We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bathtub out of order...”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Boutique Hotel Donauwalzer
Ranked #70 of 361 Hotels in Vienna
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed February 27, 2012

When we came to the hotel, we found NO parking, and finally we got a parking 500m away in the street. The Bathtub did not work, and after telling the staff, we got another room. Even better than we have apyed for. We experienced only good thing with the staff, and the continental breakfast was fine...
We stayed for 6 nights, and it wa good value for the money...

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jan k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (945)
There are newer reviews for Boutique Hotel Donauwalzer
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

321 - 327 of 945 reviews

Reviewed February 16, 2012

The staff was very nice, spoke English and helped me with my German. The breakfast was very good, eggs, cold cuts, etc., coffee was superb! The rooms are kinda small, but they are stylish and clean. A solid 3.5-star place. Not super close to Inner town, but I enjoyed the walk. However, the street tram #44 stops right in front of the hotel and will get you downtown in 5 minutes.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank efinger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 6, 2012

Some hotels are so international that if you wake up geographically disoriented, you have to go outside to work out which country you are in. The Donauwalzer is not one of these hotels. From the name on, everything tells you that you are in Vienna: the building itself (constructed in 1901 as a wedding gift), the decor with its hints of Josef Hoffmann, the Egon Schiele in your room, the sparkling wine with breakfast, and of course the Strauss playing in the background. Then there are the staff, with their traditional Viennese politeness and charm that make everyone else feel like yokels. The hotel's slogan is "3 Sterne Hotel mit 4 Sterne Service und 5 Sterne Charme," which pretty much sums it up.

Room Tip: If visiting in the summer, try to get a room on the park side rather than the street side. In winter...
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Solri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 5, 2012

The hotel reception staff were very welcoming and helpful and the hotel room was very clean and comfortable. The breakfast was good and location to Vienna city centre was okay,but it is best to use the metro as it saves you a 40 minute walk each way. I enjoyed my stay in the hotel Donauwalzer and Vienna very much and would recommend it to anybody visiting Vienna.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ROMANCHESTER
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 23, 2012

Having just got back from Vienna, the stay at the hotel in Jan 2012, overall, was fine.


The parkside rooms are quieter, but at a cost of €10 extra per day, we decided on going for the "normal" rooms as it was so cold, that the windows weren't going to be open anyway, so problem of noise wasn't going to be a problem. But, if it were warm/hot, having open windows would mean traffic noise from the roads next to the hotel.

Cleanliness of hotel was second to none, room got cleaned everyday and reception area is very modern. The decor of the rooms themselves is a bit dated, but seeing as we were out all day and didn't spend any time there, didn't really bother us. The hotel/room are undergoing modernisation (there was a notice apologising for noise from works), so I guess in time all rooms will come up to scratch.

Service from Mr miller was awesome, made us feel very welcome an helped us book tickets for holiday on ice. I think it's around until 29th Jan 2012, if you get a chance, definitely well worth seeing at the Weiner stadthalle - only two stops away.

Breakfast was included in our room charge, and was very nice. There was a very good variety of foods to eat, all fresh. Timing was good.

The hotel has wifi that you pay for, either an hour, 24 or 48 hours. To be honest, most areas have free wifi (ESP. Mcdonalds!!!!)

Be aware that the iron is only available from 8am to 4pm - restricted access due to a fire in the past!!

Transport links are very good. There is the Metro service from just down the road, and getting into centre of Vienna only takes about 15 mins with one change.

  • Stayed: January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NK54MSS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 10, 2012

From the beginning to the end was everything perfect, very helpfull and competent staff on the reception, free WLAN on the bar,the room was clean and quiet the hotel was very near to the public transportation an walking distance to the center of the city. In the morning the breacfast was very very tastefull. Completly satisfied.......

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mitevski G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 5, 2012

We spent four nights at the Donauwalzer in Vienna and enjoyed it a lot. The hotel is located just one block from the subway and at the famous "Gürtel" (where a large amount of the nightlife of vienna takes place).

Receptionists are exceptionally friendly and the breakfast buffet is rich. The lobby and eating area are newly renovated - as opposed to the rooms. They were perfectly clean altough a bit run down. Still, you get a good sleep and for the price you pay you wouldn't expect much more of the rooms.

Because its location at the Gürtel, the surrounding area is not as nice as if you would stay closer to the center (bars and clubs including stripclubs etc.).

The subway line does not directly go to the city center and you may have to change, however, you can take the tram right in front of the hotel to get to the center within a few minutes.

If you are looking for a reasonable stay in vienna and if you do not mind taking a public transportation, I would definitely recommend the hotel and will consider staying there again in the future.

Room Tip: Also consider taking the tram and not only the subway...
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nubuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Vienna hotels
Hotel Lucia
#48 of 361 in Vienna
614 reviews
Leopoldstadt
MEININGER Hotel Wien Downtown Franz
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Dobling
Ibis Styles Wien City
Ibis Styles Wien City
#55 of 361 in Vienna
952 reviews
Leopoldstadt
MEININGER Hotel Wien Downtown Sissi
Leopoldstadt
ibis budget Wien Messe
ibis budget Wien Messe
#156 of 361 in Vienna
1,634 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Boutique Hotel Donauwalzer? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Boutique Hotel Donauwalzer

Address: Ottakringer Strasse 5, Vienna 1170, Austria
Location: Austria > Vienna Region > Vienna > Ottakring
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Green Hotel in Vienna
#14 Spa Hotel in Vienna
#18 Best Value Hotel in Vienna
#73 Business Hotel in Vienna
#90 Romantic Hotel in Vienna
Price Range: $42 - $183 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Boutique Hotel Donauwalzer 3*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our family run establishment is only 5 minutes away from the Ringstrasse and lies directly on the metro line U6. The hotel is famous first of all for its excellent service and very rich hot and cold breakfast. The General Hospital and numerous private hospitals, the Viennese Brunnen and Yppen street markets, the Freud museum, Volksoper, Votivchurch, City hall or Palace Gschwandner are also in the walking distance. Because of a good location near the metro line U6 all the places of interest - from Grinzing to Schonbrunn - are easy to reach. The rooms are equipped with minibar, hair dryer, writing case, alarm clock, WiFi, sat-TV, radio, soundproof windows, phone... Classical live music on Sunday breakfast, leafy courtyard, 24 hours open bar with Viennese wines, private SPA or a Nespresso machine in your room are only few of the many extra services we offer, which explain our slogan "3 stars hotel with 4 stars service and 5 stars charm". Our hotel was built in 1901 as a wedding gift and offers for more than 111 years lived hospitality and Viennese tradition, also marked in the successful architectural symbiosis of Art Nouveau with modern elements. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Booking.com, ACCOR, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Boutique Hotel Donauwalzer reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Donauwalzer Hotel Vienna

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing