We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“hidden pearl in vienna”
Review of Pension Aviano

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Pension Aviano
Ranked #185 of 360 Hotels in Vienna
Certificate of Excellence
Rotterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
33 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“hidden pearl in vienna”
Reviewed November 25, 2012

quite hidden in the centre of Vienna, lovely small persion/hotel. Perfect location for city trip, good room, good breakfast, even a small balcony next to the breakfast room to sit and relax in the sun. It's on the highest floor of an old building, plenty of restaurants and shops, supermarket around.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Eric W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sonja K, Leiter Front Office at Pension Aviano, responded to this review, November 29, 2012
Thanks for taking the time to write a review. You pointed our all major points on Aviano and the neighborhood.

Sonja Kavka
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

393 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    227
    123
    31
    6
    6
See reviews for
65
218
27
21
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Kota Kinabalu
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2012

We just returned from our vacation and we must simply commend the wonderful staff at Pension Aviano for making us feel welcome. The hotel is located in the heart of Vienna's shopping district (take the lift down and there you are), walking distance to most major attractions and subway. Taking the subway in Vienna is a safe, quick and convenient way to visit the zoo and palace. Also easy when taking the CAT (city airport train) to the hotel, only 16 minutes each way with a short walk to the hotel. Near supermarket and excellent restaurants.

Rooms were comfortable with a small kitchenette. Staff made an effort to recommend places and things to do on the particular day. Overall, a wonderful stay which made coming to Vienna the perfect choice!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank ShangriLa_TAH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sonja K, Leiter Front Office at Pension Aviano, responded to this review, November 29, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for writing a review about Pension Aviano. We are pleased to hear that you had such a great stay in Vienna and at our house.
We will pass the praise to our staff.

Sonja Kavka
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
75 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed November 3, 2012

True, the staff is very friendly. True, the location is fine, as it is virtually in the middle of Vienna's shopping area in the old city centre. And it has a few pluses: there is a simple but OK breakfast included. It is not all that loud in the evening, not counting the noise of people walking through the streets (what are they doing there! All shops are closed!)

The hotel has a 1980's character, it worked back then, apparently, so why change it?

The internet often does not work, and the staff cannot deal with that. It works for them, so it should be my mistake---which it is not. Oh well, what am I complaining---it was so slow when it worked! And the Ambassador has, for two hours, free internet, so with the window open I can still get online. The heating cannot be switched off, a bit of a nuisance during the night (so, opening the window to let the bits in lets the heat out). The room service is poor, cleaning is something that the staff is not here for apparently. The bathroom is tiny. And so on.

Again, the staff is very, very friendly.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank padgoute
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sonja K, Leiter Front Office at Pension Aviano, responded to this review, November 29, 2012
We are sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your stay so much. The decoration is a bit old fashioned, which you can see on the photos. Aviano is not a newly designed Boutique or Style Hotel, but there are many of those in Vienna. The Internet is normally working very quick, but we did have a problem with it for a couple of days in November and it took our Internet Manager some time to solve the Problem. Each radiator in the room can be turned on and off.
We apologize for the roomservice which was not to your satisfaction.

Sonja Kavka
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lahore, Pakistan
Level Contributor
23 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed October 28, 2012

I stayed here for 3 nights. The hotel is on 5th floor ( Lobby )of an old building and small lifts but location is perfect.
Staff was very helpful and nice and give us a good introduction and guidelines. It is good for 1-2 nights but for longer try to look hotel with lobby and its own restaurant

Room Tip: There is no view from anyside so you have to get whatever room they give you. Pictures show only sui...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Fahdmk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sonja K, Leiter Front Office at Pension Aviano, responded to this review, November 29, 2012
Dear Guest,

thank you for writing a review. Aviano is a small hidden gem in the City Center, no Lobby, no Restaurant. Guests which prefer to have this offer should not book our house.
We are pleased to hear that you, despite this lacking, enjoyed your stay.

Sonja Kavka
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
189 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
Reviewed October 25, 2012

We stayed at Pension Aviano for a week, it made our Vienna trip very enjoyable!
It's two blocks away from Opera, center of old town, walking distance to most of the places. Location just couldn't be any better.
Service is the best! There is 24 hour receptionist, and every staff is very friendly and helpful. They helped us book restaurants, buy train tickets, performance tickets...They do laundry for like 14 Euro a load, they even hung dry my jeans as I asked which is so sweet. Breakfast is great too!
The only reason I give it 4 stars is because it's not as new as fancy hotels. Other than that, Pension Aviano is much better than any hotels. It's the best pension we've ever stayed.
If we come back to Vienna, we'll definitely stay at Aviano, no doubt!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Frances Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sonja K, Leiter Front Office at Pension Aviano, responded to this review, November 29, 2012
A great Thank you for writing such an enthusiatic review about our Pension.
We are please to hear that you had such a wonderfull time in Vienna and esecially at our house.

Sonja Kavka
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed October 15, 2012

This was our second stay at Pension Aviano and we were, once again very pleased with the accommodation. We had room 304 which was unbelievable....very large and facing Kartnerstrasse. It had a 2 burner hot plate with basically equipped kitchenette, a table and chairs and a comfy sitting area. Breakfast was good and the atmosphere in the breakfast room was warm and friendly. While location of this Pension is the best in Vienna, it is the friendliness of the staff that really make this place special. From the prompt reply for reservation information to the house staff and reception staff, Aviano is the best!!! Even the tiny elevator is not a big deal when you see what Aviano offers. We would stay here again for sure and have recommended Aviano to our friends.

Room Tip: Room 304 is very large but could be noisy in the summer if windows are open.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nutmeg027
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sonja K, Leiter Front Office at Pension Aviano, responded to this review, November 29, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for writing such a nice review about Aviano. Room 304 is one of our biggest and most popular room. We are very proud of our staff - Reception and housekeeping because they love what they do. And this is what all our guest experience.
We look forward to see you again at the Aviano.

Sonja Kavka
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kfar Saba, HaMerkaz, Israel
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed October 8, 2012

We have stayed at Aviano for four nights and it was really a great experience.
The location is just close to everything in the inner city. More precisely, it is exactly in the middle between the saint Stephen cathedral and the opera house.
The service of the stuff was simply the best one can ask for. They were able to answer most of our questions (we had many) and spent time and effort to guide us how to get to different locations, always with a smile and a lot of patience.
There was only one thing that was a bit annoying, being in the room just opposite to the breakfast room (411) was a bit noisy in the morning.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Amir S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Soni4444, Leiter Front Office at Pension Aviano, responded to this review, October 10, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write a review and such a good one too.
We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed the location and the service of our house and hope to welcome you again.
Sonja Kavka
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Vienna hotels
Inner City
Pertschy Palais Hotel
Pertschy Palais Hotel
#151 of 360 in Vienna
579 reviews
Inner City
Pension Neuer Markt
Pension Neuer Markt
#190 of 360 in Vienna
325 reviews
Inner City
Pension Suzanne
Pension Suzanne
#68 of 360 in Vienna
754 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Inner City
Austria Trend Hotel Europa Wien
Inner City
Austria Trend Hotel Astoria Wien
Inner City
Hotel Zur Wiener Staatsoper
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pension Aviano? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pension Aviano

Property: Pension Aviano
Address: Marco-d'Aviano-Gasse 1, Vienna 1010, Austria
Location: Austria > Vienna Region > Vienna > Inner City
Amenities:
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
#42 Romantic Hotel in Vienna
#92 Family Hotel in Vienna
#132 Luxury Hotel in Vienna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Pension Aviano 4*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Aviano is situated in an old Patricianhouse directly in the citycenter on a small sidestreet of Karntnerstreet. All 17 rooms are in viennese style with shower, Wc, Makeup mirror, TV, telephone, minibar, in room safe. There are no restaurants or bars in the guest house in order to protect the privacy of the guests. We guarantee herewith the much appreciated relaxation of our guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Priceline and Cancelon so you can book your Pension Aviano reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pension Aviano Hotel Vienna
Aviano Hotel Vienna

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing