We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Location”
Review of Pension Aviano

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Pension Aviano
Ranked #185 of 361 Hotels in Vienna
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Best Location”
Reviewed November 26, 2013

We just spent 3 days at Pension Aviano and absolutely loved it. Location is right on Kartner Strasse and easy walking to everything Vienna has to offer. Great room. great staff and wonderful breakfast. Our double rate was a great value for the room we had. Well maintained Vienna Pension.

Room Tip: Ask for a double that opens to Kartner Strasse.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gary G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sonja K, Leiter Front Office at Pension Aviano, responded to this review, December 15, 2013
Dear Guest,

A big Thank you for writing a review about our house. We are alsways very satisfied to read that our guests enjoyed their stay and our Service.
We would love to welcome you again.

Sonja kavka
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

391 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    226
    123
    30
    6
    6
See reviews for
65
217
27
20
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
St. Petersburg, Florida
Level Contributor
275 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
Reviewed October 24, 2013

This pension has an elevator which is a big plus when traveling for two weeks with a large suitcase. This was the only hotel that had a bidet in the bathroom. It is in a great location - so easy to walk the pedestrian areas and close to the subway. The staff is friendly, helpful and knowledgeable. Our room spacious with a king size bed, small table, upholstered chairs, large armoire, small refrigerator and mini-bar. There is always someone on duty should you have any questions. The breakfast was delicious and had a great variety of foods to choose from. We would stay again.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Cyndi D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sonja K, Leiter Front Office at Pension Aviano, responded to this review, December 15, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about our house. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed the Service of our Staff, the room and the excellent location of Aviano.
We would be pleased to welcome you again.

Thanks
Sonja Kavka
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Macquarie
Level Contributor
269 reviews
77 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
Reviewed October 21, 2013

The Pension Aviano was our choice for a 4 night stay in Vienna in early September, and we were not disappointed. Reception staff were very helpful and friendly. Our room on the 3rd floor was very large and decorated to match the Viennese lifestyle. Bathroom was functional and very clean. Aviano is located just off the main walking promenade and within easy walking distance of all the significant buildings and sights of old Vienna, as well as the trams and the subway. Vienna is a wonderful city, and our short stay was highlighted by the excellence of Aviano. Certainly highly recommend staying at Aviano when in Vienna.

Room Tip: The rooms fronting the street can be affected by noise generated from the street bars nearby on Frid...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Austravel25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sonja K, Leiter Front Office at Pension Aviano, responded to this review, December 15, 2013
Dear Guest,

We want to thank you for writing a review about our house. It is a pleasure to read that you were satisfied with the service provided by our staff.
They will be happy to hear of your positive feedback and will certainly look forward to welcome you again.

Sonja kavka
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario
Level Contributor
31 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed October 19, 2013

We stayed at the Pension Aviano for 4 nights in September. The room was spacious and very comfortable. There was a concern with some sewer odor coming up from the toilet, but we did not let that disturb us. The location was excellent and made it very easy for us to get around Vienna. The breakfast was excellent, and the staff were very very accomodating. It is not cheap, but then again, nothing in Vienna is.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SwishOntario
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sonja K, Leiter Front Office at Pension Aviano, responded to this review, December 15, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review about Aviano. We are pleased to hear that you had a pleasent stay, despite the problem with the toilette.
We are sorry to hear that you think that our prices are too expensive, but we do offer good value for money. Staying in the City Center is more expensive than if you choose a Hotel or Pension further outside, but a good location inside the Ring saves you a lot of time and most of the Attractions are in walking distance.

Thank you.
Sonja Kavka
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Windsor, California
Level Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed October 16, 2013

Stayed in Vienna for four nights in late September. Our room was wonderfully decorated and very comfortable. All the staff were helpful; the included breakfast was tasty and delicious. Location is perfect.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cheryl S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sonja K, Leiter Front Office at Pension Aviano, responded to this review, December 15, 2013
Thank you for writing a review about our Aviano. We are so pleased to hear that you had a pleasent stay in September and that you enjoyed the service of our staff so much.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, WA
Level Contributor
36 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed October 7, 2013

We stayed two nights in a triple room here. Besides a queen bed and pull out sofa, our corner room had a kitchenette, dining table and a surprising lot of space! The service at the reception desk was superb. They were very helpful in advising us on the many things to do and see in Vienna, as well as making reservations for us. We had a bit of trouble finding the place due to lots of one way streets and dead ends, but once we did, the parking garage is very close. If driving, map it out before you go, even if you have GPS. That said, the location could not be more central and perfect to all of Vienna's top sightseeing! It is located on the main pedestrian/shopping street (which was a little noisy one of the nights we were there, but quiet the other night). We would stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Heididavidc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sonja K, Leiter Front Office at Pension Aviano, responded to this review, November 11, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thanks for writing a review about Aviano. Its a pleasure to read that you enjoyed your stay so much. Driving by car in a foreign City is always difficult, but in Vienna it is especially difficult due to the many one way streets.
Therefore we ask all our guests to contact before arrival if they need any further information on finding our street and on parking.
We hope to welcome you again !

Sonja Kavka
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SC
Level Contributor
50 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed October 2, 2013

Had reservations for 4 nites in August. Temp in Vienna was nearly 100. No A/C (we knew that ahead of time, didn't expect such high temps.) Room was on main street so windows open didn't provide much hope for comfort. In addition, pension did not match pictures. No charm, no comfort. Down on the heels, seedy, needs much investment. Only stayed long enough to get reservation at a nearby hotel.

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank jarydzel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sonja K, Leiter Front Office at Pension Aviano, responded to this review, November 11, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We are sorry to hear that you didn't like your room and our service.
Yes, some of the rooms are a bit older than the others, but we do renovate frequently. What a pity that you didn't contact the Reception regarding a room change. Since August is not such a busy time it probably would have been possible.

Sonja Kavka
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Vienna hotels
Inner City
Pertschy Palais Hotel
Pertschy Palais Hotel
#151 of 361 in Vienna
4.0 of 5 bubbles 574 reviews
Inner City
Pension Neuer Markt
Pension Neuer Markt
#188 of 361 in Vienna
4.0 of 5 bubbles 323 reviews
Inner City
Pension Suzanne
Pension Suzanne
#61 of 361 in Vienna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 751 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Inner City
Austria Trend Hotel Astoria Wien
Inner City
Austria Trend Hotel Europa Wien
Inner City
Hotel Royal
Hotel Royal
#101 of 361 in Vienna
4.0 of 5 bubbles 768 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pension Aviano? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pension Aviano

Property: Pension Aviano
Address: Marco-d'Aviano-Gasse 1, Vienna 1010, Austria
Location: Austria > Vienna Region > Vienna > Inner City
Amenities:
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
#42 Romantic Hotel in Vienna
#92 Family Hotel in Vienna
#131 Luxury Hotel in Vienna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Pension Aviano 4*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Aviano is situated in an old Patricianhouse directly in the citycenter on a small sidestreet of Karntnerstreet. All 17 rooms are in viennese style with shower, Wc, Makeup mirror, TV, telephone, minibar, in room safe. There are no restaurants or bars in the guest house in order to protect the privacy of the guests. We guarantee herewith the much appreciated relaxation of our guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Pension Aviano reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pension Aviano Hotel Vienna
Aviano Hotel Vienna

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing