We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Really small, but good location” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Pension Neuer Markt

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Pension Neuer Markt
Ranked #189 of 367 Hotels in Vienna
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Really small, but good location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 1, 2014 via mobile

We are a group of three who had stayed a day at Pension Never Markt near end of May. The entrance was a bit inconspicuous. Took quite some time to look for it even though it was really near the metro.

The room was small for the three of us. It might have been a room for two with a third bed placed for us. The bathroom was a bit squeezy as well and there wasn't a hair dryer. However, it was clean and acceptable in general. And most importantly, it is really near to many attractions, metro stations and tram/bus stops. Not a bad choice.

Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Zara T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

318 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    80
    156
    51
    17
    14
See reviews for
79
95
30
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Keerbergen, Brabant, Belgium
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2014

Room: lots of towels, bed ok, no noise, lots of carpet, really small bathroom, really small shower, very poor internet connection, light of the bathroom made a noise like a drill. Asthmatic and people with allergies: expect to have problems in the morning.
Pension: friendly, lots of carpet, cheaper when booked directly on their website, no luggage room but you can leave it next to the front desk, dated...

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JVanilla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Middle East
Level Contributor
100 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 25, 2014

We've booked 3 nights at the pension following reviews and recommendations from Tripadvisor and now we know we did well.
The location is fantastic, with walking distance to most of the attractions and sites, It is just close to everything. The breakfast was served nicely and there was a good assortment of foods to start the morning. The building and room are not new but for us, it was authentic.
We want to emphasize the helpful and friendly staff, not only reception but the driver who took us to the airport and told us some very interesting information about Vienna - they all do the best to make your stay comfortable and memorable.
We had a room with a toilet outside the room, and, although I was concerned about this issue, we had absolutely no problem with this, the toilet was always available and clean.
Overall, it's a great place who is not looking for luxury, but more for being in the center of the city and have authentic perception about it. More than recommended.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank IrenaR474
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Limassol, Limassol, Cyprus
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 15, 2014

has an excellent location right in the city center, very helpful staff, the rooms were not at their best... they have to make decisions once that it's time to remove the carpets. The breakfast was excellent.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Yiannos-Elena
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 16, 2014

Pros: Great location, friendly staff, reasonable price, basic breakfast - cold cut & cheese, cereal, bread, hard boil eggs, juice and milk. In the middle of the city center and walkable to almost all parts of tourist attraction. Able to accommodate early check in. Rooms and furniture are old but clean and in good condition. Place is called a "Pension" because its pretty much a large apartment flat on 2nd floor of an apartment block, don't expect any hotel amenities or comfort, more like B&B. A small but nice and modern supermarket is just 2 doors down, great to refill on drinks, snacks, etc

Cons: the only reason why I won't be staying there again. The rooms have wood flooring, it squeaks and cracks with each step. The walls are very very thin, I could hear people talking in the next room, water pipe sound, squeaking sound of the floor from people walking next door, people walking outside. Worst of all if your room is close to the breakfast area, you can hear the sound of utensils and plates in the morning. If sound is not an issue, I would recommend this place if you just need a place to sleep.

Tip: Vienna is quite small and most places are within a 15min walk. If on a budget, for a similar price or cheaper I would book somewhere a little further (as in 10minute walk away from city center, which is still close), more comfortable and just take the subway/metro. You can buy a 1,2,3 day passes. That way you save money on the hotel, walk less, and save time! You can get to all tourist sites within 5 minute or less metro ride. Very convenient with lots of stops. Another option is get a Vienna Tourist Card, where all public transport are free, with discounts at attractions.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Michelle W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 10, 2014

I would highly recommend this place for anyone who wants to be right in the thick of things in Vienna. The pension is family owned and you really get a sense of family when you stay here. They offered to pick us up from the airport (only 24 EUR) and after a 13 hour flight you can't beat that. As Bernd drove us to the hotel he explained many of the buildings and Vienna's history along the way. It was very nice.

While the room was small, its what we expected and we had a private shower even though we had to share a toilette. It really was never a big deal to share either. The room and bathroom were very clean and maid service came daily.

The included breakfast was fantastic! So much food and wonderful Viennese coffee. Anytime we had questions about where to go or how to get there we were always met with a great attitude and smile.

The location was close to everything! I would recommend this to any of my friends staying in Vienna and would stay here again myself.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Cnietch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Telluride, Colorado
Level Contributor
132 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 15, 2014

We were delighted that this hotel was so close to the main pedestrian square, and easy walking distance to great shopping and restaurants. Although our room faced the street, it was a quiet street with light traffic. The room was spacious, the staff friendly, and the breakfast was good. We would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kathy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Vienna hotels
Inner City
Pertschy Palais Hotel
Pertschy Palais Hotel
#146 of 367 in Vienna
4.0 of 5 bubbles 560 reviews
Inner City
Hotel Royal
Hotel Royal
#96 of 367 in Vienna
4.0 of 5 bubbles 741 reviews
Inner City
Pension Aviano
Pension Aviano
#185 of 367 in Vienna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 386 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Inner City
Graben Hotel
Graben Hotel
#72 of 367 in Vienna
4.0 of 5 bubbles 657 reviews
Inner City
Austria Trend Hotel Europa Wien
Inner City
Pension Nossek
Pension Nossek
#172 of 367 in Vienna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 221 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pension Neuer Markt? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pension Neuer Markt

Property: Pension Neuer Markt
Address: Seilergasse 9, Vienna 1010, Austria
Location: Austria > Vienna Region > Vienna > Inner City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #189 of 367 Hotels in Vienna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Pension Neuer Markt 3*
Number of rooms: 37
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Pension Neuer Markt reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pension Neuer Markt Hotel Vienna
Hotel Neuer Markt
Neuer Markt Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing