We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“i cant beleive this is a four star hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
City Hotel Deutschmeister
Ranked #255 of 358 Hotels in Vienna
Reviewed August 17, 2012

this hotel was close to the underground although out of thte city centre.
the room had no aircon, no free wifi, no tea and coffee facilities and no safe to lock personal items.

although good variety at breakfast and a good selection of tv programmes

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tonyhalik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (253)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

50 - 56 of 253 reviews

Reviewed August 11, 2012

Unfortunately any decent hotel like this one can be ruined by obstinate and disagreeable staff and management. We booked our stay ahead of time through booking.com and secured a cheaper advanced rate that was just barely within our budget. We booked several other hotels with the same credit card and had no problems. After booking we received an email saying that Deutschmeister could not run our card, but that our reservation would be held until 18:00 on day of arrival and we were still obligated to fulfill the reservation. We double checked and resent the card info but for some reason that did not work either. On the day of arrival we left early to get to Deutschmeister to clear everything up. When we got there in the early afternoon the staff said that they had emailed us earlier that day, telling us that the reservation was cancelled and if we wanted to stay there we would have to pay a higher rate which was out of our budget. We did not get the email because we were on the train on our way to the hotel. We had all of our stuff and no where else to go so we pretty much had to stay there. We tried arguing with the staff but got no where. After we got back home we called booking.com to let them know what happened. They were blown away that a hotel in their system would do this and promised to get our money back. A complaint was filed but Deutschmeister again refused to pay our money back, even when confronted by booking.com. It took booking.com threatening Deutschmeister with directly billing them and paying us back for Deutschmeister to finally refund our credit card with the difference in price. All this to say, BOOKING.COM is wonderful and has great customer service and DEUTSCHMEISTER has horrible customer service with employees who will smile at you and lie all day long. THEY ACT LIKE THEY ARE FRIENDLY BUT ARE REALLY VERY SHADY AND I WOULD NEVER DO BUSINESS WITH THEM AGAIN AND COULD NEVER RECOMMEND THAT ANYONE PATRONIZE THEIR ESTABLISHMENT.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tlyl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 9, 2012

NO air condition!
NO regular room service!
Very ordinary brekfast.
Lots of noise...
Room service was terrible! They chaned the towels four times in nine days!
In summer days and even some nights the weather is so warm and humid due to lack of air conditioning system.
You have to put the window wide open, so the street and other rooms noises never let you sleep!
The refreg. was so small, so dont even think that you can put 1 litre water pot in it.
The good point is every room has a safe box.

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Chiatti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2012

The hotel was rated as 4* and it was a mystery to me.

The reception was always busy so that you have to be patient. Once you entered the hotel, you could smell something funny. Yes the hotel was too old and shabby.

I stayed on the first floor. The room was quite smelly and the interior was very shabby and ugly. I was so shocked that there's no air-conditioned but an old-fashioned fan. It was not very hot in Vienna in July but once you opened the window, got loads of unexpected visitors from outside- yes the insects!!

So I finally shut the windows before I went to bed. But it was stuffy and you couldn't sleep well at all!! Ok I turned on the fan but the fan was dusty!

The dinner buffet was a joke too. Got loads of flies and unknown flying insects over the food! The food was average.

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jydal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 26, 2012

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank michaelaErfurt
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed July 13, 2012

the good:
location - steps away from the subway, a couple of minutes walk to the center
breakfast - great selection of breakfast foods, fresh; lot's of veggies and fruits.
clean, spacious room.

the ok:
this hotel had several large groups of senior travelers staying, and they tend to be very loud in the morning!
beds weren't very compfy

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Murashka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 11, 2012

The hotel is very good value for money, close to the u-ban station, clean and nice. I would certainly stay there sgain.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank Anat A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Vienna hotels
Wieden
Hotel Carlton Opera
Hotel Carlton Opera
#172 of 358 in Vienna
389 reviews
Neubau
Haydn Hotel Vienna
Haydn Hotel Vienna
#277 of 358 in Vienna
79 reviews
Neubau
Hotel Kugel
Hotel Kugel
#94 of 358 in Vienna
414 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Serviten Quarter
Hotel & Palais Strudlhof
Hotel & Palais Strudlhof
#145 of 358 in Vienna
363 reviews
Leopoldstadt
Hotel Resonanz Vienna
Hotel Resonanz Vienna
#262 of 358 in Vienna
315 reviews
Josefstadt
Hotel Zipser
Hotel Zipser
#137 of 358 in Vienna
454 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to City Hotel Deutschmeister? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about City Hotel Deutschmeister

Address: Gruenentorgasse 30, Vienna 1090, Austria
Location: Austria > Vienna Region > Vienna > Serviten Quarter
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#152 Luxury Hotel in Vienna
Price Range: $89 - $140 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — City Hotel Deutschmeister 4*
Number of rooms: 52
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your City Hotel Deutschmeister reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
City Hotel Vienna

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing