We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice and quiet hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
K+K Hotel Maria Theresia
Ranked #42 of 361 Hotels in Vienna
Certificate of Excellence
Barcelona, Spain
Level Contributor
90 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
“Nice and quiet hotel”
Reviewed January 1, 2013

We stayed a week in this hotel and we really enjoyed. It is set very close to the tourist area, so it is really easy to move on foot around the city center.

The hotel is very quiet with comfortable and good soundproof rooms (by the way, I recommend to request a 6th floor room, the views are fabulous). Pillows are pretty unconfortable but at the end we got used to them.

Breakfast is good enough and their staff really kind specially Erika.

In general, the hotel's staff is quite nice and professional (although they don't use to smile at the very biginning).

Room Tip: A 6th floor room (penhouse)
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sitges2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,250 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,316
    790
    119
    18
    7
See reviews for
478
1,076
103
228
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (279)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Walnut Creek, California
Level Contributor
90 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 142 helpful votes
Reviewed December 31, 2012 via mobile

Great location, great breakfast, free Wi Fi, all are pluses of this hotel. Negatives, our room was small and rather austere even by European standards but others may be larger, good sized bathroom and did have a nice desk with tons of outlets, well thought out. Many hotels in Europe have almost no outlets that don't already have a light plugged in. We had the street view,if you opened the window there was quite a bit of noise from normal city street ,early morning garbage collection etc. Ask for a room at the back if you have a choice.The staff were very professional but variable in how friendly they were. It took a lot of questioning just to get information about the train station, likewise restaurants took a little persistence. Overall very good but feels like a business hotel.

Stayed December 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank toffeenose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
54 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed December 29, 2012

I was very disappointed by the K+K Hotel maria Theresia. I was so excited, based on reading the reviews, but I just found it a pretty sub par hotel. We arrived an hour before check in, but our room wasn't ready yet, which is completely understandable, so we left and returned at the correct time, only to be told that our room still wasn't ready. Not ideal, but we were OK, so sat in the lobby and waited for them to tell us when the room was ready. We waited for well over an hour, during which time new guests arrived, went straight up to the desk and were immediately shown to their room. Eventually we realised that they were never coming over, so went up to the desk and found our room was ready, they just hadn't bothered to tell us despite being directly in their eye line the entire time. Then we got to our room. It was tiny. Had one of the worst views I've ever seen (directly into another hotel room about 10 metres opposite.) The television (whilst of course not the point of the holiday) was incredibly small. We could see on the floorplan on our door that ours was the smallest room on the floor. Given that we weren't paying a discount price and could have gone to several other hotels for less with similar ratings, I felt this was really unfair. They had mentioned that they were fully booked, but I just feel that when you're booking a hotel you shouldn't have to cross your fingers that you don't get a significantly smaller room than everyone else staying there. Added to this, we'd stayed in a Holiday Inn at the airport the night before we arrived and our room there was complete luxury compared to the K+K. We also did not find the staff polite or friendly. In fact, when we checked out the receptionist looked at us like we'd asked her if I could use her dress as toilet paper. On the other hand, the breakfast was pretty good and the location was very convenient. I would return to Vienna in an instant, but I would not return to this hotel.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nomnom39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KKHotelMariaTheresia, Manager at K+K Hotel Maria Theresia, responded to this review, January 2, 2013
Dear Guests,
I am very sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your stay with us. I wish to extend my sincere apologies for failing to fulfil your expectations, for the delay and for the receptionists’ behaviour.
As you will appreciate, the period just prior to New Year’s Eve is an extremely busy time for hotels in Vienna, and we also have to allocate the smaller double rooms (approx. 17 m²) which under normal circumstances we generally allocate to our corporate guests for single occupancy. It is a pity that you did not tell that the room did not suit you, as I know reception staff would have made every effort to find another for you.
Thank you for taking the time to let me have your valuable feed-back and you may be assured that the issues in your e-mail will be addressed at the next head of department meeting to avoid any repetition.
I very much hope you will give us another chance to show you that we at K+K hotels truly offer quality and service. To this end please contact me personally when you are next planning to come to Vienna again.

Gabriele Volsansky / General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Little Rock, Arkansas
Level Contributor
37 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed December 28, 2012

I stayed at the K+K Hotel Maria Theresia while in Vienna in early December while on vacation for sightseeing and for visiting the Christmas markets. It was the perfect location near most major tourist attractions and near several of the markets. The hotel is located on a quiet street just around the corner from the Museum Quarter. We stayed in room 624 which had an amazing view that looked toward Old Town Vienna. The room was a decent size with a comfortable bed and pillows. There was also an excellent breakfast buffet each morning including hot items, croissants, fruit, cheeses and champagne. I would definitely recommend this hotel and would stay there again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MegTollett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sofia, Grad Sofiya, Bulgaria
Level Contributor
32 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed December 27, 2012

The hotel is very well located. All major sites in the center of the city are within a 15 minutes walk. There are a lot of nice restaurants nearby. The famous city Christmas markets are all around. The hotel offers excellent conditions, staff is polite and service is impecable. We enjoyed our stay there very much.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stoil A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Hague, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
117 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed December 25, 2012

We, our family of 3 adults and 2 children, stayed 3 nights in this hotel in the trendy area of Spittelberg, a minute walk from the Museum's Quartier. The hotel has a good location: in the middle of Spittelberg with many nice restaurants and a few steps from the Christmas market of Spittelberg, which is more traditional and less touristy than the other markets like Rathaus. Access to the U-Bahn is a 5 minute walk to Volkstheater station. Main tourist attractions like Rathaus and Hofburg are within walking distance, or just 1 or 2 stops by U-Bahn. Other attractions can be easily reached by U-bahn or tramway.

We were impressed by the friendly welcome of the reception, who were always ready to assist with directions and advice. Rooms are not too spacious, but big enough, and clean and functional. Breakfast is excellent, with a wide variety of breads, hams, cheeses, fruits and juices, as well as a sparkling wine.

Would highly recommend this hotel for a city trip to Vienna.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank morevish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed December 20, 2012

This hotel, which is hidden away in a quiet street, is an ideal location just two streets down from the Spittelsberg market. In fact it is not far from a whole host of Christmas markets and wonderful sightseeing tourist locations. The markets are lovely and traditional which makes the festive spirit even better.
The hotel has a plain style but it is clean and tidy. The staff are helpful and friendly which adds a special touch - they even made sure I had some (unimportant) items I left on the lounge table the night before returned to me before I left the following morning, which I was really impressed with.
For breakfast there is an excellent choice of food to suit all nationalities, with more cheese and cold meat than I've ever seen before, but don't worry there is delicious hot food too.
I highly recommend choosing this hotel for your next Christmas break...just don't expect tacky and commercial that's definitely not the Austrian way. :-)

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AberdeenMum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Vienna hotels
Inner City
K+K Palais Hotel
K+K Palais Hotel
#41 of 361 in Vienna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,162 reviews
Mariahilf
Small Luxury Hotel Das Tyrol
Neubau
25hours Hotel at MuseumsQuartier
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Neubau
Hotel Viennart am Museumsquartier
Neubau
Hotel Altstadt Vienna
Hotel Altstadt Vienna
#9 of 361 in Vienna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,100 reviews
Josefstadt
Hotel Rathaus Wein & Design
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to K+K Hotel Maria Theresia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about K+K Hotel Maria Theresia

Property: K+K Hotel Maria Theresia
Address: Kirchberggasse 6-8, Vienna 1070, Austria
Phone Number:
Location: Austria > Vienna Region > Vienna > Neubau
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 Business Hotel in Vienna
#21 Family Hotel in Vienna
#23 Romantic Hotel in Vienna
#36 Luxury Hotel in Vienna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — K+K Hotel Maria Theresia 4*
Number of rooms: 123
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the Bohemian district of Spittelberg – directly in the centre of Vienna and yet still a quiet location – you will find the urbane and intimate K+K Hotel Maria Theresia. Distinguished ambiance, individual service and Austrian hospitality set our luxury hotel in Vienna apart. The exquisite living quarters as well as the fresh and modern atmosphere make your stay at the Vienna K+K Hotel Maria Theresia especially enjoyable. Free WiFi in all guest rooms and public area. Free access to the Internet Lounge (PCs, printer and international newspapers). Free access to the Wellness Area with gym and sauna. Complimentary coffee and tea making facilities in the rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your K+K Hotel Maria Theresia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
k Hotel Maria Theresia
k Hotel Vienna

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing