We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Old fashioned stylishness for frugal traveler”
Review of Altwienerhof

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Altwienerhof
Ranked #148 of 361 Hotels in Vienna
Certificate of Excellence
Helsinki, Finland
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Old fashioned stylishness for frugal traveler”
Reviewed July 29, 2012

The hotel provided what its name suggests. The decoration and furniture were old fashioned and stylish. The hotel seemed to be run by a family, which gave it an extra friendly touch. We were very warmly welcomed. Breakfast was good. As someone already noted here, they are very eager to fill you with information about Austrian wines.

The hotel is outside the Gürtel which means that travel to city centre will take some time even if there are metro and bus stops near by. The wireless did not work in the rooms. In any case, the hotel provided really good value for money.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TeppoTulppu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

455 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    190
    193
    55
    10
    7
See reviews for
86
237
24
19
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
nova milanese
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed July 26, 2012

Good location, very close to the tube, large rooms, tidy and nice. Great staff! If you have to spend a weekend in wien this hotel is perfect! And the prices are very good too!!!!We spent a very nice time there!

  • Stayed September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank valeriagrancini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed July 18, 2012

Hotels in the Inner Ring are very expensive so we chose the Altwienerhof, located in the city's 15th district, as a more modest alternative, knowing that Vienna's excellent transport system would quickly get us anywhere we wanted in the centre.

It was a great surprise when we first entered the hotel, it being much better than I expected. It's a two-minute walk from a Metro stop and the lobby is very bright and airy. Our room on the second floor (a deluxe double for Euro 77/night including breakfast) was absolutely enormous, more like a suite. There was a living room with sofa and table, then the bedroom with air-conditioning and cable TV, and the huge bathroom had both a shower stall and a large bathtub. We had a view from the window down to the pretty garden where breakfast is served in good weather (unfortunately it was rainy and grey all three nights we stayed and breakfast was served indoors).

Breakfast was very good, with juices, yoghurt, cereals, excellent coffee, boiled eggs, yummy fresh breads, jams and fruit. The front desk was very helpful with maps and directions, and they were kind enough to give us a late check-out as our flight wasn't until the evening.

The transport system is really fantastic and so we could get to all sights in the Ring in about 15 minutes or so. Buy a 72-hour or weekly pass (Euro 14) which is great value and can be used for the metro, trams and buses. We liked the Altwienerhof very much and think it should be ranked much higher, though if you want to stay only in the centre this is not your place.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MichaelGTelAviv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
215 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed July 10, 2012

staff were very friendly, helpful and a great source of tourist information. our Suite was very large and extremely comfortable. the breakfast was good. lovely communal courtyard to eat breakfast in and generally relax at any time. extremely close to train station.
10-15 minute walk to main shopping strip (Mariahilfer Strasse)

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jetsetters000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed July 2, 2012

Absolutely everything about our two nights in this hotel was wonderful. We were greeted by the owner who offered us a glass of wine after our long day. The long day turned into a long night when we met another guest in the comfortable lobby and chatted with him and the owner late into the evening. When we all grudgingly went back to our rooms, the bed was so comfortable and the decor so beautiful... we really felt spoiled.
Breakfast was lovely and the morning front-desk worker was very friendly (and spoke excellent English, along with the rest of the staff), helping us to navigate our way through what to do in such a short time in Vienna. We followed her and the owner's recommendations and had a great time. That evening the owner showed us his beautiful wine cellar before we collapsed happily into our comfortable bed.
We had to leave very early in the morning, and the owner arranged (without our request) to have breakfast ready for us at 5. This was truly unexpected and we were very grateful.
Overall, we had a wonderful stay and hope to go back someday. When we someday return to Vienna, this will be the only hotel we'll stay at.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mo000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed June 25, 2012

We stayed in the Altwienerhof Hotel after cycling the Danube Cycleway from Passau to Budapest. Panos, the owner of the hotel, is passionate about Vienna and about Austrian wines. He welcomed us to the hotel with a glass of Austrian wine and an overview of things we might like to see in Vienna. His staff was always willing to help with plans or directions. Our room was charming with its chintz furniture and lovely view over the garden. The breakfast buffet was well done; the rooms clean; and the welcome superb. A great choice for a visit to Vienna.

Room Tip: We asked for a room overlooking the courtyard and woke each morning to the sound of birds.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Leona B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
São Paulo, São Paulo, Brazil
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed June 24, 2012

The staff is very friendly, always helping us with tourism information. Very good location, near the metro station. Great breakfast. Excellent cost benefit. The hotel is not so modern, but it a good hotel.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JulianaSR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Vienna hotels
Ottakring
Boutique Hotel Donauwalzer
Margareten
The Art Hotel Vienna
The Art Hotel Vienna
#161 of 361 in Vienna
368 reviews
Neubau
Hotel Kugel
Hotel Kugel
#104 of 361 in Vienna
400 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Lucia
#49 of 361 in Vienna
599 reviews
Mariahilf
Austria Trend Hotel Anatol Wien
Leopoldstadt
Hotel KUNSThof
Hotel KUNSThof
#155 of 361 in Vienna
400 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Altwienerhof? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Altwienerhof

Property: Altwienerhof
Address: Herklotzgasse 6, Vienna 1150, Austria
Location: Austria > Vienna Region > Vienna
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#50 Business Hotel in Vienna
#56 Romantic Hotel in Vienna
#60 Family Hotel in Vienna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Altwienerhof 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Agoda and Evoline ltd so you can book your Altwienerhof reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Altwienerhof Hotel Vienna
Altwienerhof Vienna

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing