We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location but way too dated”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Pertschy Palais Hotel
Ranked #166 of 361 Hotels in Vienna
Reviewed July 19, 2013

This is unfortunately the only hotel that failed to impress us in our entire European trip. We stayed in a four person room for two nights and we found this "pension" to be rather disappointing in a number of ways. Although I do not really believe in hotel with grand entrance or reception, but I think rooms should at least be well looked after and the staffs at least should try to be happier to serve.

Our room was very large with very high ceiling. The sofa was turned into an extra double bed for our 4-person booking. Despite that, there was so much more space left in the room and we wondered why there wasn't at least a few extra chairs in the room at least for us to sit for a coffee. The bathroom was however modernized. It was obvious that the pension did try to compensate for this by having a little lounge for guests to use a brilliant coffee machine and hang around there for a while.

In terms of comfort and sleep quality: be careful during summer. There was no air conditioning and you will have to leave your windows open which mean you are exposed to the outside corridor where other guests would have to walk past to access their rooms. That's reduced privacy for you.

Location? Hard to beat. The hotel is literally right in front of the main shopping street of Vienna at the old city centre. It will take you less than 5-10 minutes to most central Vienna attractions such as Volksgarden and the museum district. The inclusive breakfast was slightly above average.

Overall: we weren't impressed but we certainly felt our stay was comfortable and convenient but average at best.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank tonnellato
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (600)
There are newer reviews for Pertschy Palais Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

172 - 178 of 601 reviews

Reviewed July 4, 2013

We stayed at this hotel for a few days in June. Upon first arriving the place didn't give a great first impression. You entered into a paved courtyard, then had to use a small lift to the second level and walk along a narrow outside walkway to the reception area. However the first impression was not indicative of the hotel as a whole. While the building is old, it does have its charm.
The location in the city centre is great. Just two minutes walk to the Hofburg Palace and 5-10 minutes to St. Stephen's Cathedral. The hotel is practically on a main downtown shopping street where there are many many stores and restaurants.
The breakfast buffet is included in the room rate and was a full hot and cold spread of scrambled eggs, sausages, many cuts of cold meats and a variety of cheeses, cold cereals, bread and of course cake. Breakfast was served in a small but well decorated and clean and tidy room. The kitchen staff were very friendly and helpful.
The reception staff were great as well. Coffee, etc. was available at the reception 24/7 at no charge.
The room we stayed in was small but very clean. While the room was old and could use a touch up, it was quaint and the bathroom was modern. No real complaints.
Overall, we enjoyed our stay at this hotel and would recommend it to other travelers who are looking for a pleasant hotel in an excellent location and like a good breakfast.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank BigBear50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PertschyLicia, Public Relations Manager at Pertschy Palais Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 13, 2013

Dear guests,
We thank you for taking the time and provide us with your feedback.
We are happy that you were satisfied with our service and facilities.
We would like to welcome you back in our new big reception and lobby located directly on the ground floor with street view.
With best regards
Your team PERTSCHY PALAIS HOTEL

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 17, 2013

Oh my. This hotel has really seen better days. There's a general air of dilapidation and disrepair; it's just sad to see such a grand building treated with such disrespect. Perfect location and the clip-clop of the passing fiakers couldn't make up for bare-bones and shabby furnishings, half-finished repairs, and nightmarish entry courtyard. Oh, and the bathroom was tiny with no place to put toiletries.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank arbeedc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 10, 2013

Contrary to advertizing and to a specific private mail (!) not all rooms have reliable internet or any internet al all.
This is absolutely unacceptable in our time and if you are a buisnesmen or if you rely regularly on th enet - Pertschy is not for you/

Room Tip: Be specific in making your reservation and make sure in advance to have proper working Wi Fi in your...
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank asher_shaham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 3, 2013

The good points: fantastic location (as has been pointed out in lots of other reviews), brand new bathroom and generous breakfast
The not so good points: our room had definitely seen better days and it smelt strongly of smoke. The carpet was particularly unattractive but on the plus side it was a large room and very quiet. I'd disagree with the Time Out guide that the inner courtyard was 'gorgeous' but there's no accounting for taste.
Having said all that, I would recommend the hotel but it's a shame that they seemed to have spent a lot of money on the bathroom when the bedroom could have done with some TLC.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rachel E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 25, 2013

The location is great - close to many historical sites, high-end designer shopping and many restaurants. However, the hotel building itself is pretty shabby. The outer first floor is boarded up in some areas. The inner alcove is the back entrance to a restaurant. Reception is on the second floor. The rooms are decent size, but the furnishings are stark. Bathrooms are small, but adequate.

Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
1  Thank SouthboundEventually
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 11, 2013

The Pension is housed in a lovely 18th century palace right in the centre of Vienna. The entrance is through the slightly shabby interior court and Reception is tucked away on the first floor. The rooms lie off narrow external corridors around the interior courtyard. If you do not have a head for heights ask for a lower floor! We stayed in a Deluxe room and it was enormous and very comfortable with a decorative chandelier and ornate fireplace. The reception staff were very helpful. Everything is within easy walking distance, the Spanish Riding School, the Stephansdom and the Graben (the heart of the pedestrianised shopping area) are minutes away and museums not much further. You really feel you are in the heart of old Vienna here.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MLL79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Vienna hotels
Inner City
Graben Hotel
Graben Hotel
#90 of 361 in Vienna
708 reviews
Inner City
Pension Neuer Markt
Pension Neuer Markt
#191 of 361 in Vienna
336 reviews
Inner City
Pension Nossek
Pension Nossek
#186 of 361 in Vienna
254 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Inner City
Hotel Royal
Hotel Royal
#104 of 361 in Vienna
830 reviews
Inner City
Hotel Wandl
Hotel Wandl
#172 of 361 in Vienna
381 reviews
Inner City
Pension Aviano
Pension Aviano
#175 of 361 in Vienna
405 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pertschy Palais Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pertschy Palais Hotel

Address: Habsburgergasse 5 | 1010 Vienna, Vienna 1010, Austria (Formerly Pension Pertschy)
Location: Austria > Vienna Region > Vienna > Inner City
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#112 Business Hotel in Vienna
#120 Luxury Hotel in Vienna
Price Range: $112 - $276 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Pertschy Palais Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 55
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Imperial feeling at PERTSCHY Your cozy downtown-hotel in Vienna The charming private managed hotel is located in a stately baroque palace in the historical centre of Vienna. Its amazing location allows you to have the main sightseeings in a walking distance: St. Stephen Cathedral, Hofburg, Spanish Riding School, Albertina and the State Opera. Here you will find 55 tasteful rooms which have been furnished with a great deal of attention to detail and a modern **** standard. All the rooms are accessible by elevator and equipped with bath/ shower, toilet, minibar, phone, satellite TV and wireless Internet. This small exclusive hotel captivates you at least thanks his Viennese breakfast buffet selection and its excellent service. Experience austrian tradition and perfect hospitality at Pertschy Palais Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Priceline, TravelUp, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Pertschy Palais Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pension Pertschy Hotel Vienna
Pertschy Hotel Vienna

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing