We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Nice but impersonal staff”
Review of Hotel Austria

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Austria
Ranked #25 of 361 Hotels in Vienna
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 19, 2012

Lovely dining room. nice accomadations, and great big breakfast. This hotel was very central to the downtown shopping area and St. Stephen' Cathedral but do not expect staff to go out of their way to help. The desk manager watched me as I lugged three suitcases up the three steps to the elevator and did not offer to help or ask if I needed help. Obviously, chivalry is dead at this hotel. The restaurant staff we very efficient but mostly cold. One younger lady who worked there did smile.
On the whole this was mostly typical of AUstrians (well at least Viennese) as most seemed aloof and uninterested in tourists.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank bonbot062
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,330)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Austria
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

607 - 613 of 1,330 reviews

Reviewed September 17, 2012

We stayed at this hotel in mid June 2012. The hotel is placed spot in the centre of Vienna and right near a train station. We caught the bus to and from the airport (catch from adjacent to the train station) but the airport train line is not very far away either. A variety of options.

We arrived to the hotel which is situated down a quaint cobblestoned side street. The reception staff are very knowledgable and have all resources (brochures etc) as their disposal. We paid 100ish USD a night for our stay and we were assigned a room which appeared slightly odd. There was the main room which had our beds and a washing basin and other amneties, then the toilet is in a room along the corridor to the left and then the shower is down the corridor to the right. They are of our own personal use only (no other people) and we wern't fussed as we were often out exploring the sights.

Vienna was experiencing a heat wave when we arrived. temperatures were 32c+ (i dare say even 35c) and unfortunately our room felt a bit stuffy / overheated as we only had a floor fan for use. Other than that the room was nice. I understand that this room set up with the separate toilet, shower is only for this one room (hance the cheaper price) but wasnt an issue.

In the morning we were treated a more than great Breakfast downstairs in the main eating room. The spread on offer is extraordinary and the breakfast staff are the gems of the hotel. They are so cheery and accomodating to everyones needs. They truly brightened up our mornings and asked how we were. It brought the love to the hotel, makinfg it feel like a lovely community. If the hotel staff are reading this, I would like this feedback to be passed on to the breakfast staff. Never in all my travels around the world have I experienced such great service for breakfast. Assets to this hotel.

In all our stay at the Austria was lovely, rooms were clean and we felt at ease to explore the city. If the airconditioning issues can be addressed then I can safely say that were would be nothing to raise. If your in Vienna and looking for quality accomodation, in a great location and with more than freindly staff this is the place to be. If ever in the city again, will definately be returning here in a rush.

Room Tip: Enquire about how your room is airconditioned (if visiting in the warmer months of the year)
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank anth0888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel-Austria, Front Office Manager at Hotel Austria, responded to this reviewResponded September 20, 2012

Thank you very much for you nice comment. We will certainly pass your feedback to our breakfast staff.
We are aware that it might get a little overheated during hot summer days as the economy rooms are not as spacious as our other rooms with private facilities. We therefore offer them at a much better rate.
We started this spring with installing air-condition in some rooms and will continue next year.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 15, 2012

Absolutely the best breakfast we found in Europe.
Budget about 2 hours to get through the whole buffet. It's massive.

Rooms are huge and comfortable. Older style but clean and charming. Not just some airless boring old hotel.

Across the road from great schnitzel restaurants and around the corner from Stefan's Dom.

Have stayed in Vienna a few times before along Maria Hilfer Strasse, but will stay here again next time.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank AuntieSimone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 14, 2012

Most of the rooms in this hotel (we booked six rooms) were large and comfortable, furnished in a classy, antique style. The beds were comfortable and gave us a good sleep. I loved the entrance down a narrow alley away from the hubbub of the busy street.
WIFI is fast and worked every time.
Staff was beyond helpful - skillfully directing us to laundry facilities and advising us about restaurants and directions. The transfers they arranged worked very well and they were on hand to help when we could not find our driver.
The included breakfast was also very good, with a comfortable dining area and great selection of the usual European breakfast offerings. The soft-boiled eggs were perfectly prepared and the fresh bread was crusty and delicious.
I marked the hotel down because of our own room, which we had upgraded from the standard room. We were in a suite of two very small rooms with a very tiny bathroom. The room was not air-conditioned, although there was a floor fan for each room. The standard rooms are much superior to the deluxe room we booked. Keep this in mind and save yourself some Euros.

Room Tip: Standard rooms in this hotel were bigger and more comfortable than the deluxe room we booked.
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Philip A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 13, 2012

We have stayed at Hotel Austria many times, and it just gets better. The staff are friendly and so helpful, nothing is too much trouble.
The breakfast buffet is excellent with a wide choice of fresh food nicely presented.
The rooms are comfortable and quiet with nice bathrooms, and spotlessly clean.
All the major attractions are within easy walking distance and there are some very good restaurants nearby.

Just a few of the reasons why we keep coming back!

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Halfpass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 5, 2012

Partner and I had found this hotel recommended in guidebook and we certainly weren't disappointed. In particular the staff were lovely and friendly and did everything to help. Free internet very handy. Rooms were big and clean. The style of decoration is quite over-the-top Austrian/ traditional, but this only adds to the charm of the place in our opinion. Breakfast was great - lots of choice even for people who don't normally 'do' breakfast.

Really close to main city too and situated in a nice, quiet area.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank countingsheep88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 30, 2012

Classy boutique hotel in a perfect location tucked away from the traffic but a short walk to St. Stephens. My daughter and I had a comfortable room with two twin beds, but also had a separate sitting/desk area that could be closed off to provide privacy if one of us wanted to stay up later or woke early. The front desk staff went out of their way to help in any and every way. Special thanks to Renate who gave us the best restaurant recommendations and to Piero who took his time to call our airlines more than once when we were unable to print our boarding passes. So helpful!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank heretodaybut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Vienna hotels
Leopoldstadt
Austria Classic Hotel Wien
Old University Quarter
Hollmann Beletage
Hollmann Beletage
#4 of 361 in Vienna
1,093 reviews
Wieden
Best Western Premier Kaiserhof Wien
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mariahilf
Hotel Beethoven Vienna
Hotel Beethoven Vienna
#13 of 361 in Vienna
1,362 reviews
Inner City
Hotel Am Stephansplatz
Hotel Am Stephansplatz
#11 of 361 in Vienna
2,131 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Austria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Austria

Address: Fleischmarkt 20/Wolfengasse 3, Vienna 1010, Austria
Location: Austria > Vienna Region > Vienna > Old University Quarter
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#26 Family Hotel in Vienna
#29 Romantic Hotel in Vienna
#89 Business Hotel in Vienna
Price Range: $120 - $222 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Austria 3*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Austria is right in the middle of the historical Old City of Vienna, a short walking distance from St. Stephen's Cathedral, a few minutes away from the Vienna State Opera, the Hofburg and the famous shopping streets. Check-in into one of our 46 comfortable and peaceful rooms, equipped with free wireless LAN (WI-FI) hotspot, phone with mailbox, minibar, tea and coffee making facilities and most of all, a uniquely individual ambience! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Austria reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Austria Hotel Vienna
Austria Vienna

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing