We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Of Europe”
Review of K+K Palais Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
K+K Palais Hotel
Ranked #37 of 359 Hotels in Vienna
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 10, 2009

A great hotel in a great location.

This boutique hotel really is amazing, my favorite of a multi-stop stay in Europe. The hotel really feels like home.

Staff is friendly and happy to help, rooms are well-appointed with free internet (which was great--they even give you a mousepad), large size and very comfortable beds.

The room has air conditioning and washcloths (which is unusual in Europe).

They have free tea out all the time. One thing I do not get is everyone raving about the breakfast, it was small, and not too good.

Location is perfect, walkable to anywhere in the city and location is safe. If you don’t like walking, there is a subway stop near the hotel as well/

I really cannot say anything bad about this place and hope to return to Vienna to stay here again. It really felt like home, I looked forward to returning every evening.

  • Stayed: February 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank PlateMan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,321)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

886 - 892 of 1,321 reviews

Reviewed March 10, 2009

Despite its central location (1st district-inner city) there was no big problem with parking. Right near hotel there are public parking spaces on the street which are free on weekend and on weekday hotel can provide special permit just for 4,6 which is a great value in Vienna city center. Good thing before long trip by car is to go to Billa supermarket which is 100 m from the hotel. We have booked directly with hotel "romance" (vouchers for drinks in hotel bar and coffee with cakes in cafe Demel in executive room with late check out) for 150 euro per double room per night. The room was clean and quite spacious with small lcd TV and quite big wardrobe. Personnel of the hotel was very kind and helpful. Breakfast was more or less sufficient but if you want a coffee better go the bar. The location is really good with most of the cental sites to be reached by foot within 20 minutes. Special warning for travellers going to the hotel on week days: right near hotel there is ongoing reconstruction of Rudolfpark which is quite noisy at the day time.

  • Stayed: March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank euine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 10, 2009

We stayed here three weeks ago, and were very happy with the hotel. We do, however, like a quiet break. This is not the hotel for you if you want a busy, bustling hotel.

The hotel was really clean, and the staff could not have done more to help - this included e-mailing and printing our boarding passes for the return flight. The breakfast was, as already said, excellent. However, the best thing for us was the location. We were there for 4 days, and we walked everywhere. Believe me, we are no fitness freaks, and a long walk for us is around the supermarket!!

Watch out for the bar prices, and the attempt to sell you doubles!

We would certainly return there again.

  • Stayed: March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank stockportsaint1985
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 6, 2009

The hotel was easy to find being just a short walk from the nearest U-bahn. The reception staff were welcoming and helpful. The rooms were cleaned daily to a high standard. Our room had a large walk in shower and underfloor heating which was great given the time of year. The room also had air conditioning - but we didn't need that!

The breakfast was fabulous - as much as you could eat. There was a great mix of healthy and continental options and you could even has a glass of something bubbly with your orange juice if you fancied. Breakfast at weekends also goes through to 12 noon. The breakfast room staff are really attentive, refilling coffe and tea and so on.

The hotel is located just a short walk away from centre and many of the main sites, Stephensdom, Palace, musems etc. It takes less than ten minutes to walk there, or just a couple of stops on the U-bahn takes you to the Rathaus area. I would highly recommend a traditional restaurant just off 'Tuchlauben' called 'Gosser Bierklinik' on 'Steindlgasse'. Don't be put off by the outside - it's great, the food is great and the staff are wonderful. It is about 5 mins from the hotel. It is closed on Sundays though.

I would also recommend the ice-skating which is outside the Rathaus each year during late Jan through to early March. If you don't fancy the skating go along and enjoy the brilliant atmosphere, the crepes and punch!

Loved the tram rides, ice-skating and the atmosphere and food at restaurant 'Gosser Bierklinik'. Less liked the amount of building work going on around the city whilst we were there.

  • Stayed: February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JulieJ71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 5, 2009

My husband and I spent three nights at the K&K Palais in late February, having previously stayed at the K&K in Budapest.
The hotel is in a really convenient location. We were able to get an 'air-coach' from the airport, to Schwedenplatz, which took 20 minutes at the most (even in snow!), and which was about 2 minutes on foot, to the hotel (it cost €6 each, if anyone's interested, and seemed to run every 30 minutes). That was a great bonus, particularly given that we didn't arrive until about 8.30 pm on a Sunday.
After checking in and leaving our bag in the hotel, we wandered out into the snow to find somewhere to eat, which was much more difficult than you'd think...
Vienna is architecturally beautiful, but the city centre lacks atmosphere, day or night, in our opinion. We spent an evening at a concert in the Musikverein; again, it was very pleasant, but if they had dimmed the lights the ambience would have been added to greatly.
On our second full day in Vienna we took a trip by train, up the alps, towards Semmering. This trip was nothing less than stunning. The views were just spectacular, particularly given the season and the weather. It was the highlight of our break.
Our hotel rate rate included breakfast, which was grand. Staff at the reception were very helpful, and even replied to my pigeon Deutsch!
Overall, the hotel was ideal, but we were, if I'm honest, disappointed by the city.

  • Stayed: February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MulberrySt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 5, 2009

So, ditto the title of this review plus the staff were very friendly and polite, the breakfast was one of the BEST we've had for a long time, the room was quiet and maybe just a little on the small size (we went for a standard twin). This is great value for money and highly recommended. Will stay again (and loved Vienna too).

Stayed: March 2009, traveled as a couple
Thank Him-and-me
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 2, 2008

The K&K Palais is an excellent hotel. Very good location -- 10 mins walk from the Stephansplatz, on a very quiet square. 5 mins walk from the Schottering U-bahn station. Breakfast is superb -- buffet style with excellent range of food, even sparkling wine! Breakfast is til 11am on weekdays and midday at the weekend which suited us well! Rooms spacious, comfortable and warm, with tea&coffee, minibar, flat screen tv and very nice bathroom. Bar serves good snacks and light meals at reasonable prices. Staff very friendly and helpful. Vienna itself is a beautiful city -- coffee houses are fabulous (try the Cafe Central for beautiful decor, excellent coffee and amazing cakes) and the christmas markets are very pretty.

  • Stayed: December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank sal99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Vienna hotels
Neubau
K+K Hotel Maria Theresia
Inner City
Mercure Vienna First
Mercure Vienna First
#39 of 359 in Vienna
493 reviews
Mariahilf
Hotel Beethoven Vienna
Hotel Beethoven Vienna
#12 of 359 in Vienna
1,421 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Inner City
Hotel Am Parkring
Hotel Am Parkring
#22 of 359 in Vienna
830 reviews
Inner City
Ruby Lissi Hotel Vienna
Ruby Lissi Hotel Vienna
#33 of 359 in Vienna
817 reviews
Wieden
Hotel Kaiserhof Wien
Hotel Kaiserhof Wien
#3 of 359 in Vienna
1,924 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to K+K Palais Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about K+K Palais Hotel

Address: Rudolfsplatz 11, Vienna 1010, Austria
Phone Number:
Location: Austria > Vienna Region > Vienna > Inner City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#29 Luxury Hotel in Vienna
#30 Family Hotel in Vienna
#32 Romantic Hotel in Vienna
#43 Business Hotel in Vienna
Price Range: $114 - $250 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — K+K Palais Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 66
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Behind an elegant old facade lies this hotel of great sophistication and modern luxury a historical building once belonging to the imperial family. As all K + K Hotels it offers state-of-the-art amenities elegantly furnished rooms and the personal service of highly trained and motivated staff. Its quiet location in the Vienna city center and its close proximity to St. Stephens Cathedral to the pedestrian area and underground stations make it particularly attractive. Free WiFi in all guest rooms and public area. Free access to the Internet Lounge (PCs, printer and international newspapers). Complimentary coffee and tea making facilities in the rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your K+K Palais Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
k Palais Hotel
Hotel k Palais

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing