We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent hotel and location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
K+K Hotel Maria Theresia
Ranked #40 of 359 Hotels in Vienna
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 6, 2014

We spend 5 wonderful nights in this hotel. The room was very comfortable for three. And breakfast was excellent, a lot of variety.
The hotel was well located and we could walk to every place.
The only inconvenient we had was the last day with the taxi we had arranged to take us to the airport. The hotel arranged one taxi for us and they were supposed to cancel the one we had arranged but they never did. So it was very uncomfortable for us. Then we realized that the hotel had a combination with a private car .....

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HappyTourist53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,433)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,040 - 1,046 of 2,435 reviews

Reviewed March 3, 2014

Spent 4 nights here as a couple. Had stayed at a Ka and K in Paris. this hotel was as good. Rooms are medium sized. Not a lot of room to walk around. King Bed, comfortable. I asked for additional pillows and they were brought up immediately. WiFI was great. Breakfast was plentiful included eggs as well as all sorts of cold cuts, cheeses, breads, juices, champagne etc. It also goes until 11 AM which is great if you sleep late. Only room complaint was that it was too hot and hard to leave window open due to street noise from a couple of bars across the street. The fitness center is too small. Only 1 elliptical, 1 bike and a broken rowing machine.
What is really great is the hotel location just steps from the Museum Quarter and from there to all other museums and town center. There is a shortcut to the museum quarter on the street behind the hotel where you can go up some stairs and be at the MUMOK. All in all def. worth staying here!

Room Tip: the higher the better
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank amalaPrinceton_Nj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 28, 2014

It really can't get much better than this for the price we paid. We booked a '4-nights pay 3' deal which came down to an average of 125 euro per night including breakfast. But we had to cut our stay short due to circumstances. The hotel still only charged us this special average price even though they could have charged the normal price.
Actually, the normal price would still have been a good deal for this hotel

Staff in all departments was very very friendly and helpful.

The room was quite big and very quiet. The bed was huge with an excellent mattress. The room was tastefully decorated with nice quality furniture. All the amenities you'll need are there. Every day complementary mineral water. Coffee and tea available. The room safe is big enough for a large SLR camera and lenses.

Breakfast was sumptuous, fresh and with lots of choice.

The location is simply great. It's in a quiet street right next to the Museum Quartier and close to many other museums. The heart of the city center is in walking distance. A subway station is around the corner.

Stayed: February 2014
3  Thank Renevdh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 28, 2014

A friend and I stayed here last week for 6 nights. Initially we had an upgraded room on the fifth floor which was beautiful, with plenty of space and a lovely view over Vienna. Unfortunately, because it was winter, the air con wasn't operational and we found the room too warm, so had to open the window and then were kept awake by the traffic noise. I doubt that this would be a problem for people who prefer a warm room, or indeed in the summer when you could put the air con on. We explained our problem to reception and immediately, we were shown another room on the sixth floor and we were able to move there and then. It was large, very quiet and cooler and we had a great night's sleep. The hotel staff were very helpful and very nice about this change. So full marks for that.

The hotel is located just round the corner to the museum quarter and Volkstheater tube station, which was really convenient for getting about in Vienna. There were also quite a few restaurants in the area, which were reasonably priced.

the hotel does not have a restaurant for evening meals but you can sit in the bar/lounge area and have light meals, which I noticed a number of people doing and the food looked good. The breakfast is delicious. A wide range of fruit, drinks (even bubbly), bread and pastries, hot food, cereal, cold meats, cheese, smoked salmon, yoghurts, etc. The breakfast restaurant is welcoming and comfortable and the staff were very attentive and really on the ball when it came to looking after the guests.

I would have no hesitation in recommending this hotel to other people because of its location, modern and clean decor, excellent breakfasts, but above all, the very helpful staff.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank margaret50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 27, 2014

We booked the K&K Hotel Maria Theresia in Vienna as part of a short break (3 nights) for our family , 2 adults & 2 teenagers . It looked nice on the website & the location is really convenient, near the Volkstheater underground station , right in the centre, within walking distance of the Museum Quarter & Spanish Riding school. The rooms were lovely and there was a connecting door which they unlocked for us. They give complimentary mineral water and tea & coffee making facilities in the rooms , which is unusual in Austria and was extremely welcome. The range of toiletries was excellent quality & much more comprehensive than usual, even lip salve & hand cream were included. Breakfast , (served up to 11 am ) was fantastic, with the buffet including everything from fruit salad, sliced fruits, cooked dishes like scrambled egg ( or eggs done any way to order) , mushrooms, bacon, sausages, tomatoes , to every imaginable cheese and cold meats, olives, pickles, smoked salmon, a comprehensive selection of breads , pastries, cereals, juices & even Sekt. Drinks were served by the waiting staff - the hot chocolate was the best ever according to my kids and refills came promptly. Staff were courteous and helpful. We only wished we could have stayed longer. Definitely the best hotel we have stayed in for a long time and excellent value for money. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank msfamily2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2014

We had a wonderful stay at this hotel; Everyone were nice and helpful, The breakfast was rich and tasty, and the location is excellent. As to the room: the room was perfectly clean at all times, warm (at one point a little TOO warm), and the bed was comfortable. Only thing we had trouble with was the bathroom door that didn't close (can get awkward if you're staying with family).

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank maoraustin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 24, 2014 via mobile

My wife and I enjoyed our stay at this hotel.

Reception is friendly and following check-in, we were handed a pre- prepared pack of information which included a city map.

It was my wife's birthday so they gave us a bottle of sparkling wine, which was a nice gesture even though it was delivered one day too early. The next day when we went to breakfast, the server knew it was my wife's birthday and she said happy birthday to her, which was nice.

Rooms are spacious and the toiletries are replaced in full everyday. There is a show polishing machine on every floor.

There is a Samsung tablet in the room so you can surf the internet and check out the pre-loaded sites/ information about the hotel, city etc.

Wifi is free in rooms.

The breakfast bar is currently closed so breakfast was served in the business suites. The breakfast is fantastic. Good selection of fruits, bread, cereals, teas, cold meat and cheeses. There is hot food too- sausages, frankfurters, bacon and scrambled eggs - we saw people eating boiled eggs so that is accommodated as well. As for coffee, as well the the regular type, there is Nespresso as well , which you can get in the smaller of the makeshift breakfast rooms. Another great thing about the breakfast is that it is served between 7 and 11 am, which is lot later than most, if not all of the hotels that we have visited.

Location wise - it is not bang right in the city centre but we think that it is it is central and convenient enough - it is a couple of minutes from a few of the top attractions - Museumsquartier, Kuntorhistoriches museum and Hofburg Palace. As our room was on the top floor facing the back, we were able to see all these buildings from our room including Michaelas Gate, Karlskirche, Rathaushaus and Michaelas Gate - brilliant view.

The negatives - The TV is a bit small and the internet is slow in certain parts of the room. Reception was best in the toilets.

The fitness area is very small and not very well equipped but it is very clean and the sauna is good

All in all, a great hotel.

Our tips for what its worth:

If you are taking the CAT to Lanstrasse/ Wien Mitte (then underground to the hotel) there are two ticket machines en route to the trains if there is a long queue at the CAT desk next to the Tourist Information desk, as there is only one machine there. The other option is to buy the tickets when you are waiting for your luggage - there are few machines in that area.

We took the line U3 to Volkstheater. Its useful to head towards the right exit - Burgasse, as we noticed a couple of days afterwards that one exit is some 200 metres or so away.

Return trip from Vienna airport to the UK. We left via Departure Gates 'B,C,D'. There are no security checks straight after this point as the checks come right at the end, just before you board. This means that you can take drinks in at that point. Therefore, no need to drink/ throw all your drinks away. There are very few coffee shops inside, no water fountain and a small bottle of water costs around Eur1.90, so better off grabbing a couple a few drinks at Spar (ground floor) or Billa (first floor) - its cheaper and there are greater choices.

If you are thinking of buying souvenirs, we found the shops on the Babenberger Strasse and ones offering the best value compared to the ones in the centre i.e. Kartnerstrasse

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LKCLPJJB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Vienna hotels
Neubau
25hours Hotel at MuseumsQuartier
Inner City
K+K Palais Hotel
K+K Palais Hotel
#37 of 359 in Vienna
1,271 reviews
Mariahilf
Hotel Das Tyrol
Hotel Das Tyrol
#2 of 359 in Vienna
1,493 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mariahilf
Hotel Beethoven Vienna
Hotel Beethoven Vienna
#12 of 359 in Vienna
1,378 reviews
Wieden
Best Western Premier Kaiserhof Wien
Landstraße
Austria Trend Hotel Savoyen Vienna
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to K+K Hotel Maria Theresia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about K+K Hotel Maria Theresia

Address: Kirchberggasse 6-8, Vienna 1070, Austria
Phone Number:
Location: Austria > Vienna Region > Vienna > Neubau
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 Business Hotel in Vienna
#21 Family Hotel in Vienna
#23 Romantic Hotel in Vienna
#33 Luxury Hotel in Vienna
Price Range: $102 - $269 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — K+K Hotel Maria Theresia 4*
Number of rooms: 132
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the Bohemian district of Spittelberg – directly in the centre of Vienna and yet still a quiet location – you will find the urbane and intimate K+K Hotel Maria Theresia. Distinguished ambiance, individual service and Austrian hospitality set our luxury hotel in Vienna apart. The exquisite living quarters as well as the fresh and modern atmosphere make your stay at the Vienna K+K Hotel Maria Theresia especially enjoyable. Free WiFi in all guest rooms and public area. Free access to the Internet Lounge (PCs, printer and international newspapers). Free access to the Wellness Area with gym and sauna. Complimentary coffee and tea making facilities in the rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your K+K Hotel Maria Theresia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
k Hotel Maria Theresia
k Hotel Vienna

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing