We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, excellent breakfast and friendly staff”
Review of Hotel Austria

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Austria
Ranked #24 of 359 Hotels in Vienna
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 1, 2013

We spent just one night in Wien, and we were stayed at hotel Wien. The hotel is in excellent location in a small quiet street very close to the old city center. In a few minutes wallk you can reach to any attractive place.
The crew was very helpful and friendly, the rooms were elegantly furnished, clean and spacious than you might expect from a small urban hotel.
The breakfast was excellent with a rich buffet and 5 minutes walk there is a parking place (20 euro for 24 hours).

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Harel S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,344)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

515 - 521 of 1,344 reviews

Reviewed September 30, 2013

What else should I want? The breakfast is superb, the staff is very friendly, and it is located very close to Schwedenplatz and to Stephanplatz. The direct bus from the airport stops 10 minutes walking from there. I will stay again for sure whenever I come back to Vienna. Wunderbar!

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank andrebcm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2013

We arrived at this hotel in the heart of Vienna after 27 hours of travelling and walking around Vienna. We were able to check in a little early and had a good nap in comfortable beds. We were then ready to explore more of Vienna. The staff were friendly and helpful, rooms comfortable and bathrooms clean. We loved the big soft yellow towels. The central location is excellent and breakfast plentiful and nutritious. We would stay here again.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Bass74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 29, 2013

If you are a traveler looking for value for money you pay, this is your place. It is also at the centre of vienna!! The staff was helpful and cheerful. The breakfast was excellent and had variety of items. We were five of us and took two room ..1 triple room and another double. The rooms were spacious and were very quite. The only negative thing that it has no AC..so we had windows open at night. We were not in the hotel at mid day but I guess it would have been unpleasant to stay in your room. Also there was only 1 elevator was small.
The staff have helped us organize a birthday breakfast celebration for my elder sister and had we ordered flowers for her and it was well presented. They also have given her 2 boxes of chocolates compliments from manger/staff..thanks for a lovely memorable holiday

Room Tip: Stay of first or second floor for easy accesss
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank activeTrav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2013

Hotel Austria is in an excellent location: good for getting in and out of Vienna and even better for getting around to all the wonderful sights and things to do in this exciting old city. Yet, for being in the middle of things, you can expect a quiet, high-celinged room with a comfortable bed, spacious bathroom and full breakfast so that you will be refreshed enough to enjoy all Vienna has to offer. An excellent clothes line apparatus folds out over the tub should you need to wash a few items.

A box of chocolates welcomed us to the hotel. The staff was helpful and offered good suggestions for dinning and excellent directions to the train station, etc. WiFi and breakfast was included in the price. The espresso machine alone was worth everything, and fresh fruits, delicious fruit yogurt, cheeses, breads, sliced meats, pastry were all good - perhaps too good for a 3-night stay.

That said, Hotel Austria is not perfect. Room 114 is supposedly non-smoking, but my nose, watery eyes and loaded sinuses tell me otherwise. The decor is a bit dated. There was a small round table and two chairs in the room, along with a fold-out sofa bed, which got a little crowded. I was unable to figure out the clock radio alarm. The glass partial wall in the shower has to be in exactly the right spot to avoid a flooded bathroom floor. The soap dispensers were a pain to use. The window is on an air shaft, though there were a few geraniums to brighten things up, and an air shaft is much quieter than a street.

Room Tip: If a non-smoking room is required, make very sure that's what you request and what you get.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank VITraveler50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2013

We stayed a few years ago in this hotel for 3 days before we left to check the snow! We enjoyed the hote very much, we had a double room on the top floor and it was quite, clean and the breakfast was excellent, a very large variety of stuff and everyting fresh!
The hotel was very close to the St. Stephan cathedral and had a lot of good place for the other meals of the day. Wolfgang helped us with some recommendation for dinner and they ere great!
A very enjoyable stay in Vienna!
Hope we will get back soon!

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Flyview2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 21, 2013

From West Bahnhoff we took the metro to Schwedenplatz and the hotel is quite close to it. It is tucked away nicely in a quite street. There are restaurants and stores nearby. There was a large spread at the breakfast.

The hotel let us check in early and let us leave our bags with them as we traveled. The staff was very knowledgable. They helped us with tickets to an orchestra. The elevator is small but other than that, the place is quite large. The hotel staff gave us a lot of tips and suggestions in terms of where to go, where to eat, etc. It was extremely friendly and I would not hesitate to stay here again.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lambda_by_mu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Vienna hotels
Leopoldstadt
Austria Classic Hotel Wien
Old University Quarter
Hollmann Beletage
Hollmann Beletage
#4 of 359 in Vienna
1,110 reviews
Wieden
Best Western Premier Kaiserhof Wien
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mariahilf
Hotel Beethoven Vienna
Hotel Beethoven Vienna
#12 of 359 in Vienna
1,378 reviews
Mariahilf
Hotel Das Tyrol
Hotel Das Tyrol
#2 of 359 in Vienna
1,492 reviews
Inner City
Hotel Am Stephansplatz
Hotel Am Stephansplatz
#11 of 359 in Vienna
2,161 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Austria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Austria

Address: Fleischmarkt 20/Wolfengasse 3, Vienna 1010, Austria
Location: Austria > Vienna Region > Vienna > Old University Quarter
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#26 Family Hotel in Vienna
#29 Romantic Hotel in Vienna
#89 Business Hotel in Vienna
Price Range: $113 - $212 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Austria 3*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Austria is right in the middle of the historical Old City of Vienna, a short walking distance from St. Stephen's Cathedral, a few minutes away from the Vienna State Opera, the Hofburg and the famous shopping streets. Check-in into one of our 46 comfortable and peaceful rooms, equipped with free wireless LAN (WI-FI) hotspot, phone with mailbox, minibar, tea and coffee making facilities and most of all, a uniquely individual ambience! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and Hotwire so you can book your Hotel Austria reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Austria Hotel Vienna
Austria Vienna

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing