We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“This hotel will amaze”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Wandl

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Wandl
Ranked #186 of 362 Hotels in Vienna
Wollongong, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“This hotel will amaze”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 10, 2010

This was undoubtedly one of the nicest hotels I stayed in in Europe. The hotel in general looks classic in build, but has obviously been renovated and the rooms look incredible. Very stylish and comfortable. The staff were amazing. I had an issue with a purchase I had made and had to have returned. I however had to catch a train prior to the shop opening, so one of the staff kindly did the exchange for me and mailed the new item to Australia. To me this is well and beyond what is required and it was very much appreciated!
The hotel is also within easy walking distance from the most amazing sites in Vienna, and also close to the trains for access to further away sites

  • Stayed October 2008, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TheRoomCritic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

345 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    83
    154
    71
    25
    12
See reviews for
46
90
35
115
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Melaka
Level Contributor
54 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 31, 2010

Paid 190 euros for double room. Breakfast included but hardly anything else. No free wifi. There is however a computer with internet use at the lobby. Incredibly small room and bathroom. Only good thing is the location - right in the centre of town, 3 minutes walk from stephandom.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank melakaG1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Venera
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 4, 2010

My week stay at Wandl Hotel for the New Year 2010 was excellent. the rooms are clean and spacious, the staff was very helpful and nice and the hotel location in the inner stadt is marvellous. I highly recommend this hotel if u intend to travel to this marvellous city.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cla4876
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenville, SC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 23, 2009

This was my first trip to Wien and my entire stay was at Hotel Wandl. From a location standpoint, it is hard to top. The hotel's proximity to the city's center and major attraction makes it a viable option irregardless of the service. I found the service to be average but certainly tolerable. The less time you spend at any hotel in Wien the better off you are - there are just too many things to see. Breakfasts were pretty good on the whole. I would recommend the hotel based on location alone.

  • Stayed September 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank msrober
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 26, 2009

The Wandle is very clean. The rooms are spacious and the staff is excellent.

  • Liked — Locations and cleanliness
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed October 2007, traveled solo
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank isabelwolf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sans Souci, Australia
Level Contributor
62 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 583 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 13, 2009

Vienna's Hotel Wandl was highly recommended by our favourite "Canadian Ex-Pat", who absolutely loved the location! We made the trek from Prague, for an intensive touring weekend, and we are so glad we stayed at the Wandl! The staff are amazing! Due to all the "one-way" streets, and my poor "directional" skills as navigator, we only got as close as the plaza at Am Hof & Farberg, where we were fortunate to find a parking spot. After running over to the Wandl (two blocks away), and explaining our dilemma at the front desk, a porter (and luggage trolley) was sent along with me over the ancient cobblestone streets, to gather all of our suitcases! Fantastic Service! We were given a wonderful room on the third floor, at the end of the hallway, very nice and quiet, with a view overlooking the side street and part of Petersplatz at the corner. Our room was quite plush, with an enormous bed, large antique wardrobe, and beautiful armchairs & table. The Wandl is a beautiful boutique hotel, with a fabulously elegant front foyer covered in marble, along with it's focal centrepiece, a magnificent sweeping staircase! We found the Wandl's location to be absolutely perfect for our "jam-packed" plans for the weekend, as it is right in the center of Vienna, but occupies a very quiet corner of the Innere Stadt, with the occasional bus and the clippity-clop of horse hooves being the only sounds to reach our room windows. The breakfast room is a high-ceilinged, two-toned baroque room with hanging chandeliers and lots of ornamented plaster. The continental breakfasts were very satisfying with many options available. We found the various granolas, yogurts, fresh fruit, amazing breads, many options of eggs, sausages & bacon, muffins & pastries, with lots of hot coffee, to be an excellent way to start the very busy day we had planned!
After much research into the dozens of potential paths through Vienna's historic center, we came up with our own meandering tour that at least gave us an exterior view of the Habsburgs' urban haunts, and some lesser-known sights best seen from the outside on foot, beginning and ending at the Wandl. We began (from the Wandl) down Kohlmarket - to Michaeler Platz, where there's an amazing exposure/dig of Roman Ruins of "under floor heating & indoor plumbing... dating from the 1st-5th century. Very intriguing! From this vantage we could also view Michaelerkirche, Loden Plankl, and the front of the Hofburg Complex. We then strolled along Augustine Strasse, viewing the magnificent archetecture of the Kaiserappartements, the Lipperzaner Museum, the Osterreichische Nationalbibliothek, and Augustinerkirche... absolutely stunning! At Albertina, we turned down Goette-gasse to the Burg-Garten, then from there onto the famous Maria-Theresien Platz. From the centre of the Maria-Theresien Platz we were surrounded by all the archetecture, statues and amazingly huge doors, of the Kunsthistorische, the MuseumQuartier and the Natur-historisches Museum!
We then crossed the Burg Ring, to walk along the Heldenplatz, viewing the pillars of the Parliament building from this vantage, and then entered the VolksGarten for a much needed rest & break. The centre of the Volks Garten was very tranquil & restful, plus it presented some beautiful photo opportunities, of the Burgtheater dominating the fountains & landscape of the VolksGarten. We also were afforded a glimpse of the spires of Votivkirche, the Minoriten Kirst and the SchottenStift further in the distance beyond. As we exited the garden, we followed along Dr-Karl-Renner Ring, past the impressive Rathaus, the Rathaus Platz & Park, and the Universitat Wien, until we reached the Roosevelt Platz and the gothic Votivkirche. At this point, we made a bee-line towards MichaelerPlatz, past the SchottenStift, back down the Kohlmarket (with a much deserved stop at Demel's) and returned to the Wandl. All in all, a very intensive, extensive yet great overview of the Inner City of Vienna, with the Wandl as our home base!

  • Stayed May 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank GalivantingGardener
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new york
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 30, 2008

After finding the hotel listed in a guidebook I checked their website. Since this was a special trip - I wanted a traditional room with double bed and decided to call and make arrangements rather than depend on internet. I spoke to Katrin who booked me a traditional room with antiques and a double.
She asked that I follow our call with an email to confirm and give credit card details. I did this and received a written confirmation from her. Her email specifically stated deluxe double.
WHen I went to check in three weeks later - I was offered the only available room on the 4th floor - a dank, shabby, charmless room with twin beds and a dirty 1950s sofa. I returned to the desk and refused this room. I explained that Katrin had arranged a room on the first floor and her email confirmed a double bed. The manager named Andrew (I think the same smarmy chain smoker referred to in other reviews) was rude and kind of said take it of leave it. Being it was New Years weekend and 7pm and very cold - we stayed for the one night. He refused to discount our DELUXE RATE of 215E/night.
I would avoid booking at this hotel as even confirmation letters are no guarantee. This was the worst room I stayed at ever.
The public areas are fine - the management not trustful. Avoid
this place.

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — horrible room and little tin foil packets for toiletries
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank NewYorkGulliver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Vienna hotels
Inner City
Hotel Amadeus
Hotel Amadeus
#147 of 362 in Vienna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 175 reviews
Inner City
Pertschy Palais Hotel
Pertschy Palais Hotel
#146 of 362 in Vienna
4.0 of 5 bubbles 567 reviews
Inner City
Graben Hotel
Graben Hotel
#75 of 362 in Vienna
4.0 of 5 bubbles 665 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Inner City
Pension Neuer Markt
Pension Neuer Markt
#190 of 362 in Vienna
4.0 of 5 bubbles 319 reviews
Inner City
Hotel Royal
Hotel Royal
#94 of 362 in Vienna
4.0 of 5 bubbles 756 reviews
Inner City
Pension Domizil
Pension Domizil
#100 of 362 in Vienna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 253 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Wandl? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Wandl

Property: Hotel Wandl
Address: Petersplatz 9, Vienna 1010, Austria
Phone Number:
Location: Austria > Vienna Region > Vienna > Inner City , Innere Stadt
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#94 Business Hotel in Vienna
#131 Luxury Hotel in Vienna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Wandl 4*
Number of rooms: 138
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity, Agoda, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Wandl reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wandl Hotel Vienna

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing