We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Great location, decent hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Mercure Josefshof Wien

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Mercure Josefshof Wien
Ranked #101 of 368 Hotels in Vienna
Certificate of Excellence
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Great location, decent hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

Not quite four , but better than three. Room great but a hint of cigarettes filtered through the aircon. Smoking rooms died in the real world 10 years ago Guys. Blow them out.
No real bar ie no draught beer. Not great
Location terific. Value through hotwire very good.
Good at the price but had it been top dollar, ordinary

Room Tip: insist on no smoking
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Chris G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ElisabethN114, Manager at Mercure Josefshof Wien, responded to this review, January 29, 2014
Dear user Chris G,

thank you very much for your comments on your recent stay.

It is always good to receive feedback from our guests, either positive and negative.

We hope to see you once again here at our Merure Josefshof.

Best wishes from Vienna

Elisabeth Neubauer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,052 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    332
    505
    157
    39
    19
See reviews for
148
524
59
170
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (71)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Budapest, Hungary
Level Contributor
22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013

Lovely hotel near the Rathaus. Staff was friendly and helpful with a quick checkin. Near a U-Bahn station so it easy to get to from the Westbanhof. Close walk to Rathaus, Parliament, and Volks Park, which leads to Alstadt. Very cool to have a skylight window in a hotel! Down a quiet side street yet everything is very accessible, Will stay there again!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
Thank Jayna1957
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ElisabethN114, Manager at Mercure Josefshof Wien, responded to this review, July 19, 2013
Dear user Jayna1957,

we like to thank you for your impressions about your recent accommodation at our
Mercure Josefshof.

It was a great pleasure to read that you liked your stay and will forward your praises to our staff.

We are already looking forward to welcoming you again and send best wishes from Vienna.

Elisabeth Neubauer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at this hotel for 2 nights and really enjoyed our stay! The hotel is a little out of the city centre but there are some lovely restaurants only 5 mins walk away. The hotel staff were extremely helpful and friendly the rooms are spacious and really clean.
Would recommend!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lauralouise4234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ElisabethN114, Manager at Mercure Josefshof Wien, responded to this review, July 19, 2013
Dear guest,

thank you very much for commenting on your stay on tripadvisor.

It was nice to read that you liked our hotel and the location.

We hope to welcome you again at the Josefshof in the future.

Best regards and best wishes

Elisabeth Neubauer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Potomac, Maryland
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2013

I really wanted to like this hotel. It is in a nice location and is lovely. Our room's AC broke the first night, and it became stifling hot. When we contacted the front desk, they said that the AC system was working fine, but that they would send a technician to our room. Nobody ever showed up. So we called 30 minutes later (mind you, it is around 10:30 PM at this point), and they said that no one would be coming because the technicians had already gone home, but that they would upgrade us to an apartment. The apartment was really wonderful (with working AC), and we were very happy. However the next evening, as one of us was getting out of the shower, two hotel guests walked into our room (even WITH our Do Not Disturb sign on the door knob). The staff seemed to have mistakenly told them our occupied room was available- or something like that- we never quite understood the actual story. Needless to say, we went to the front desk to complain/see what was going on. The front desk was apologetic and offered us a free drink. He indicated that one or two mistakes happen every day and that it seemed like all the mistakes were happening to me. The level of attention to detail was severely lacking during our stay here. On a totally different note- the wifi was TERRIBLE as I had to constantly reenter the password every 5-10 minutes. We were told it was because our room was between two routers. Unfortunately we would probably never stay here again, but if none of the mistakes we experienced happen to you, this is a lovely hotel.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Saved by G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ElisabethN114, Manager at Mercure Josefshof Wien, responded to this review, July 19, 2013
Dear user Caliapy J,

we would like to thank you for taking the time to comment on your recent stay and report the problems you were facing.

We are very sorry that you were not satisfied at all and need to appologize for the inconveniences occured. We discussed the mentioned points with our staff and set the necessary actions in order to avoid any similar incidents in the future.

We would be very glad to welcome you again in the future getting the chance to convince you about our quality.

Sending best wishes we remain with best regards from Vienna

Elisabeth Neubauer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wirral
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2013

This hotel is in a great location, close to Ubahn and trams so easy to get round the city. The staff are friendly and helpful. The rooms are clean and comfortable. The breakfast is excellent value for money - a good start to a day of serious sighteeing!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JulesLWirral
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ElisabethN114, Manager at Mercure Josefshof Wien, responded to this review, July 17, 2013
Dear guest,

thank you very much for sharing your impressions about your recent stay at the Mercure Josefshof with other travellers.

It was a pleasure to read that you fully enjoyed your days with us.

We hope to welcome you back soon if your travel plans guide you back to Vienna.

Best regards

Elisabeth neubauer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redondo Beach, California
Level Contributor
114 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013

This quaint little hotel has been nicely updated for a wonderful utalitarian hotel for your trip to Vienna. It is located just s few blocks from the City Center.

The staff is friendly, although the reception area is entering on the right and can get very busy with guest and make it dificult to have a certain question answered. They do have parking underground for a daily cost. They had umbrellas at the entrance that they allowed us to borrow during our stay.

The hotel room was very small, but had all the things we needed clean room, nice bathroom, free internet and fantastic loaction to Wien. The Vennese breakfast, which was included on our rate, was VERY complete and provided us quite a treat!

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank goodlife123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ElisabethN114, Manager at Mercure Josefshof Wien, responded to this review, July 17, 2013
Dear user goodlife123,

thank you very much for your positive feedback about your recent stay with us.

It was nice to read that you enjoyed your stay and hope to welcome you again soon.

Best regards from Vienna

Elisabeth Neubauer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bucharest, Romania
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013

First of all, the rooms are very small.
Secondly, I made the reservation online, and when I got to the hotel, I found out that the online prices differ from the price I had to pay at the front desk. On the online reservation form I specifyed that I wanted breakfast for 16 euros, and the total cost of the room was 116 euros, and at the front desk I was informed that only for the room I had to pay 115 euros, plus another 16 euros if I wanted breakfast.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
Thank Andrei_Novaceanu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
johof, Manager at Mercure Josefshof Wien, responded to this review, June 7, 2013
Dear Sir,
I am very sorry to read, that you were dissapointed with your stay in the Mercure Josefshof Wien. But I cannot understand your answers: You booked a standard single room for 1 person for 99,--€ room only and you booked 1 breakfast for 1 person 16,--€. Thats totally 115,--€ You find that amount also on the confirmation of your reservation. I checked also your invoice from June 1st and there you have paid 115,--€. So the hotel worked in a correct way!
The single room is really smaller than a double room, but its also less expensive. For your next stay you can choose from our different categories, where are also bigger rooms.
I am really sorry that you are dissapointed , but I hope that you come back and have an other stay in the Mercure Josefshof.

Best Regards

Elisabeth Neubauer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Vienna hotels
Josefstadt
The Levante Parliament
The Levante Parliament
#95 of 368 in Vienna
4.0 of 5 stars 765 reviews
Josefstadt
Fleming's Deluxe Hotel Wien-City
Josefstadt
Hotel Graf Stadion
Hotel Graf Stadion
#66 of 368 in Vienna
4.0 of 5 stars 340 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mariahilf
Mercure Secession Wien
Mercure Secession Wien
#131 of 368 in Vienna
4.0 of 5 stars 583 reviews
Josefstadt
Hotel Alpha
Hotel Alpha
#96 of 368 in Vienna
4.0 of 5 stars 377 reviews
Neubau
25hours Hotel at MuseumsQuartier
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Josefshof Wien? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Josefshof Wien

Property: Mercure Josefshof Wien
Address: Josefsgasse 4-6, Vienna 1080, Austria
Phone Number:
Location: Austria > Vienna Region > Vienna > Josefstadt
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#75 Luxury Hotel in Vienna
#93 Family Hotel in Vienna
#96 Business Hotel in Vienna
#105 Romantic Hotel in Vienna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Josefshof Wien 4*
Number of rooms: 170
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beautifully renovated hotel in the centre of Vienna, very close to Ringstrasse. The hotel offers 121 rooms, including 111 non smoking rooms, a breakfast room, garden terrace, bar and meeting rooms.The hotel is located in a small lane in the historic citycentre and most of the rooms face the quiet, leafy courtyard. Not far from Rathausplatz and Stephansplatz Squares, Parliament, museums, Museumsquartier cultural complex, Hofburg Castle and Mariahilferstrasse. Daily breakfast buffet served until 12 noon ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with ACCOR, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Agoda so you can book your Mercure Josefshof Wien reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Josefshof Wien Hotel Vienna
Mercure Hotel Josefshof Wien
Mercure Hotel Vienna

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing