We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“normal couple enjoyed this place”
Review of Pension Wild

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Pension Wild
Ranked #106 of 359 Hotels in Vienna
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 20, 2006

I had no idea about gay orientation when booked this hotel, couldn't tell that the emerging truth had any negative impact. We stayed there over X-mass and enjoed almost everything, including careful management.

Stayed: December 2005
3  Thank osvyatch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (321)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

171 - 177 of 321 reviews

A TripAdvisor Member
Birmingham, Alabama
29
Reviewed October 11, 2005

We are a straight couple that stayed at this pension for one night only, when scheduled for three nights. We made the reservation for a double and got two seperate twin beds. The room was not in the best of standards. My husband was sleeping on one of the twin beds, when in the middle of the night the bed slats broke. This pension really should list on thier web site that this is a gay pension. we had no idea until we arrived and saw the gay flag in the window. Needless to say we cut our trip to Vienna short buy two days and went back to Germany.

  • Stayed: May 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 23, 2005

This "pension" was really a huge surprise on our first visit and our first reaction was "what on earth have we come to" as the entrance and "reception" are strange indeed BUT we have now returned at least 4 times have no complaints and would return again and again. It is without a doubt THE best value in Vienna.
We have stayed in hotels charging 4 times the price and been less satisfied and not had the same high standards.
There are diferrent grades of rooms and we always go for the "luxury" which means a private toilet and shower. The rooms are spacious light spotlessly clean and very pleasant indeed.
The breakfast is only average.
With the "rainbow" flag and one or 2 pictures of males in the dining area one realises that this is a "gay" establishment however it is certainly not overtly obvious or "pushed" in any way. In fact it would be hard to realise without the "flag". Friends with children who accompanied us on one visit were completely saitisfied.

  • Stayed: November 2004
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank BarryOstrava
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 15, 2005

Dirty bedlinen, and a receptionist who made it feel like she was doing you a favour checking you in made this accomodation underwhelming. Toilet was blocked for most of the time, and the stove in the kitchen required one person to hold the burner knob, while the other cooked in the supplied tin can of a saucepan. That said, breakfast was quite nice, and the sauna (yes... we were aware of the 'theme'!!) was not half bad.

6  Thank Leigh K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
California, USA
18
Reviewed May 12, 2003

It was a clean and comfortable room. The dining area was also pleasant. The hotel is mostly for gay men, which was something my wife and I didn't know.

8  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 1 week ago
Google Translation

Room Tip: La habitación 106 tiene una estupenda terraza privada
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2018, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank JoseAntonioParra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago
Google Translation

  • Stayed: January 2018, traveled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GalletaViajera
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Vienna hotels
Mariahilf
Kolpinghaus Wien-Zentral
Kolpinghaus Wien-Zentral
#111 of 359 in Vienna
641 reviews
Josefstadt
Hotel Graf Stadion
Hotel Graf Stadion
#125 of 359 in Vienna
429 reviews
Wieden
Novum Hotel Prinz Eugen Wien
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Lucia
#52 of 359 in Vienna
709 reviews
Leopoldstadt
magdas HOTEL
magdas HOTEL
#78 of 359 in Vienna
329 reviews
Josefstadt
Hotel Alpha
Hotel Alpha
#87 of 359 in Vienna
532 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pension Wild? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pension Wild

Address: Lange Gasse 10, Vienna 1080, Austria
Location: Austria > Vienna Region > Vienna > Josefstadt
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
#5 Best Value Hotel in Vienna
#39 Business Hotel in Vienna
#90 Romantic Hotel in Vienna
Price Range: $65 - $155 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Pension Wild 2*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our friendly and very personly leaded bed&breakfast is located in the 8.District, Josefstadt, one of viennas nices Areas. Only a short walk away from the most important sights of town, like Parlament, Townhall, Museumsquater. Metro (U2 and U3) and tramstations are just arround the Corner to. Our house was build in 1904 and have been renovated shortly. Our reception is reachable arround the clock and offers a lot of informations and maps of Vienna. NEW and for our guests only is the "Movienight". See the best movies of all time in our breakfastroom. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, TripOnline SA and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Pension Wild reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pension Wild Hotel Vienna
Wild Hotel Vienna

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing