We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Short stay but no complaints!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Pension Aviano

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Pension Aviano
Ranked #185 of 367 Hotels in Vienna
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Short stay but no complaints!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 18, 2014

I stayed here for one night prior to a conference outside of Vienna. It's a great hotel -- charming old rooms with modern amenities, tasty breakfast, friendly service, central location, reasonable rates. I enjoyed my stay and would happily stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank K K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sonja K, Leiter Front Office at Pension Aviano, responded to this review, March 20, 2014
Thank you very much for writing a review, although you only stayed for one night. One night is not enough for Vienna, so we hope that you have more time during your next visit.
Sonja Kavka
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

386 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    226
    119
    29
    6
    6
See reviews for
62
216
26
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Luxembourg City, Luxembourg
Level Contributor
18 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 5, 2014

I stayed there for a short weekend with my husband and it was a very good choice. The hotel is situated in the shopping area, which was great since we didn't have a lot of time to move around. The room was quiet and nicely decorated.
The service was very friendly and helpful and they even let us stay an extra hour on Sunday before check-out.
The breakfast was enjoyable too. They had a good selection of cereals, three types of juices, a small selection of cheese and cold meats and 1-2 hot breakfast dishes.
They don't offer pick-up service from the airport, only to the airport for around 27 euros. We used the train and metro and it was pretty ok (30-45 min) and way less expensive (but we didn't have much luggage).

Cons: I really dislike when the ventilator in the bathroom is directly connected to the light switch. It can get quite unpleasant to have the continuous buzzing noise and flow of cool air directed at your head when you are taking a relaxing shower or just preparing for an evening out.
Also, the soap dispenser was pretty hard to squeeze. Sometimes I even had to use two hands.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MonicaMantero
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sonja K, Leiter Front Office at Pension Aviano, responded to this review, March 20, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for writing a review about Aviano. We will check with our Management about the Ventilation in the Bathrooms. Nevertheless we hope that this was just a small minus for your stay.

Sonja Kavka
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 15, 2014 via mobile

We had a wonderful time in Vienna, which was made all the more special because of the apartment and the fantastic staff. We certainly felt it was our 'Secret Home'. The staff were unobtrusive, but attentive to our every need. We enjoyed the breakfasts in a relaxed atmosphere, and the other guests were warm and friendly. We would certainly go back if we were ever in Vienna again and would recommend Pension Aviano to anyone. Thank you so much. Garry and Helen Allan

Helpful?
1 Thank garryallan
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Sonja K, Leiter Front Office at Pension Aviano, responded to this review, February 17, 2014
Dear Guests,

Thank you so much for writing a review. We are very happy to read that you had such a great time at Aviano. Maybe we will welcome you again in Vienna!

Sonja Kavka
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 13, 2014

Traveled towards end of September 2012; Traveled as a couple.

As you can see from the above date, this review of mine is so long overdue, but I suppose it is better late than never to write this! After all, Pension Aviano deserves every positive praise given to them.

My fiance/I stayed at Pension Aviano for 3 nights back in Sept 2012, and we thoroughly enjoyed our time spent here! I was purposely searching for a place to stay at in Vienna that would be in a good, safe location and would have a more authentic Austrian feel to it (as oppose to a place that would be more Americanized). It completely met all of our expectations and more!

Before arriving here, Sonja had emailed me a very detailed explanation on how to find the entrance to this place. I have ZERO sense of direction, and I was able to find it very easily per Sonja's instructions, so I am sure you all will have no issues finding it either if you follow her directions!

We stayed in a nice double room that was spacious and very clean. It was very comfortable and quiet, too. Sonja and the rest of the staff were also so consistently friendly, sweet and helpful throughout our stay. They have a small dining room area, and their breakfast was simple, but fresh! They were constantly refilling with fresh pasteries, fruits, eggs, bacon, etc. We looked forward to the food every morning. The ladies who worked in the kitchen and who waited on us all were so kind, too.

It has been nearly 2 years that I've been here, yet I still smile so much when I think back to our time spent at this place, and so does my fiance! Thank you, Aviano Pension, for running such a fine establishment! We hope to visit Vienna again one day, and when we do, we know that we will stay here again for sure! :)

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank newyorkstyle83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sonja K, Leiter Front Office at Pension Aviano, responded to this review, February 17, 2014
Dear Guest's,

This is really the first time that we receive a review after such long time.
We have to say a big Thank your for
1) remembering us so well
2) to take the time to write the review
3) and such a long and detailled one also

Thanks and we look forward to see you again !
Sonja Kavka
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sawyer, Michigan
Level Contributor
169 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 12, 2014

Pension Aviano is a great place in the center city...about 1/2 way between St. Seven's Dome and the ring streets. Not too expensive, walking distance to everything, nice (and large) rooms with great bathrooms (the shower was wonderful), good breakfasts, and really really nice staff. Sonya treated us like friends, and all the staff were helpful and pleasant.
We were there for 6 nights over the New Year's holiday. After the first morning the regular staff remembered that I prefer tea to coffee at breakfast, Sonya made innumerable reservations for us (before we even arrived) and both she and any other desk staff were always helpful with suggestions or advice or just general help as we needed it. Nothing was too much trouble.
We would stay there again in a heartbeat.

Room Tip: We were in room # 303. Our companions were in #414. Both were roomy, with great windows. The desk...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Seasoned L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sonja K, Leiter Front Office at Pension Aviano, responded to this review, February 17, 2014
Dear Guest's,

thank you for the kind words regarding your stay at Aviano. We always try hard to provide the best service and it is nice to read that we really succeed in that. Again a big thanks also to you.

Sonja Kavka
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 5, 2014

We stayed here for 6 nights during Christmas 2013. It is a lovely hotel with a welcoming staff. Breakfast was delicious (have the raspberry jam!). The only drawback would be the small and slow lift but that was not a detriment in anyway for our stay. I would definitely return for another visit. :)

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank xandersm0m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sonja K, Leiter Front Office at Pension Aviano, responded to this review, February 17, 2014
Dear Guest's,

Thanks for the review and the kind words about Aviano.
Yeh, the elevator is on the slow side, but due to the size it is not allowed to run faster. (Law).
We are pleased to read that you enjoyed the breakfast.

Sonja Kavka
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 2, 2014

Stayed at the Aviano for 4 days around new years eve. Location was just steps from the major pedestrian streets and shopping. The staff we really helpful and friendly. Would definitely recommend and would stay here again on a future trip to Vienna.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Photo_Guy_2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sonja K, Leiter Front Office at Pension Aviano, responded to this review, February 17, 2014
Thanks for taking the time to write a review.

We are happy to read that you enjoyed your stay over New years eve and the service of our staff.

Thank you.
Sonja Kavka
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Vienna hotels
Inner City
Pertschy Palais Hotel
Pertschy Palais Hotel
#149 of 367 in Vienna
4.0 of 5 bubbles 560 reviews
Inner City
Pension Neuer Markt
Pension Neuer Markt
#189 of 367 in Vienna
4.0 of 5 bubbles 317 reviews
Inner City
Pension Suzanne
Pension Suzanne
#66 of 367 in Vienna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 737 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Inner City
Austria Trend Hotel Astoria Wien
Inner City
Austria Trend Hotel Europa Wien
Inner City
Hotel Ambassador
Hotel Ambassador
#150 of 367 in Vienna
4.0 of 5 bubbles 563 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pension Aviano? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pension Aviano

Property: Pension Aviano
Address: Marco-d'Aviano-Gasse 1, Vienna 1010, Austria
Location: Austria > Vienna Region > Vienna > Inner City
Amenities:
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
#42 Romantic Hotel in Vienna
#92 Family Hotel in Vienna
#132 Luxury Hotel in Vienna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Pension Aviano 4*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Aviano is situated in an old Patricianhouse directly in the citycenter on a small sidestreet of Karntnerstreet. All 17 rooms are in viennese style with shower, Wc, Makeup mirror, TV, telephone, minibar, in room safe. There are no restaurants or bars in the guest house in order to protect the privacy of the guests. We guarantee herewith the much appreciated relaxation of our guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity and Agoda so you can book your Pension Aviano reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pension Aviano Hotel Vienna
Aviano Hotel Vienna

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing