We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A good choice for comfort without luxe”
Review of Pension Wild

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Pension Wild
Ranked #101 of 360 Hotels in Vienna
Certificate of Excellence
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“A good choice for comfort without luxe”
Reviewed July 1, 2013

Stayed over for 10 nights with a friend. The pension is manned by Mr Wild and his staff all whom were always ready to assist and help with your needs. Breakfast selections are not wide ranging but definitely had no qualms about the quality. Beds were comfy and sheets are changed every 2/3 days or whenever requested which is a plus point. Its location is also ideal as it is situated near the U Bahn's ( rail's) and to tourists spots. Toilets are rather clean and the Wi-Fi works pretty well too. Will definitely stay over again on my nxt visit to Wien.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank adele m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

293 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    153
    101
    27
    10
    2
See reviews for
35
126
48
17
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Halifax, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
151 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed June 23, 2013

Definitely not a 5 star experience but the rooms and washrooms are clean. We stayed in a double room with a bathroom on the floor. Other then the bathroom being in use for a while a few times (strangely the showers were never that busy) it work really well, I was actually amazed by the cleanliness.

The location is amazing. We walked everywhere. However, I had some difficulty finding the hotel the first time. I speak no German which was probably part of the problem but I found a person who spoke French that pointed me in the right direction then an English speaker how focussed me in on the exact street. Once I had been there once though it was very easy to find.

Breakfast was great. Not that wide of a selection of items, but the quality of every option is amazing. And the breakfast staff is great too.

Warning there is a bathhouse below, Entrance is between the checkin desk and the breakfast room that there were a lot of 'interesting' charaters coming and going from.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jon_1982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Level 5 Contributor
46 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed June 3, 2013

No, Pension Wild wont be a good choice if you look for a five star experience but the location (Close to the city center without being in the center of it) with the trams and subway just minutes from the Hotel makes every euro spent on the living worth it.
But... This time i was placed on floor one, and i do not know if i´m being lucky before but i found it very very noisy, not a thing i´ve noticed in my earlier visits to Pension Wild.
As always the staff was fantastic and helpful. Breakfast very basic, no hot food just the basic buffet breakfast, fine for me, good value for the low price (breakfast included in the room price).

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bjoerne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
miami beach
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
Reviewed May 21, 2013

This was my second time staying at Pension Wild. The service is very good and friendly. This time I stayed in an apartment across the main building. In contrast to the rooms, the apartment was very modern with lots of space, incl. a kitchen and dining area. Though being on the ground floor, it was a bit dark, and there was almost no wi-fi (though there is in the main building). Overall, still a great value for Vienna if you don't need luxury but appreciate cleanliness and a good breakfast.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank markusinmiami
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
204 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed May 13, 2013

My girlfriend, her parents, and I stayed at this pension. The location is incredible especially for the price. The staff were incredibly friendly and helpful. The breakfast in the morning was quite nice. I would highly recommend this place.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brion B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oak Park, Illinois, United States
Level 6 Contributor
100 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed April 29, 2013

Our room was just lovely. Large room with a sitting area and plenty of space to leave our suitcases open (a first on our Eastern European trip). The bathroom had whimsical tiles that I really loved and a very good shower. No bar soap was our only complaint.
The elevator is only large enough to fit 2 people with one suitcase a piece and misses the floors by 1/2 a level so if you are carrying a lot this could be a problem. Breakfast is in a pleasant room visited by the owners adorable dog. The staff is friendly and helpful. We had an early morning flight and they helped us pack food for the next morning.
The location was quite good for a first time visitor to the city and the directions they gave were perfect.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lauren L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
46 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed April 26, 2013 via mobile

My wife and I have stayed at the Wild over a number of years - firstly as poor backpackers, then as middle aged cyclists and now as ... err. oldish, well healed travellers of an independent disposition. We mostly use Vienna as a base for our trips to Europe because it is so easy to arrive and depart from - and the Wild on Langegasse is always a part of the plan. The location is as good as it gets and Josefstadt is a fascinating part of the city to explore in its own right (don't neglect its many hidden cafes, shops, squares and attractions) ... and its just a 5 minute walk from the centre of town. Peter immediately remembered and welcomed us - the perfect hotel manager who keeps a close eye on maintaining standards. The Wild has actually got better over the years - this time, double rooms refitted with nice bathrooms - some with a loo, others shared but just out on the landing ... and always cheap: we payed 69 Euro a night! The breakfasts are hearty and generous. The breakfast room is a very pleasant place to meet others. The Wild attracts a varied crowd ... but I agree with the reviewer below who was a bit non-plussed by the hoopla made about this being a "Gay hotel" (whatever that means?). Gay, straight, young, old, black, white, conservative, radical --- and all shades in between --- it's all here (as it is in the World). A great hotel, in a great part of one of the world's most beautiful and interesting cities. Stay here!

Stayed March 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank dalpob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Vienna hotels
Josefstadt
Hotel Graf Stadion
Hotel Graf Stadion
#103 of 360 in Vienna
402 reviews
Mariahilf
Kolpinghaus Wien-Zentral
Kolpinghaus Wien-Zentral
#95 of 360 in Vienna
588 reviews
Neubau
Hotel Kugel
Hotel Kugel
#93 of 360 in Vienna
396 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Lucia
#54 of 360 in Vienna
587 reviews
Josefstadt
Hotel Zipser
Hotel Zipser
#108 of 360 in Vienna
437 reviews
Neubau
Pension Pharmador
Pension Pharmador
#40 of 360 in Vienna
370 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pension Wild? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pension Wild

Property: Pension Wild
Address: Lange Gasse 10 | 1080 Vienna, Vienna 1080, Austria
Location: Austria > Vienna Region > Vienna > Josefstadt
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
#39 Business Hotel in Vienna
#77 Family Hotel in Vienna
#91 Romantic Hotel in Vienna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Pension Wild 2*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our friendly and very personly leaded bed&breakfast is located in the 8.District, Josefstadt, one of viennas nices Areas. Only a short walk away from the most important sights of town, like Parlament, Townhall, Museumsquater. Metro (U2 and U3) and tramstations are just arround the Corner to. Our house was build in 1904 and have been renovated shortly. Our reception is reachable arround the clock and offers a lot of informations and maps of Vienna. NEW and for our guests only is the "Movienight". See the best movies of all time in our breakfastroom. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and Hotwire so you can book your Pension Wild reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pension Wild Hotel Vienna
Wild Hotel Vienna

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing