We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A comfortable and cosy hotel provided outstanding service”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Austria

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Austria
Ranked #23 of 362 Hotels in Vienna
Certificate of Excellence
Australia
Level Contributor
106 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“A comfortable and cosy hotel provided outstanding service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 7, 2012

Trip Advisor reviews before we left for our trip were spot on. This hotel is well located (very quiet and tucked away), with good access to the local train and all the old city sights. Hotel Austria has a wonderful happy staff who go out other way to ensure you have a good stay.
Our 4 person set up was a little cramped but was fine. The beds are firm and comfortable.

Our teenage daughter became quite unwell during our one night stay and she required a on-call doctor. The gentleman at reception was very helpful and professional. Reception contacted the doctor (ensured we were OK with the costly quote) before he organised it. The doctor arrived quickly and assisted us to find an all-night pharmacy. We are grateful for how it was handled.

Breakfast was fresh and plentiful. The rooms are located around a terrace, which is a pleasant place to sit. Finally, accommodation in Vienna is somewhat pricey but this is a good option for one night if you're on your way to Salzburg by train.

We recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BulldogsFans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,208 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    742
    407
    43
    12
    4
See reviews for
301
500
95
65
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (144)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Washington, DC
Level Contributor
188 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2012

Spotlessly clean. We had a three person room and it was... Large enough for three people! Terrific location and we walked everywhere. Easy access from/to train station on the metro. Loved having windows we could open from our room. Bathroom was very spacious, even with a tub! Breakfast was extensive and attentive.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank citysuburb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 3, 2012

Had a - so very short - two nights stay recently in this great, old-fashioned, very warm and friendly hotel with my grand-daughter. We greatly appreciated the room's set-up that allowed us to have completely separate rooms (as we were able to turn the sitting room into another bedroom), as well as all the other little touches and services the hotel provided us.
Great staff, very knowledgeable and helpful (we even managed to get some advice for dining in Rome which was our next destination from Reception...), excellent, real Viennese breakfast and more.
The location - especially for the price - is almost unbeatable. It is certainly true that the hotel is just minutes from practically all major inner-city sights while being in a cul-de-sac makes it quiet and peaceful.
I will most certainly return again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BrightonMelbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Celje, Slovenia
Level Contributor
34 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 31, 2012

We stay at this gem of a hotel every time we return to Vienna. The location is unbeatable, on a quiet pedestrian cul-de-sac inside the Ring, just minutes away from the Stefansplatz and the metro station Schwedenplatz. It is furnished in adorable biedermeier style. The staff is very attentive and friendly. Breakfast buffet provides a nice start to a day. All in all, a three star hotel with four plus star level of service. Keep it that way!
The only complaint we had is the small size of the elevator and the absence of ramps for the wheelchair/stroller access.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank nigatu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
85 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 29, 2012

We stayed here for 9 nights in early October and have nothing but praise for this hotel. The staff are all great and just so helpful - from Restaurant advice to Tour bookings to general travel help. The location is just so good - in a quiet laneway but only an easy stroll to U-bahn and S-bahn as well as tram and Danube Canal. Also an easy walk to town Centre and surrounded by a wide range of restaurants. The decor may seem a bit heavy but reflects the era when the hotel was built - our room was good size and very clean as was the bathroom. All very comfortable. great breakfasts and great service at breakfast. The hotel seems to be family run and is highly recommended- great value for money.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank itsingers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
153 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 28, 2012

We booked this hotel after having seen the reviews here at Trip Adivsor and we were not disappointed. We had a classic room that may sometimes serve as two rooms (one with a bathroom and the other without it) as the room had two doors each with a different room number on it. The room consisted of one room with two single beds, tv, telephone, table, bed table, closet, chair and then an open door, leading to a vestibule where there was another room with a sofa bed, a tv, table, bed table and a bathroom. This "second" room served as a living room, where we placed our suitcases. Therefore, we were satisfied with the size of our room. The shower was small but with good water pressure. However, be forewarned that if you are big with a rubanesque figure, you may not be able to get into the shower.
The service in the hotel was excellent as well as the breakfast. The hotel is located right downtown in the vicinity of Stephansplatz and near the end of the line of the airport bus and close to the subway station, therefore, a perfect location. Notwithstanding, since it is located in an alley, it is very quiet, and the double windows block any possible noise from the outside.
There is a free internet station in the lounge area of the hotel and there is a tiny elevator, big enough for you and your luggage. There is also a verandah. This is a non-smoking hotel, which should be a plus for most people.
In the negative side (nothing is perfect!), the beds are too soft and they squeak whenever you change position. I also noticed that there was no air conditioned, but two standing fans instead, therefore, it must be hot during the Summer. It was not an issue for us at the end of September, but it could possibly be an issue in the Summer.
To sum up, it is recommended and good value in view of the service, location and prices of other hotels in the area. We paid 164 euros per night.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Capisce
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CT
Level Contributor
60 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 26, 2012

I am going to embarass myself in order to indicate just how great this Hotel is: On my way in from the airport on the excellent CAT express train after a sleepless flight from NYC, I left my small carryon bag on the train and did not realise it until too late. I arrived at the Hotel upset. Not only did the Hotel staff immediately make the sustained efforts to report this to the proper CAT personnel (and later Airport Lost and Found personnel) (multiple calls to get to the right offices) and to be sure they talked with a real person who would advise the hotel if and when the bag was turned in, they continued to follow up. And when the bag was turned in (after I had left Vienna), the Hotel contacted me, arranged for a courier to pick it up, return it to the Hotel and the Hotel shipped the bag back to me (at my expense of course). So, not simply great breakfast, great rooms, quiet central location, excellent value, but also help for a traveller in need when a problem arose, immediately, sustained, and followed through. That is a GREAT HOTEL.

Room Tip: The deluxe room was spacious with 12 foot ceilings, well appointed, well maintained, double windows...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank EthanAllenBoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Vienna hotels
Leopoldstadt
Austria Classic Hotel Wien
Old University Quarter
Hollmann Beletage
Hollmann Beletage
#6 of 362 in Vienna
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,020 reviews
Wieden
Best Western Premier Kaiserhof Wien
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Inner City
Hotel Am Stephansplatz
Hotel Am Stephansplatz
#10 of 362 in Vienna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,976 reviews
Inner City
Hotel Capricorno
Hotel Capricorno
#24 of 362 in Vienna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 447 reviews
Mariahilf
Small Luxury Hotel Das Tyrol
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Austria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Austria

Property: Hotel Austria
Address: Fleischmarkt 20/Wolfengasse 3, Vienna 1010, Austria
Location: Austria > Vienna Region > Vienna > Old University Quarter
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#26 Family Hotel in Vienna
#29 Romantic Hotel in Vienna
#89 Business Hotel in Vienna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Austria 3*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Austria is right in the middle of the historical Old City of Vienna, a short walking distance from St. Stephen's Cathedral, a few minutes away from the Vienna State Opera, the Hofburg and the famous shopping streets. Check-in into one of our 46 comfortable and peaceful rooms, equipped with free wireless LAN (WI-FI) hotspot, phone with mailbox, minibar, tea and coffee making facilities and most of all, a uniquely individual ambience! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, Travelocity and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Austria reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Austria Hotel Vienna
Austria Vienna

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing