We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent quality and service”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Rothensteiner Apartments
Ranked #21 of 116 Vienna B&B and Inns
Reviewed June 8, 2012

The Rothensteiner is one of the nicest most atmospheric and comfortable places to stay in Vienna - Close to the wonderful street market in the Neustiftgasse and only ten minutes walk into the centre of town. Wonderful!

Room Tip: The appartments on the first floor are terrific
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sean A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (90)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

48 - 54 of 90 reviews

Reviewed May 28, 2012

Its been several years since I stayed at this hotel and I wasn't sure if I would still like it. I did. The welcome from Bahi was as warm as ever. The hotel still has tons of character. The roof-garden is greatly enhanced since I last visited. I was delighted to be back.

I always had a big appartment in the past. This time I was on the 4th floor where the rooms are newer and smaller. I found the 4th floor comfortable and cosy. It was great value for money.

I love walking around Vienna and the walk from the Cathedral to the hotel is fabulous. For those who don't want to walk the public transportation in Vienna is superbe.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank KerryBorn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 14, 2012

We stayed here for two nights as a family (2 adults, one child, one baby) in March 2012. We walked here from the underground at the end of the road (even with pushchair, suitcases, etc!) It is a great base to explore the Austrian capital. It is an authentic, slightly old fashioned, typical Viennese property with furnishings and decoration to match. We stayed in room 18 which had a large double bedroom, a twin (two singles) bedroom, kitchen, bathroom and lounge area. There was plenty of space for the four of us. While staying here our 3 month old baby became sick and one of the staff members/family were extremely helpful. When we needed a late night chemist she lent us her child thermometer, as well as an unopened bottle of 'Calpol' equivalent, along with the address of the nearest children's hospital and a local taxi company. Luckily we didn't need this information during the night, but we did go to the hospital the following morning. We felt very assured of the assistance we were getting at Rothensteiner. My only downside was that when we were sat in the lobby waiting to get in a taxi to the train station at the end of our stay (with our two small children) one of the female members of staff lit a cigarette and smoked it across the room from us. Smoking inside isn't banned in Austria, but surely not smoking near small children (and an ill one at that!) is just common sense. This is the only reason I have marked the property down in some areas.

Room Tip: Room 18 is large and plenty big enough to house a family of 4-6 people. It does face the busy stree...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bensmum_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 23, 2012

I stayed with some friends for a weekend and everything was great!

The staff is friendly and gentle.

The bedrooms are also very good (we had booked three types of accomodation for the whole group and they were all nice); Vienna style furnitures, but also modern and good. The bathrooms are clean and the beds comfortable.

The breakfast is much better than european hotels standards.

I would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gizelle_Paiva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 18, 2011

I stayed in this Hotel for 3 nights and my stay was perfect.
The Building is beautiful,friendly staff, large rooms with kitchen and the breakfast was just Great!

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank simbi16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2010

The hotel has a number of rooms and apartments located on 5 floors in an old house. What I really liked about the place is the feeling of being in an old "pension" and this is also why I booked this hotel for a family weekend. The Rothensteiner family has run the pension/hotel for 5 generation and are very welcoming but not "in your face" at all. In fact it can be hard to locate the staff sometimes in the afternoon/evening! When we complained about the temperature they immediately came up and showed us how to use the temperature control in the room. They speak English if you do not speak German.

We had a 2 bedroom-apartment on the 4th floor for 4 adults. The value for money was very good. The apartment was in OK shape and the 2 bathrooms were nicely renovated in good style, with good shower etc. We got new towels daily which was nice. The lounge had 2 sofas and a large TV. The only thing which I would suggest to improve would be the lighting, since there were no bed lights for reading.

The breakfast is good and has a lot of variety.

The hotel is conveniently located. You can walk downtown in 20 mins although we took the tram 2 stops to Volksteater and then changed to tram/bus/subway. You can walk to the Spanish riding school and museums in 20-30 mins.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Karin_Geneva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 6, 2010

The initial impression arriving at the Rothenensteiner was positive: a building redolent of old Vienna filled with charming antique reminders of the city's glory days. The reception/dining area is delightful and our apartment was spacious and well-equipped.

The hotel was let down in our experience by serious management ineptitude or possibly dishonesty. Having lived in Vienna for three years, we knew that the hotel faced a busy road, the Neustiftgasse. We advised the management by e-mail (in clear German) that we would make a booking if they could offer us a quiet room which didn't face the street. We said the booking was dependent on an affirmative reply. They responded immediately, assuring us that we would have a quiet room.

When we arrived, reception had closed but waiting for us was a key to a room which, contrary to our specific request, faced the street - despite the hotel's advice in response to our original request - and which, as we knew would be the case, was very noisy, even through closed double windows. With no options given the absence of anyone at reception, we endured the night with litle sleep.

The following morning the manager didn't explain why we hadn't been given a room in accordance with our specific request. He tried to brush us off with claims that Vienna was always noisy and when confronted with the evidence of our e-mail exchange switched to implausibly challenging our claim that the room wasn't quiet. This left an impression of at best sharp practice.

The experience left a sour taste and we left rather than staying the two nights as originally planned. We hoped that the hotel management would learn from the experience but sensed an arrogant unpreparedness to listen carefully to and respond to clear customer requests.

During the night one of us lost one of our earplugs which we had deployed unsuccessfully attempting to minimise the noise. Groping on the floor to find it , disgustingly one of us found an ancient cheezel presumably left by a previous guest.

Not recommended.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank higvin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Vienna hotels
Hotel Lucia
#52 of 358 in Vienna
674 reviews
Hotel Fabrik
#11 of 116 in Vienna
187 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Arthotel ANA Gala
#19 of 116 in Vienna
64 reviews
Leopoldstadt
graetzlhotel Karmelitermarkt
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rothensteiner Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rothensteiner Apartments

Address: Neustiftgasse 66, Vienna 1070, Austria
Location: Austria > Vienna Region > Vienna > Neubau
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 116 B&Bs / Inns in Vienna
Price Range: $91 - $188 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Rothensteiner Apartments 4*
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Rothensteiner Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing