We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Mercure Josefshof Wien am Rathaus
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Pension Wild(Vienna)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Hotel Alpha(Vienna)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
Hotel Atlas(Vienna)
View Hotel
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Hotel Zipser(Vienna)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (1,579)
Filter reviews
1,579 results
Traveler rating
567
714
219
59
20
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
567
714
219
59
20
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsprivilege roomnice hotelquiet streetmuseum quartercity hallside streetwalking distancechristmas marketstandard roomunderground stationminute walklocation is excellentinternet connectionan upgradeu bahnbed was very comfortablestayed here for nights
Filter
Updating list...
515 - 520 of 1,579 reviews
Reviewed July 1, 2013

Not quite four , but better than three. Room great but a hint of cigarettes filtered through the aircon. Smoking rooms died in the real world 10 years ago Guys. Blow them out.
No real bar ie no draught beer. Not great
Location terific. Value through hotwire very good.
Good at the price but had it been top dollar, ordinary

Room Tip: insist on no smoking
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Chris G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ElisabethN114, Manager at Hotel Mercure Josefshof Wien am Rathaus, responded to this reviewResponded January 29, 2014

Dear user Chris G,

thank you very much for your comments on your recent stay.

It is always good to receive feedback from our guests, either positive and negative.

We hope to see you once again here at our Merure Josefshof.

Best wishes from Vienna

Elisabeth Neubauer
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 19, 2013

Lovely hotel near the Rathaus. Staff was friendly and helpful with a quick checkin. Near a U-Bahn station so it easy to get to from the Westbanhof. Close walk to Rathaus, Parliament, and Volks Park, which leads to Alstadt. Very cool to have a skylight window in a hotel! Down a quiet side street yet everything is very accessible, Will stay there again!

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank Jayna1957
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ElisabethN114, Manager at Hotel Mercure Josefshof Wien am Rathaus, responded to this reviewResponded July 19, 2013

Dear user Jayna1957,

we like to thank you for your impressions about your recent accommodation at our
Mercure Josefshof.

It was a great pleasure to read that you liked your stay and will forward your praises to our staff.

We are already looking forward to welcoming you again and send best wishes from Vienna.

Elisabeth Neubauer
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 9, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at this hotel for 2 nights and really enjoyed our stay! The hotel is a little out of the city centre but there are some lovely restaurants only 5 mins walk away. The hotel staff were extremely helpful and friendly the rooms are spacious and really clean.
Would recommend!

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lauralouise4234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ElisabethN114, Manager at Hotel Mercure Josefshof Wien am Rathaus, responded to this reviewResponded July 19, 2013

Dear guest,

thank you very much for commenting on your stay on tripadvisor.

It was nice to read that you liked our hotel and the location.

We hope to welcome you again at the Josefshof in the future.

Best regards and best wishes

Elisabeth Neubauer
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 7, 2013

I really wanted to like this hotel. It is in a nice location and is lovely. Our room's AC broke the first night, and it became stifling hot. When we contacted the front desk, they said that the AC system was working fine, but that they would send a technician to our room. Nobody ever showed up. So we called 30 minutes later (mind you, it is around 10:30 PM at this point), and they said that no one would be coming because the technicians had already gone home, but that they would upgrade us to an apartment. The apartment was really wonderful (with working AC), and we were very happy. However the next evening, as one of us was getting out of the shower, two hotel guests walked into our room (even WITH our Do Not Disturb sign on the door knob). The staff seemed to have mistakenly told them our occupied room was available- or something like that- we never quite understood the actual story. Needless to say, we went to the front desk to complain/see what was going on. The front desk was apologetic and offered us a free drink. He indicated that one or two mistakes happen every day and that it seemed like all the mistakes were happening to me. The level of attention to detail was severely lacking during our stay here. On a totally different note- the wifi was TERRIBLE as I had to constantly reenter the password every 5-10 minutes. We were told it was because our room was between two routers. Unfortunately we would probably never stay here again, but if none of the mistakes we experienced happen to you, this is a lovely hotel.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Saved by G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ElisabethN114, Manager at Hotel Mercure Josefshof Wien am Rathaus, responded to this reviewResponded July 19, 2013

Dear user Caliapy J,

we would like to thank you for taking the time to comment on your recent stay and report the problems you were facing.

We are very sorry that you were not satisfied at all and need to appologize for the inconveniences occured. We discussed the mentioned points with our staff and set the necessary actions in order to avoid any similar incidents in the future.

We would be very glad to welcome you again in the future getting the chance to convince you about our quality.

Sending best wishes we remain with best regards from Vienna

Elisabeth Neubauer
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 6, 2013

This hotel is in a great location, close to Ubahn and trams so easy to get round the city. The staff are friendly and helpful. The rooms are clean and comfortable. The breakfast is excellent value for money - a good start to a day of serious sighteeing!

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JulesLWirral
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ElisabethN114, Manager at Hotel Mercure Josefshof Wien am Rathaus, responded to this reviewResponded July 17, 2013

Dear guest,

thank you very much for sharing your impressions about your recent stay at the Mercure Josefshof with other travellers.

It was a pleasure to read that you fully enjoyed your days with us.

We hope to welcome you back soon if your travel plans guide you back to Vienna.

Best regards

Elisabeth neubauer
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews