We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quiet, excellent, hotel, locale, and service.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
City Hotel Deutschmeister
Ranked #241 of 361 Hotels in Vienna
Brussels, Belgium
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Quiet, excellent, hotel, locale, and service.”
Reviewed July 23, 2013

On my 5th visit to Vienna, and the first for my children, we very much enjoyed our stay here. The location, near the Freud Museum and Liechstenstein Palace, is convenient to everything in the center of Vienna (we walked everywhere), to public transport, and green spaces for rest and refreshment. There are excellent cafes and food options, including two small, well-stocked supermarkets, and the area is quiet, and restful, at night. The staff could not have been more helpful. They were available, well-informed, kind, and welcoming from the start to the warm goodbye. In the summer heat, the room was still, and quiet, at night, and/but also very very warm. Those accustomed to American-style air conditioning may find the rooms extremely hot by their standards. The breakfast is ample and tasty, there's a garden, the staff will post cards and help make reservations for concerts. I, and we, would definitely stay here again! Danke!

Room Tip: Select the garden side. These rooms are quieter and the air quality is better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jamesday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

242 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    41
    109
    62
    21
    9
See reviews for
39
96
13
32
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
Reviewed June 19, 2013 via mobile

Pros: located away from the main city (Westbanhauff) next to river side, great place to spend evening time. Staff is very friendly. Easy to commute since located close to green line station. Good connectivity to airport via green line. Good quality breakfast.

Cons: only breakfast is served no lunch or dinner.

Overall: good option for a budget hotel.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JayN8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flat Rock, North Carolina
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed April 26, 2013

Having never been to Vienna and booking on our own I came across the Deutschmeister on line and it met our requirements for room size (3 people), budget and location.
Vienna is divided into zones, 1 being the city center and then zones 2-9 around it like spokes of a hub. Hotels in each zone can relatively close to the center which this definitely is. Lots of cafes and restaurants are close by and there are beautiful buildings everywhere in Vienna so walking around is the best way to see it.
The subway (U) and rail system are also easy to navigate.
Our room was large, not fancy, with a kitchenette. The property is clean and nice and the breakfast was also very nice and offered many different items. There is no air conditioning which would be a problem for us in the summer.

Room Tip: Rooms on the street can be loud in the morning with windows open.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kelli S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 16, 2013 via mobile

Nice and clean, breakfask is ok, room is very big with kitchen. But not good as four star. Near the donar river, good place but less restant around. Bath water is small but ok. With price competetive, will live in next time. If internet for free will be super

Helpful?
Thank He H
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed March 31, 2013

If you don't need fancy features such as swimming pool etc. this hotel is a very good choice. It's quiet but still close to the inner city (20 min on foot), and there is an underground station nearby and public transport is excellent in Vienna anyway. I had a really large room (more like a suite actually) for the price of a single room. I don't agree with what other people say about the lack of food places nearby - I had very good dinner in restaurants 2 min away.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joe B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed January 5, 2013

Let me start by the positives:
1. 1min from metro, very convenient
2. Staff are friendly
This is where it ends, now the negatives
1. I was there with my bf for the new year, and they gave us a room at first where the toilet is separated from the rest of the bathroom (just the toilet- no washbasin). The room was spacious but freezing cold despite us turning both heaters on. We woke up at 7an the following day because we could hear our neighbours using the water and flushing the toilet!!! We asked them to change it and they did.
2. The new room was warmer-more apartment-like with kitchenette, etc though we didn't use it. It was better until we realized that we could also hear our neighbours speak!! We could hear their kids talk and also know when they used the kitchenette sink! I have never seen a 4-star hotel with such thin walls.
We never slept past 8am even on new year's day!
3. Breakfast is very basic and in a corridor rather a room. Again I would expect this from a 3-star and below hotel. But a 4-star hotel should have a proper dinning room- not to mention not having a kitchen. We arrived late there and by the time we unpacked it was past 10pm..we had to go look for a restaurant because they had no kitchen!
Overall we were not happy and we will not go to that hotel again!

Room Tip: Don't take any room with an 01 number!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank B S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Vienna hotels

Northampton, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed November 29, 2012

The good: very close to the underground station,

The bad: no amenities nearby. If you want to have a snack or dinner, you'd be quicker to take a tube to the nearby university station and have a bite there. Very limited choice of breadfast. There is a woman (think she is the manager) standing there watching how much everybody is taking.. no kettle in the rooms. If you want hot water, none available unless you pay for a tea and you can have the hot water for the tea without the tea bag.

The ugly: I stayed in room 27 and the window in the bathroom is made of the see-through clear glass. It would have been fine if there was an open view and with no immediate neighbours. Unfortunately on the opposite side of the street, there is a big building that any one in it can see clearly what you do in your bathroom. That was not ideal. When I brought the issue to the reception, I was told that nobody would be there watching. How could you guarantee that nobody would be watching? The answer is she can because it's an instution building. Well, the lights started to be on in the building as soon as evening comes and how am I supposed to believe that assurance? Anyway, after a hard battle, she finally agreed to give me two pieces of A4 paper to block it off.

Room Tip: choose room 22
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank WillowGreen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Vienna hotels
Leopoldstadt
Hotel Resonanz Vienna
Hotel Resonanz Vienna
#245 of 361 in Vienna
308 reviews
Alservorstadt
Hotel Regina
Hotel Regina
#94 of 361 in Vienna
800 reviews
Josefstadt
Hotel-Pension Baronesse
Hotel-Pension Baronesse
#211 of 361 in Vienna
241 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Josefstadt
Hotel Graf Stadion
Hotel Graf Stadion
#92 of 361 in Vienna
406 reviews
Serviten Quarter
Hotel Boltzmann
Hotel Boltzmann
#188 of 361 in Vienna
218 reviews
Wieden
Pakat City Hotel
Pakat City Hotel
#200 of 361 in Vienna
143 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to City Hotel Deutschmeister? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about City Hotel Deutschmeister

Property: City Hotel Deutschmeister
Address: Gruenentorgasse 30, Vienna 1090, Austria
Location: Austria > Vienna Region > Vienna > Serviten Quarter
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#151 Luxury Hotel in Vienna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — City Hotel Deutschmeister 4*
Number of rooms: 52
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your City Hotel Deutschmeister reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
City Hotel Vienna

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing