We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ok, but Not Great”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Austria Trend Hotel Rathauspark Wien
Ranked #127 of 360 Hotels in Vienna
Certificate of Excellence
San Diego, California
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Ok, but Not Great”
Reviewed June 2, 2013

The good:

In a quiet neighborhood off the main street just a few short blocks from a major metro stop (being close to a metro stop is invaluable in any city, imho).

The staff was very friendly, and most spoke English well enough.

The breakfast room was nice, and the food was good.

Free wifi and personal safe.

The room was clean, and the cleaning staff was attentive and thorough.

The bad:

The furniture and decor is extremely outdated. Not sure what decade, but probably the 60's. The wood design just feels old (and not in that "good quaint" old way... just old). I even had an old CRT TV that took at least 2 min to warm up and turn on... seriously.

On top of that, the room was the tiniest I've ever been in. To be fair, I had the "Junior" suite (because I was traveling solo and don't need much space), but this was a bit ridiculous. It's a single bed and two steps out of it in either direction, I hit a wall.

The bathroom was crowded as well, especially the shower, which was more like a coffin. I'm 6'1" and thin, and I kept hitting the walls with my elbows. I had to get creative with the shower head just make it work. Each shower was an adventure to say the least. I don't know how a larger person could ever make it work. Maybe the regular rooms have regular showers. I don't know, but my coffin was ridiculous.

It's not a bad hotel, by any means. But be sure you DON'T get a "Junior" suite. I won't stay there again, but the fact that it's quiet, clean, and a few blocks from a metro stop may be acceptable for some people.

Room Tip: Don't get a "Junior" suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Josh C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

817 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    214
    377
    157
    41
    28
See reviews for
158
324
37
129
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (80)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Richmond, Virginia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed May 28, 2013

We found this hotel on the Expedia website and it lived up to its billing. It is located just outside the Ring on a very quiet street. It's a perfect location because you have some privacy but can walk to shopping, restaurants, and many public transportation options within blocks. Plus the Sigmund Freud Museum is right around the corner! The rate was very reasonable.

But without the friendliness and helpfulness of the hotel staff, I might not be writing this review. The front desk staff do everything from registering guests, checking bags, serving coffee and drinks, to acting as tour guides. And most important for me, when it turned out the room I was assigned was acceptable after the first night, the hotel immediately offered to assign us a new room and transfer our luggage while we were out touring. Generally, their English was good (given that I do not speak German).

I did not take advantage of purchasing the breakfast (way too much food for me in the morning), but the buffet looked quite good.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ammcca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed May 27, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at this hotel for 4 nights in May.

The hotel is relatively central, within walking distance of the central sights and a couple of minutes walk to the nearest U bahn stop (Rathaus). The area seemed nice and we were happy to walk back undercover of darkness.

Our room was fine, quite small but perfectly adequate with a small bathroom. No aircon in our room, but there was a fan which kept the room at a nice temperature.

We didn't try breakfast and there is no tea/coffee making facilities in the room which I think is standard in vienna. There's a very small bar in the reception area.

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank L_traveller101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed May 21, 2013 via mobile

Location is pretty good but on a very dark street and hotel has no lights on its sign so difficult to find after dark. Parking really expensive and quite far from the hotel. No elevator to first floor so carry suitcases up one flight. WiFi signal very weak. No "No Smoking" signs right by front door so you get to run a gauntlet of cigarette smoke every time you enter or leave the hotel.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CHS_CA_USA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed April 28, 2013

From location in a quite University neighborhood but 10 min walk from the center to cleanliness and a friendly staff -- it meets all the promises it makes. The price is write. Public transportation is 2 min away. Enjoy it all and have a good coffee...

Room Tip: We stayed on the second floor and had all the windows open. It was very quite and peaceful. The luck...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Worldtraveler3210
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johor Bahru, Malaysia
Level 6 Contributor
92 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed April 18, 2013

This hotel is on a quiet street, but minutes of walk to City Hall, Hofburg and museums. The beautiful Votic Church is nearby too, however the Church is having a renovation so we couldn't visit it. The hotel is very close to Metro as well and there are a couple of restaurants on the same street. When we're too tired to look for places to eat at the end of the day, we could just go to one of these restaurants and the hotel is just a short walk from there.

Not everyone we met during our trip is friendly in Vienna... we met quite a few extremely rude waiters but luckily this does not include the hotel staffs. They were very friendly and courteous. We enjoyed our 4 nights stay here.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Michelle N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna, Austria
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed April 2, 2013

Very good located in the city center, easy to reach the whole historic center on foot. Good connection with subway, U2 at 5 minutes walk. Next to the Rathus where during the year a lot events are going on. Easy to go out for local restaurants in a very near surroundings with a lot of possibilities. Good price and quality. When the city is more crowded it is impossible to find room here. The room are spacious and clean. At check-in you have the option to request smoker room if wanted. The breakfast is large and good. The service of the employees are great, they are nice and kind and very helpful.
Totally recommend to stay here!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank M G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Vienna hotels
Inner City
Hotel Das Tigra
Hotel Das Tigra
#55 of 360 in Vienna
894 reviews
Josefstadt
Mercure Josefshof Wien am Rathaus
Inner City
Mercure Vienna First
Mercure Vienna First
#34 of 360 in Vienna
425 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Inner City
Pension Residenz
Pension Residenz
#227 of 360 in Vienna
154 reviews
Inner City
Austria Trend Hotel Astoria Wien
Old University Quarter
Alma Boutique-Hotel
Alma Boutique-Hotel
#118 of 360 in Vienna
255 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Austria Trend Hotel Rathauspark Wien? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Austria Trend Hotel Rathauspark Wien

Property: Austria Trend Hotel Rathauspark Wien
Address: Rathausstrasse 17, Vienna 1010, Austria
Location: Austria > Vienna Region > Vienna > Inner City , Innere Stadt
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#92 Luxury Hotel in Vienna
#133 Romantic Hotel in Vienna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Austria Trend Hotel Rathauspark Wien 4*
Number of rooms: 117
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Agoda, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Austria Trend Hotel Rathauspark Wien reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Austria Trend Vienna

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing