We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Definately not a 4 start”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
IntercityHotel Vienna
Ranked #167 of 361 Hotels in Vienna
GreenLeadersGold level
Singapore, Singapore
Level 6 Contributor
306 reviews
88 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
“Definately not a 4 start”
Reviewed October 22, 2012

We stayed here for two nights over a weekend. The hotel is close to public transport which is a bonus and the travel card is very handy - so two ticks there.

Unfortunately the room we had was quite uncomfortable as it stank of cigarette - we were not given an option at booking to select a non-smoking room. We were fortunate however to be able to sleep with the windows open the second night, which made things a lot more pleasant.

Note there is no air conditioning - so don't stay in summer!

There is no wireless internet at all - not even to purchase, but fortunately cafes near by offer free wireless.

The room was clean and quite large. Beds were comfortable. Very very basic facilities, hence why I am surprised this is a four star hotel.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PetaMay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

598 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    141
    279
    116
    46
    16
See reviews for
84
252
53
90
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Zagreb, Croatia
Level 6 Contributor
34 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed October 13, 2012

I was here twice in a very short time. The first time the room was spotless, but the second time not. The curtains were dusty, I've found hair in the bathroom and the shower was mouldy. Both time receptionists were a bit confused and slow. Breakfast was very good. They give a free city ticket and we found it very useful. Hotel has no parking facility.

Room Tip: Rooms looking on a courtyard are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Zrinka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed October 6, 2012

Spent one night here in September for work. The hotel was functional, good bed, OK shower (no bath) and friendly staff, one of whom really saved my life and helped me print off a load of work documents early on the second day I was there (thanks!!). All in all, a good no-frills hotel.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KaguraCato
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coral Gables, Florida, United States
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed October 1, 2012

The first sign we got that this was not a good hotel was the greeting by rude and obnoxious front desk staff. Inexperienced, young with no knowledge of the city, of transportation and basically they don't have an answer to any standard questions.... Nor are they willing to help. Horrible service.


The room is very basic which you could find at any 2-3 star hotel.


Thank god we went now in sep with cool weather since there is NO A/C and there is only a little fan inside the closet.

The bathroom shower is very small but what is unacceptable is that the slidding doors to the shower Broke and they fell down and nobody at the hotel was willing to fix it.

The location is next to a U train station which is convenient however expect ti be waken up at 7am loud bells coming probably from a closed church.

Internet joy it included which is ridiculous considering the hotel is totally overprice!

In conclusion we will, never come
Back to this or any other intercity hotel!

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alejandra T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brest, France
Level 6 Contributor
355 reviews
141 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 153 helpful votes
Reviewed September 28, 2012 via mobile

This hotel is well located in front of westbhan station.
Room are clean but small. Breackfast is really good and staff is just ok no more. I really didn't have a very good feeling so I probably won't go again.

Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank schuminou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aarhus, Denmark
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed September 25, 2012 via mobile

I am surprised This hotel is rated as being 4-Star. Its a very average hotel for family/couples but not for business. Internet is not included 4€/h which is really not understandable in 2012. Nice with free ticket to transportation but all together a disappointment

Helpful?
Thank Jfamme
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed September 25, 2012

The hotel was one of the best I heve ever stayed in. Got upgraded to an apartment, to start with.
Good prices, breakfast delicious, close to everything. Free luggage storage. Lifts. No problems at all!

Strongly reccommend!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alexandra2442
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Vienna hotels
Mariahilf
Hotel ibis Wien Mariahilf
Landstraße
NH Wien Belvedere
NH Wien Belvedere
#101 of 361 in Vienna
1,285 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Neubau
Arcotel Wimberger Hotel
Arcotel Wimberger Hotel
#161 of 361 in Vienna
785 reviews
Neubau
Ruby Marie Hotel Vienna
Ruby Marie Hotel Vienna
#22 of 361 in Vienna
1,080 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to IntercityHotel Vienna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about IntercityHotel Vienna

Property: IntercityHotel Vienna
Address: Mariahilfer Strasse 122, Vienna 1070, Austria
Phone Number:
Location: Austria > Vienna Region > Vienna > Neubau
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#10 Green Hotel in Vienna
#120 Luxury Hotel in Vienna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — IntercityHotel Vienna 4*
Number of rooms: 179
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The InterCityHotel Vienna is located in the lively shopping area of the Mariahilfer Strasse, near the West Station. Whether you wish to visit St. Stephan's Cathedral, Schonbrunn Palace or the Prater, you can quickly and comfortably reach all of these destinations by local public transport which you are allowed to use for the whole of the area of the city with the FreeCityTicket which is already included in the price of your room. Destinations somewhat further away, such as Vienna Airport, can be reached quickly and effortlessly via the motorway junction only 5 km from the hotel. The 179 spacious, well-furnished, sound-proofed rooms together with a pleasant, modern atmosphere and professional service combine to make your city trip to Vienna an unforgettable experience. The InterCityHotel in the centre of Vienna is also the ideal partner for the business guest. Six rooms for conferences and events catering for up to 100 guests leave nothing to be desired and make your business stay at our hotel both pleasant and comfortable. For all InterCityHotels concerned the usage of the WLAN is free of charge up to 256 KB/s. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your IntercityHotel Vienna reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercityhotel Hotel Vienna
Vienna Intercityhotel Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing