We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Tastefully decorated, a pleasent stay” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Wandl

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Wandl
Ranked #178 of 367 Hotels in Vienna
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
18 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Tastefully decorated, a pleasent stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 2, 2011

A nice hotel, pretty much a boutique styled one. I was pretty impressed the moment I stepped into the hotel with the beautifully decorated interiors.
Vienna has so much to offer and the hotel is excellently situated in the main shopping stretch with easy access to just about anywhere via the public transportation. Just outside of the hotel was St Peter's Cathedral and no one should miss St Stephen's Catherdral when in Vienna.. which is just about 2 mins walk from the hotel. Rooms are clean and spacious enough.
Breakfast was included with a decent spread. The warmth and tasteful interiors were definitely worth the mention as our family dined at the breakfast area. We were absolutely pleased with what the hotel and Vienna had to offer!

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank euniceytan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

337 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    81
    152
    69
    24
    11
See reviews for
44
87
35
114
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Vienna, Virginia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 9, 2010

wonderful location and easy to find, good room, good price, nice lobby interior

  • Stayed October 2010
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank byturist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 9, 2010

I travelled to Vienna for work purposes and my work place choose the hotel for me.

Looking at the website before I travelled, I was really excited about staying there. It look great. I knew Vienna quite well from previous visits, and knew that the location would be great - right in the city around the corner of the cathedral.

Arriving at the hotel, it made a good impression. The hotel is very clean, very friendly and efficient staff, who were very attentative.

However, what really let it down was my room. I stayed in room 421, which is right next to the lifts. Everytime somebody called the lift or one arrived, a bell would go off. Although annoying, I could live with that. What was unbearable was the heat in the room. Although the room had a window, it faces out to a roofed over courtyard. Very strange layout and certainly no air circulation. There was a fan in the room, but that didn't really make any change either.

I stayed at the hotel in September 2010 at very reasonable outside temperatures, but it was simply the tropics inside the room and I had very little sleep due to the heat. Moreover, in one from of the rooms, which also faced this roofed over courtyard, was a very very constant and loud snooring person, who kept up the rest of the people with open windows trying to find some sleep somehow in this heat.

Perhaps my recommendation should be, that if you are planning to stay there, make it very clear in your booking, that you do NOT want one of these rooms facing this courtyard!! Because other than that, the hotel was great.

Well, perhaps one of my only other downsides to Hotel Wandl would be, that there is a daily charge to use the internet in the rooms, nor is it wireless, but you need a device that has a ethernet cable connection. (No good for Ipads & Co.!) That said, there is a computer in reception, which guests can use free of charge.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank travelmoanz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin, Germany
Level Contributor
149 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 6, 2010

You like it centrally located, well this is a very good place to be. Staff was very friendly, rooms were quite small and with scarce amenities. The atmosphere transpires 'yes, i have seen better times'. Breakfast was certainly below par, when it comes to the quality of food featured in vienna. But ok for a short stay in the center of town.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DerKronberger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wollongong, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 10, 2010

This was undoubtedly one of the nicest hotels I stayed in in Europe. The hotel in general looks classic in build, but has obviously been renovated and the rooms look incredible. Very stylish and comfortable. The staff were amazing. I had an issue with a purchase I had made and had to have returned. I however had to catch a train prior to the shop opening, so one of the staff kindly did the exchange for me and mailed the new item to Australia. To me this is well and beyond what is required and it was very much appreciated!
The hotel is also within easy walking distance from the most amazing sites in Vienna, and also close to the trains for access to further away sites

  • Stayed October 2008, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TheRoomCritic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melaka
Level Contributor
51 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 31, 2010

Paid 190 euros for double room. Breakfast included but hardly anything else. No free wifi. There is however a computer with internet use at the lobby. Incredibly small room and bathroom. Only good thing is the location - right in the centre of town, 3 minutes walk from stephandom.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank melakaG1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Venera
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 4, 2010

My week stay at Wandl Hotel for the New Year 2010 was excellent. the rooms are clean and spacious, the staff was very helpful and nice and the hotel location in the inner stadt is marvellous. I highly recommend this hotel if u intend to travel to this marvellous city.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cla4876
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Vienna hotels
Inner City
Hotel Amadeus
Hotel Amadeus
#158 of 367 in Vienna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 165 reviews
Inner City
Pertschy Palais Hotel
Pertschy Palais Hotel
#148 of 367 in Vienna
4.0 of 5 bubbles 560 reviews
Inner City
Graben Hotel
Graben Hotel
#71 of 367 in Vienna
4.0 of 5 bubbles 657 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Inner City
Hotel Royal
Hotel Royal
#96 of 367 in Vienna
4.0 of 5 bubbles 742 reviews
Inner City
Pension City
Pension City
#119 of 367 in Vienna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 190 reviews
Inner City
Pension Neuer Markt
Pension Neuer Markt
#189 of 367 in Vienna
4.0 of 5 bubbles 319 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Wandl? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Wandl

Property: Hotel Wandl
Address: Petersplatz 9, Vienna 1010, Austria
Phone Number:
Location: Austria > Vienna Region > Vienna > Inner City , Innere Stadt
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#94 Business Hotel in Vienna
#127 Luxury Hotel in Vienna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Wandl 4*
Number of rooms: 138
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Agoda and Travelocity so you can book your Hotel Wandl reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wandl Hotel Vienna

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing