We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Expedia.com
$81
View deal
Free cancellation until 11/04/21
Booking.com
$80
View deal
Free cancellation until 11/03/21
ZenHotels.com
$75
View deal
Hotels.com$81
Priceline$77
travelup.com$97
View all 16 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,311)
Filter reviews
1,311 results
Traveler rating
273
569
309
102
58
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
273
569
309
102
58
See what travelers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
427 - 432 of 1,311 reviews
Reviewed October 31, 2012

Date of stay: October 2012
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
cseibert, Geschäftsführer at Hotel Mercure Wien Westbahnhof, responded to this reviewResponded November 4, 2012

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed October 26, 2012

The hotel is very near to westbanhof station, which has train , metro & tram facilities all around. Its near the main shopping area in Vienna. Its 5 mins walk from the main shopping street. The hotel itself is small, neat with nice slightly small rooms.
Dinner at the restaraunt was delicious, I recommend the escalope. Breakfast is not fancy but enough.

Date of stay: October 2012
  • Trip type: Traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Daebes
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cseibert, Geschäftsführer at Hotel Mercure Wien Westbahnhof, responded to this reviewResponded November 4, 2012

Dear guest,

thank you very much for taking the time to describe your impressions regarding your stay at our hotel. We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay with us. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback.

We will share your comments with the entire team. Your feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one.

Sincerely,
Christoff Seibert & team
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 12, 2012

This hotel has a good location, one block from the Metro and the Westbanhoff train station.
The lobby looks very nice, but our room was a dump: old, dirty, with heavily stained carpets (see photos). The hotel lobby is 4 star, but our room looked more like a hostel. It was expensive (USD $204.63 per day) , and did not include breakfast. Good wifi.
I can understand the hotel is being renovated, but they should at least lower prices of the old rooms. There is some noise coming from the street since there are some bars nearby.
Not recommended unles you get one of the refurbished rooms.

Room tip: Ask for one of the refurbished rooms.
Date of stay: September 2012
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Roberto R
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cseibert, Geschäftsführer at Hotel Mercure Wien Westbahnhof, responded to this reviewResponded October 16, 2012

Dear guest,

thank you very much for taking the time to describe your impressions regarding your stay in our hotel. First of all, we would like to apologise for the inconveniences described!

We have already 170 rooms renovated, these can be booked as "classic" or "superior" category in the internet. During your stay, few of these rooms have been available, so that we could change your room to feel more comfortable.

Our plans are to renovate the last 82 room in 2013, so that all carpets will be new.
The rate during your stay was so high, because of a hudge congress in Vienna.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be more pleasant as the previous one.

Sincerely,
Christoff Seibert
General Manager
Hotel Mercure Wien Westbahnhof

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2012

If you are using the Westbahnhof for train travel this hotel is convenient, and it is a straight 25 miutes walk gently downhill to Vienna's central Ring area. Also on main tram routes. But for most international train travellers a location closer to Wien Meidling (while the Hbf is being rebuilt - September 2012) would be better. Internally, the claimed **** gloss of the foyer did not extend to our 3rd floor room, which was cramped, not non-smoking, and overlooked a busy street. On a warm day and without effective airconditioning we had to keep the window open, so traffic noise was a problem almost all night. The decor was tired, even grubby in places. The absence of an in-room coffee and tea-making tray takes it below industry standard for this type of hotel, and if holidayimg in Vienna you should be able to do better elsewhere. Beware also of large tour parties or conference delegates if you want a fast early breakfast and checkout, though the desk staff were efficient in pre-booking an early taxi. Overall - underwhelmed.

Room tip: Ask for a non-smokng room that does not overlook a main street.
Date of stay: September 2012
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Wiltshireman62
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cseibert, Geschäftsführer at Hotel Mercure Wien Westbahnhof, responded to this reviewResponded October 16, 2012

Dear guest,

thank you very much for taking the time to describe your impressions regarding your stay in our hotel.
First of all, we would like to apologise for the inconveniences described!

We have already 170 rooms renovated and equipped with air condition, these can be booked as "classic" or"superior" category in the internet. In the "superior rooms" we also offer tea and coffee facilities. During your stay, few of these rooms have been available, so that we could change your room to feel more comfortable.

Our plans are to renovate the last 82 room in 2013, so that all carpets will be new.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be more pleasant as the previous one.

Sincerely,
Christoff Seibert
General Manager
Hotel Mercure Wien Westbahnhof

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 28, 2012

At the time of our stay, the hotel was busy with a lot of tour groups and several conferences in their function rooms. The breakfast room is not easy to walk around in, as it is packed with tables and guests. The breakfast offerings are generous. It is a buffet, and by the time one finishes he'd feel very full.

A took a while before the receptiion counter staff Arnold was able to assign us to our two twin rooms. Because of the heavy bookings at that time, he said that had we arrived later that night (i.e. later than 9:30pm), we might have been sent to another Mercure hotel. He checked us in efficiently.

In the rooms, when you switch on the TV you'd see a welcome note on the screen with your name on it. That's interesting! It's my first time to see anything like that.

The beds and linen are comfortable. The bathroom too is clean and has amenities. The size of the room is quite average.

The advantage of this hotel is its proximity to the Westbahnhof. Just cross Felberstrasse outside the hotel door and you'd be entering the train station on its side, nearest the platforms.

For the price of the hotel, value is satisfactory.

Date of stay: September 2012
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank R N
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cseibert, Geschäftsführer at Hotel Mercure Wien Westbahnhof, responded to this reviewResponded October 16, 2012

Dear guest,

we very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Mercure Wien Westbahnhof. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback.

I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one.

Sincerely,
Christoff Seibert
General Manager
Hotel Mercure Wien Westbahnhof

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews