly visible on our price-list. I
It would be of great help for us, if a dear guest decides on the spot to tell us that he is not completely happy with the chosen room because this gives us the oportunity to do something about it. If this happens after departure it leaves us helpless.
If you want a canopy room, please book a canopy room.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Vienna hotels
Dobling
Ibis Styles Wien City
Ibis Styles Wien City
#55 of 359 in Vienna
1,051 reviews
Hotel Lucia
#52 of 359 in Vienna
691 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mariahilf
Kolpinghaus Wien-Zentral
Kolpinghaus Wien-Zentral
#118 of 359 in Vienna
636 reviews
Mariahilf
Hotel Beethoven Vienna
Hotel Beethoven Vienna
#12 of 359 in Vienna
1,421 reviews
Leopoldstadt
Der Wilhelmshof
Der Wilhelmshof
#32 of 359 in Vienna
1,561 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Kugel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Kugel

Address: Siebensterngasse 43, Vienna 1070, Austria
Phone Number:
Location: Austria > Vienna Region > Vienna > Neubau
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#21 Family Hotel in Vienna
#25 Business Hotel in Vienna
#34 Romantic Hotel in Vienna
Price Range: $89 - $185 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Kugel 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Have you ever slept in one of the cozy romantic canopy bedrooms at Hotel Kugel in Vienna? Have you ever tried its regional, organic-breakfast in the bright breakfast room? Have you ever strolled around Hotel Kugel to explore many little shops and restaurants? No? Then it's definitely time to come over! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Agoda, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Kugel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kugel Hotel Vienna

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing