We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice hotel for families”
Review of The Levante Laudon

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Levante Laudon
Ranked #78 of 195 Specialty Lodging in Vienna
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Nice hotel for families”
Reviewed August 30, 2012

We (a couple with a small child) spent 4 nights (last week-end) in this hotel. We booked a Standard Loudon apartment. The apartment was very simple (even a little bit too simple) and pretty old (nothing like the pictures in the web), but it served our needs.

Pluses:
1) Our apartment was very spacious and quite.
2) Kitchen
3) TV with DVD
4) Good location (all the main children attractions are easily reached by nearby metro - U2, tram number 5)
5) Good rate (we had a discount due to the non- refundable rate + longer stay)
6) Bars nearby (with possibility to take food and beer take away).
7) The reception was very helpful - printed our boarding passes.

Minuses:
1) No air-conditioning (could be pretty hot during hot days, during colder days - no problem)
2) The free WiFi connection was very poor
3) The additional sofa-bed was not comfortable

Room Tip: To get a quiet room, we asked for a room that turns to the countryard. But I'm not sure that th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Maria Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

250 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    49
    95
    51
    32
    23
See reviews for
80
94
7
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
laxenburg, Austria
Level Contributor
109 reviews
75 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed August 12, 2012

The inviting party has found this hotel for me - I was traveling with my kids (6!), but went to meetings, so it was important to have a well-serviced place but still having access to a kitchen. This was a great combination in the Levante - a rare synergy. It was very stylish, clean, in the perfect location. I loved the beautiful old house it is located in, with the fantastic courtyard with georgeous trees; but still the apartment had a very modern and stylish design. The apartment is not huge but well structured because it perfectly fit even my 6 kids.

Only two slight drawbacks: one: no AC, which is normally just fine in Vienna, but on these very hot Summer days it was difficult to cool the apartment, especially that the windows are very low, and there are no adequate safety bars, so I was constantly frightened if my babies or young kids will fall out, so only could leave the windows open when they were surely fast asleep.

So this is the second drawback. I think the hotel really needs to make the windows safer at least in the "family" rooms, i.e. where kids are welcome.

Room Tip: If you have kids, make sure you ask for a room with safer windows (if any...), or at least, some low...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank zsebibabak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austria
Level Contributor
49 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed July 15, 2012

This is a nice apartment hotel where you get a kitchen and everything, but they have serious issues with the internet connection. The connection (Freeway) was mostly not working, and even when I complained, no reply or anything! If your trip depends on network, you'd better choose something else - otherwise this is good to go!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank K H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, Northern Ireland
Level Contributor
136 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed May 30, 2012

Agree with the comments by LoveTravel56: this self contained apartment was perfect for a trip to the Vienna Christmas markets. It’s very close to the Rathaus & also only a short walk into the centre of town. Also within a ten minute walk of the underground station. Good rate compared to what a hotel would charge. Convenient if you want to cater for yourself and there are a couple of restaurants including an Italian nearby. It's also close to the student quarter beside the university where a number of temporary stalls/bars had been set up on the campus for Christmas festivities.
However it took a while to locate the keys for the apartment which had to be collected in a pub beside the complex. The sign on the door was not very clear. Reception is staffed during the day. There is also a very good pizzeria/pub beside the complex, popular with the students and very good value.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank M F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Kenya
Level Contributor
154 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
Reviewed March 27, 2012

The best thing about this residence is its location, in a chic university student style suburb of Vienna with plenty of good restaurants in the vicinity. The residence itself is simple, small and clean. Breakfast is simple and served in a corner of reception. The service is generally minimal, with a staff employee available only during normal working ours and cleaning of rooms just twice a week. Most of the rooms are small and pokey, with strange and unusual layouts meaning that it is not always easy to move around e.g. unable to fully open my suitcase.

Room Tip: Ask for a floor plan of your chosen room before confirming reservation.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lamu99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed December 14, 2011

This self contained apartment was perfect for our trip to the Vienna Christmas markets. It’s very close to the Rathaus, which has (in my opinion) the most beautiful markets in the city of Vienna, and it’s also only a short walk from the Rathaus into the centre of town.

The apartment was clean and very warm, the bed was comfortable and the receptionist was very helpful. I wouldn’t hold out for the breakfast – although it’s better than nothing. We received a little package each morning with some white bread rolls, packaged cheese, a few spreads and some juice boxes. It’s enough to get you going, however in a city such as Vienna which is well known for it’s local delicacies, I would recommend going out for local coffee and breads instead!

All in all, it was a great place to stay and it’s always nice to have some extra space to spread out, rather than just being contained to one hotel room, so I would definitely recommend it.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LoveTravel56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed October 18, 2011

I paid a rate of 105 Euros, considerably less than comparable hotels. Trade-offs at the Levante Laudon from my two-week stay in October 2011: a bit more space with separate living room and (tiny but OK) kitchen, but room cleaning only once every eight days (fresh towels after four).

Very friendly and helpful staff (on duty 7 a.m. to 6 p.m.). Good location: I found the trams to Schottentor the best bet (a block and a half walk over to Alserstrasse). Schottentor is a central stop for trams and Ubahn and can get you anywhere in the city quickly.

Light sleepers might want to ask for a room overlooking the courtyard as opposed to the street (I was just one floor up from the bar next door, which was lively on the sidewalk into early morning hours several nights).

Internet access included and not bad (clicks off every two hours but easy to reconnect). There's a washer and dryer available at no extra charge but ask if they've gotten the dryer fixed -- took me two or three cycles to get stuff dry.

Breakfast shows up in a paper bag outside the door about 7:30 a.m., and was not one of the highlights of my stay.

All things considered, I'd stay here again.

Room Tip: Ask for courtyard if you're looking for quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Bill_Mitchell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Vienna hotels
Josefstadt
The Levante Parliament
The Levante Parliament
#133 of 361 in Vienna
4.0 of 5 bubbles 830 reviews
Josefstadt
Hotel-Pension Baronesse
Hotel-Pension Baronesse
#207 of 361 in Vienna
4.0 of 5 bubbles 237 reviews
Josefstadt
Hotel Zipser
Hotel Zipser
#110 of 361 in Vienna
4.0 of 5 bubbles 429 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Serviten Quarter
Hotel Pension Baron am Schottentor
Josefstadt
Fleming's Deluxe Hotel Wien-City
Josefstadt
Cordial Theaterhotel Wien
Cordial Theaterhotel Wien
#169 of 361 in Vienna
4.0 of 5 bubbles 318 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Levante Laudon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Levante Laudon

Property: The Levante Laudon
Address: Laudongasse 8, Vienna 1080, Austria
Location: Austria > Vienna Region > Vienna > Josefstadt
Amenities:
Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #78 of 195 Specialty Lodging in Vienna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Levante Laudon 3.5*
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Are you interested in an extended stay in Vienna or would you just like to enjoy the comfort of an exclusive apartment house in Vienna for a day or two? Either way, the Levante Laudon will be ideal! Our apartment house is located in the centre of Vienna in a wonderful Biedermeier building with a picturesque inner courtyard. It's only a few minutes walk to the Vienna City Hall (Rathaus), Parliament and all the famous sights of the city centre. The Levante Laudon offers two types of Apartment accommodation in Vienna city center. Our apartment house has apartments in two categories, each with two rooms. Because it is located centrally in Vienna it's also perfect as extended-stay accommodation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotwire, Cancelon, Priceline, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your The Levante Laudon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing