We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, perfectly acceptable hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Mercure Josefshof Wien am Rathaus
Ranked #91 of 361 Hotels in Vienna
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Austin, Texas
2 reviews
“Great location, perfectly acceptable hotel”
Reviewed September 15, 2012 via mobile

If you are looking to experience Vienna's culture and history, it is hard to beat this hotel's value-for-location ratio. Located near the museum quartier and within easy walking distance of Stephensplaz and naschmarkt, we couldn't have asked for more.

The rooms are fine, bathrooms are big (but a poorly designed splash guard means your bathroom floor will be covered in a layer of water with every shower). Our room was nonsmoking but clearly a smoker had been there.

Service is Austrian. By that, I mean brusque, not particularly friendly or helpful, but you can get what you need. Don't expect a hug though.

The biggest downside: wifi is wonky, borderline terrible. Speed is slow, the connection drops frequently, and it's basically useless for business work.

Given the location and my use of hotels only for sleeping, I would stay there again were I a tourist. Business travelers should look elsewhere.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Monomakh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,294 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    430
    608
    190
    46
    20
See reviews for
188
647
67
209
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (89)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
bratbee
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed September 14, 2012

We got there a day earlier and booked an extra night, they didn't have any vacancy except in the annex building which was a terrible experience. The building was very run down and no elevators, don't expect an AC of course. And it was 100F outside, it was absolutely unbearable and I couldn't fall asleep at all. Fortunately the next day, we were able to move back to the main building which is much more acceptable - has AC, elevators, lights in the hallway.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bratbee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed September 12, 2012

This hotel is somewhat old but its location to the City of Vienna is a plus. Well trained and attentive front desk staff. We appreciated the elevators always sitting on the main floor with its door open. We stayed on the 5th floor but were surprised by a set of at least 6 steps that had to be navigated in order to reach our room. The room was very small and the bathroom was adequate. We stayed 5 nights here but because of a bad experience in the dinning room would be reluctant to recommend.. Because it was Sunday morning and the local restaurants if they opened would not be till 10:00 a.m. We had booked a Tour with a pickup for 8:00 a.m. I needed a cup of coffee before leaving so I approached the front desk indicating we did not want a full breakfast but a coffee and croissant. We were directed to the on premises restaurant and conferred with the hostess regarding our needs. We were assured we could have this "lite" breakfast". Under her watchful eye we had 1 coffee and 1 tea and 2 croissants and were assured the costs would be 6 Euros. Surprise, surprise on checking out found we were charged 16.Euros for a full breakfast!. Where I come from that $20.00 for 2 buns and 2 hot drinks. My wife and I would never return as a result to this hotel. .

Room Tip: BEWARE the restaurant of you want a light breakfast!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank deltablues2003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Espoo, Finland
2 reviews
Reviewed September 12, 2012

Check-in was quick and reception staff helpful. They for example gave us the city map and marked the hotel and places we should go. A useful thing to have when you're somewhere the first time and don't yet know your way around. Our nice and clean double room had a good sized double bed with large soft pillows. There was also all the basic useful stuff like shampoo, shower gel, hair dryer, safe, wardrobe, and a television (everything is dubbed into German). Our room was on the 6th (top) floor and on the other side of the corridor, almost opposite our room, there was a large-ish shared balcony with rooftop views.

We didn't try the hotel breakfast. I'm not sure if it would have been worth that 16€. There are many cafés very close to the hotel and also three grocery stores which open around 7am and closed around 6-8pm. Be aware that all (at least those three nearby) grocery stores are closed on Sundays.

There's a free wireless Internet available at the hotel for guests. Just ask in the reception and they'll give you a coupon with username and password. The logins are valid for 72 hours and you'll need one coupon for each device. The connection was quite flaky, so don't try to look up anything in a hurry.

The hotel is located on a small alley, just two minutes walk from the Rathaus metro station. For getting around, I would recommend buying a 24h or 48h metro/bus/tram ticket from Rathaus metro station and start enjoying Vienna's great public transportation system. Every metro station has a ticket machine from which you can buy all sorts of tickets either by cash or card. You can also buy a Vienna Card (72h public transport + some discounts) from the hotel reception, but unless you check the discounts in advance and are sure it's going to be worth it, you're better of buying just normal 24/48/72h -tickets.

I saw one of the previous reviews saying that the hotel neighbourhood is "a bit suspect". That sounds a bit odd. I found the area one of the most safest feeling places I've visited for a while. Also that "sextourism brochure" was more like a warning that explained local laws etc. Though I'm not sure what it was there in the first place. During my stay in Vienna I didn't see any prostitutes, a single noisy crowd or any drunken guys/girls on the streets in the night.

Mercure Josefshof is good value for money and despite the Internet connection being annoyingly flaky, I'll give them 5 stars.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nkoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed September 12, 2012

Our last stay at the Mercure Josefshof was less-than-perfect, including a number of unfortunate glitches. To their credit, management took the issues 100% seriously and more than made it up to us. This time we had a near-perfect experience.

The lobby is small and charming, the staff professional and friendly. The room was a tad small, but charmingly adorned and decorated with contemporary flair. The dining room was lovely, the breakfast buffet excellent. The outdoor garden dining room is marvelous for warm weather stays.

The hotel is centrally located, walking distance to most important parts of town, tourist or otherwise. It is safe to walk locally even late at night. In both of our staysexperiencednced no noise whatsoever. The beds are comfortable and we slept very well.

My wife's family is from Vienna, and we expect to return to stay at this gem boutique many times in the future. First rate customer service!

Room Tip: Try a room in the new wing. Either way, they are charming and well-decorated.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BBesq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki - Finland
Level 6 Contributor
186 reviews
105 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 145 helpful votes
Reviewed September 8, 2012

I stayed for one night at the Mercure Josefshof Wien hotel.

The trip from the airport with a taxi was about 45 € (tips included), and I must say I was happy to take the taxi instead of airport train. The hotel is located on a narrow alleyway and it might have been slightly difficult to find by walking from the station.

The hotel is cozy, everyone in the staff was very helpful and kind, extremely service oriented and my room was small, homely, clean and comfortable.

The parliamant house, Mayors house and central park are within 5-10 minutes walking distance.

The hotel also serves light snacks for the late traveller and they have a comfortable small bar if you choose not to walk to the city centrum.

Breakfast (16,00 €) was good and well worth the money.

I liked the hotel, no street noises, comfortable bed, clean bathroom and friendly staff. Oh, and free wireless connection as well. Well worth the money.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Totti K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
White Rock, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
96 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed September 7, 2012

Close to transportation and walking distance to many tourist attractions. Staff very friendly and helpful. Elevator but steps to rooms which made it difficult with heavy suitcases. Room small but clean. Had small balcony with table and one chair but had difficulty with opening then closing door/window. Air conditioned but it would go off during night. No restaurant however breakfast was available but very expensive. Only had 1 cup of tea, 1 cup of coffee and 2 croissants and they charged us 16Euro - the price of a full breakfast. Lots of restaurants, pastry shops and grocery stores within 2 blocks but everything closed on Sundays so you have no choice for breakfast except the hotel. Found the hotel enjoyable until we got our bill for breakfast and then felt they really ripped us off. Would look at nearby hotels next time.

Room Tip: Inside room facing the square was very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Phyllis M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Vienna hotels
Josefstadt
Fleming's Selection Hotel Wien-City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Josefstadt
The Levante Parliament
The Levante Parliament
#139 of 361 in Vienna
861 reviews
Josefstadt
Hotel Graf Stadion
Hotel Graf Stadion
#92 of 361 in Vienna
407 reviews
Josefstadt
Hotel Rathaus Wein & Design
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Josefshof Wien am Rathaus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Josefshof Wien am Rathaus

Property: Mercure Josefshof Wien am Rathaus
Address: Josefsgasse 4-6 | 1080 Vienna, Vienna 1080, Austria
Phone Number:
Location: Austria > Vienna Region > Vienna > Josefstadt
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#14 Green Hotel in Vienna
#67 Luxury Hotel in Vienna
#93 Family Hotel in Vienna
#96 Business Hotel in Vienna
#105 Romantic Hotel in Vienna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Josefshof Wien am Rathaus 4*
Number of rooms: 164
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beautifully renovated hotel in the centre of Vienna, very close to Ringstrasse. The hotel offers 121 rooms, including 111 non smoking rooms, a breakfast room, garden terrace, bar and meeting rooms.The hotel is located in a small lane in the historic citycentre and most of the rooms face the quiet, leafy courtyard. Not far from Rathausplatz and Stephansplatz Squares, Parliament, museums, Museumsquartier cultural complex, Hofburg Castle and Mariahilferstrasse. Daily breakfast buffet served until 12 noon ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, ACCOR, Agoda, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mercure Josefshof Wien am Rathaus reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Josefshof Wien Hotel Vienna
Mercure Hotel Josefshof Wien
Mercure Hotel Vienna

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing