We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just OK”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Austria Trend Hotel Rathauspark Wien
Ranked #124 of 360 Hotels in Vienna
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Just OK”
Reviewed December 18, 2012

Hotel clean and well located for Christmas markets, however room was tiny. I was staying with a friend and had booked a twin room, however we were only able to separate our beds by about 6 inches due to lack of space. Staff, whilst capable seemed indifferent. I wouldn't be inclined to stay again and I certainly don't think that our room merited anywhere near a four star rating.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank janetc1953
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

817 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    214
    377
    157
    41
    28
See reviews for
158
324
37
129
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (80)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Helsinki, Finland
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed December 17, 2012

What you see is what you get. This is a good value hotel, close to one of the main sights in Vienna and well located especially for Christmas markets. The rooms are clean but tiny, and some are in really weird shapes. The staff is competent but seem uninterested. The breakfast at 17e a piece is steep, we didn't opt for it and found a number of very nice cafes close to the hotel serving breakfast for about half that. The hotel is overall very average, not to be avoided but not particularly seeked out either... Stay here if the location and price works for you...

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bhavna0802
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed December 14, 2012 via mobile

Sonja and her colleague on reception are excellent, nothing is too much trouble, good hotel, good location close to a Christmas market ,if you like that sort of thing, and close to the Ringstrasse, choose a business + room they are slightly larger and have tea and coffee facilities, take a room over the " courtyard " they are very quiet.

Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
Helpful?
2 Thank D1963M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
45 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed December 12, 2012

My partner and I stayed at Austria Trend Hotel Rathauspark from 3 to 7 December 2012. Our stay was very enjoyable.

We arrived very early at the hotel. It was 10.00 am but the hotel had our room ready for us which we found remarkable and for which we were very grateful. Many hotels would have asked us to return at the usual check-in time. Our twin room was on the third floor; it was spacious and warm, and the beds were very comfortable. We had a shower instead of a bath which was fine; the cubicle may be a little restricting if you are portly but the water temperature is both powerful and very controllable.There were no tea and coffee making facilities but we did have minibar, television and a safe. There was plenty of hanging and storage space and a desk for writing at.

We found the hotel staff to be very helpful. They advised us how to get to the places we needed and they provided us with maps and information, If we required a taxi the staff called one for us and it appeared almost immediately. We journeyed to Bratislava one morning and the staff checked the times of the next trains for us and explained which station to go to and how to get there. On our last day we were able to leave our bags at the hotel and the staff booked a shuttle bus for us to take us to the airport.

We did not have breakfast or any meals in the hotel so we cannot comment on the restaurant. We breakfasted at the Cafe Einstien which is five minutes walk away and we ate at, among other places, Adam's Cafe and Restaurant which is also five minutes walk away. We can recommend both of these establishments.

The hotel is perfectly situated for the Christmas markets. The biggest one of all, outside the Rathusplatz, is just a few minutes walk away. Two other markets are about ten - fifteen minutes walk from the hotel; another is two stops on the U-bahn (take line 2 from Rathaus to Museum Quarter).

We were unsure what to expect having read mostly good, but some negative, comments about the hotel, particularly the staff. We have to say that we saw no evidence whatsoever to support the reports of staff displaying a less than helpful attitude. Our experience was that there were always staff on hand who were more than happy to help and advise.

This is not a five star hotel but we feel the rating of four stars is justified and if visiting the Christmas markets is the aim of your trip to Vienna, then you won't find a superior hotel for the price which is better located.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ILoveEurope67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed December 6, 2012

Just back from a 3 night stay. Went over for the x'mas markets this hotel is in an excellent location for the main market at city hall just a few minutes walk away. We booked a triple room and we got a business plus room, which was very big and they put an extra bed in which was a fold up bed but had a really big matress on it so it was very comfortable to sleep on all the beds were very comfy 3 x single beds. The room was a great size for the three of us. Had a tea/coffee maker and a mini bar , and safe in the room. The bathroom was lovely and spotless, good size too. (room 207) Cleaners came in every day and changed the towels. The reception staff were all very nice and very helpful. Cant comment on the food as we didnt opt for the breakfast as we thought the price was a bit steep €15. There are plenty of cafes within a couple of minutes walking distance very reasonable prices. there is also a supermarket around the corner if you wanted to stock up on a few bits for the fridge. My only complaint about the hotel would be that they advertise a bar, and as other reviewers stated its just a couple of small tables in the corner beside the reception. Two types of white wine on the menu one for €28 the other € 34 or a glass for € 4.50, decent bottle of wine in the Billa supermarket around the corner for €5 so we put a couple of bottles in the mini bar. Overall we really enjoyed our stay at the trend hotel and would definately return. Really nice Austrian resturant at the back of the hotel if you wanted to try the local cuisine. Trams very close to hotel. Hop on hop off bus about 10mins walk overall we thought the hotel was in a great location with easy access to everywhere.

Room Tip: Room 207 very big room
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank SineadG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pershore, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed November 27, 2012

Stayed here for a few nights during the week on business. The service at reception was friendly and very helpful. Rooms were of a decent size and nicely furnished. No restaurant in the evening but there are plenty of fine restaurants very close by. Breakfast was quite a big spread with plenty of choice. No wifi in the rooms,only in reception. No gym or leisure facilities unfortunately. Seemed to be quite well located for business and tourism,all in all a great place to stay in Vienna.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DJL73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
228 reviews
86 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 219 helpful votes
Reviewed November 25, 2012

My third stay at this hotel, and as good as usual. Room was clean and comfortable, if not exactly enormous. Big bathroom. Good breakfast. Staff are not exactly super-friendly but were happy to help, and being able to check-on and print boarding passes in the lobby was very useful. Definitely good value for money, especially as it's a 10-minute walk into the centre of Vienna, and right next to the biggest Christmas market.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Anna_Durrance_Bagale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Vienna hotels
Inner City
Hotel Das Tigra
Hotel Das Tigra
#55 of 360 in Vienna
893 reviews
Josefstadt
Mercure Josefshof Wien am Rathaus
Inner City
Mercure Vienna First
Mercure Vienna First
#34 of 360 in Vienna
425 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Inner City
Pension Residenz
Pension Residenz
#221 of 360 in Vienna
154 reviews
Inner City
Austria Trend Hotel Astoria Wien
Old University Quarter
Alma Boutique-Hotel
Alma Boutique-Hotel
#127 of 360 in Vienna
255 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Austria Trend Hotel Rathauspark Wien? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Austria Trend Hotel Rathauspark Wien

Property: Austria Trend Hotel Rathauspark Wien
Address: Rathausstrasse 17, Vienna 1010, Austria
Location: Austria > Vienna Region > Vienna > Inner City , Innere Stadt
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#89 Luxury Hotel in Vienna
#133 Romantic Hotel in Vienna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Austria Trend Hotel Rathauspark Wien 4*
Number of rooms: 117
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Austria Trend Hotel Rathauspark Wien reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Austria Trend Vienna

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing