We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, but”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Pension Neuer Markt
Ranked #191 of 360 Hotels in Vienna
Bradenton, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Great location, but”
Reviewed October 19, 2011

Pension Neuer Markt is in a great central location to all the activities of the city center and historic district. The rooms are clean, but the carpet in our room needed replacement. It was dirty and worn. The only problem with the Pension Neuer Markt is the street noise at night. I could not recommend this hotel unless I was guaranteed a quiet room location. The night life on the streets outside doesn't quit until the wee hours of the morning. Since there is no air conditioning the windows are open in warm weather and the noise makes sleep impossible. Breakfast is good and typical european. The food was fresh. The breakfast room is served by a pleasant and efficient young lady who very quickly learns her guests needs.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank longplay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

327 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    83
    160
    53
    17
    14
See reviews for
79
103
30
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Concord, California
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 18, 2011

Glad we stayed here because of the convenient location - can walk to all you want to see. And actually enjoyed the funky location within an office/apt building. But...the decor was very dated. The bathroom was ridiculously small - had to open the door to give myself room to towel off and I'm a small person! I had hard time sleeping - didn't know if it was the lack of a/c or air flow, or the bruises I was getting from the rock-hard mattress,

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KoncordKaren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotterdam, The Netherlands
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed May 10, 2011

As we had a not that big budget for our city trip and still didn't want to stay in a Hostel this Pension was great! we stayed at the place for 5 nights with 5 persons in the family room. And although we are all adults it's a very cheap way of stay in the heart of Vienna. As long as you don't want to spend to much time in your room, and expect to have a lounge corner ore something like that the family room is also perfect for a max of 5 adults. And as all we did in the room was sleep it was perfect for us.
And the fact that we could park our car on the Pensions licence for less than 5,- Euro's per day in the middle of the city centre was great!
Breakfast was good, staff very friendly and the room was clean! Ok, the beds where not that great for your back and we could hear our neigbours taking shouwers; but all together we would reccomend the pension to everyone!

Room Tip: family room is great for max 5 persons!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank sandra_in_zweden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Akron, Ohio
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed April 24, 2011

Great location, quality breakfast, quiet rooms except for street noise if facing the square and overall perfect for the price.

  • Stayed April 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank docmicdvm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 15, 2011

I stayed there with a group of friends for two nights in March'11.
The location of the place couldn't be better-central and within a walking distance to main attractions.
Front desk was friendly and helpful. Breakfast served in the reception good.
We found our room a bit small, but as we only needed it for sleeping we didn't mind that at all. The place could do with a bit of updating as the decor was 70s-80s style, but it didn't matter that much since it was spotless.
Pension offers a shuttle to the airport for 12EUR, which is only a good deal when you travel solo or with a pair. As we were four, it was cheaper for us to get a taxi.
All in all, I liked the place and wouldn't hesitate to stay there again.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dotzky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milan, Italy
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed November 14, 2010

The pension is simply a flat located in a building where are apartments of other families (the entrance it's not tyipical of an hotel and maybe you don't find it easily ). It's a family-business pension and staff is kind: after your arrival you will have your key to open the street-door of the building, so you don't need to ring everytime.
The pension is located in the center near main attractions (stephansdom and stephanplatz). In stephanplatz there is also an underground stop (U). The room is small with old furnitures. Breakfast is simple, but acceptable.
During the night we went out safely.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TheCiuffettas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jamadelizmom
Level 6 Contributor
97 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed August 15, 2010

Very cute pension in a perfect central Vienna location. We were originally booked in another location but after one night we decided to move. The Pension Neuer Markt had space for us. The room was a bit small for the 5 of us, but how much time do you spend in your hotel??? This hotel was about a 1 minute walk to the subway, and only a couple of minutes to St. Stephensplatz. Our room looked out onto a very pretty square. Several restaurants nearby. The breakfast was great. This is a typical European pension. We would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Maria J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Vienna hotels
Inner City
Pertschy Palais Hotel
Pertschy Palais Hotel
#165 of 360 in Vienna
586 reviews
Inner City
Pension Aviano
Pension Aviano
#184 of 360 in Vienna
394 reviews
Inner City
Pension Nossek
Pension Nossek
#171 of 360 in Vienna
238 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Inner City
Graben Hotel
Graben Hotel
#76 of 360 in Vienna
689 reviews
Inner City
Austria Trend Hotel Europa Wien
Inner City
Pension Suzanne
Pension Suzanne
#66 of 360 in Vienna
756 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pension Neuer Markt? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pension Neuer Markt

Property: Pension Neuer Markt
Address: Seilergasse 9, Vienna 1010, Austria
Location: Austria > Vienna Region > Vienna > Inner City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #191 of 360 Hotels in Vienna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Pension Neuer Markt 3*
Number of rooms: 37
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Pension Neuer Markt reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pension Neuer Markt Hotel Vienna
Hotel Neuer Markt
Neuer Markt Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing