We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Veyr good value.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Viennart am Museumsquartier
Ranked #141 of 361 Hotels in Vienna
Certificate of Excellence
Ottawa, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Veyr good value.”
Reviewed November 2, 2013

Great hotel, location and all of the staff were outstanding. We were there for three nights and all of the staff we encountered were very helpful and friendly. The buffet breakfast although somewhat expensive was always fresh, well prepared and plentiful. We also made use of the free coffee/hot chocolate which were of a high standard every night. The rooms were standard, the beds comfortable and the baths very good. The one down side was the heat. We were there in October and still found the rooms a bit warm. We were facing the street so when we opened the windows we did have some street noise. A room in the back tower may have been preferable? The location was outstanding to all of the major attractions in the centre of the City. Very good value for the price.

Room Tip: ask for a room away from the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank William1098
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Viennart, Manager at Hotel Viennart am Museumsquartier, responded to this review, November 3, 2013
Dear guest,
thanks a lot for your feedback! With your help, we can improve our services!
Each room is equipped with a heater which can be regulated individually, so it should not be a problem to turn off the heater and get the room a bit cooler or a temperature convenient for you, without opening the window. Furthermore, there are also very quiet rooms facing the court or the back street, so just ask for it at time of reservation!
We do also offer superior rooms, in modern design and first-class equippment, which can be booked just for a little extra charge.
We would be happy, to welcoming you or your friends and family again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

640 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    190
    273
    131
    32
    14
See reviews for
104
296
60
52
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 31, 2013

Spent 4 nights in Vienna, Viennart was in a great location close to museums and other attractions in the center of town, just a short walk from the underground. The room was nothing special, but nothing wrong with it either, clean, quiet, a good value choice for the center of Vienna. The staff were helpful and cheerful, especially the girl who worked the night shift, always with a smile. Although there were no coffee making facilities in the room, the coffee, tea, soft drinks available in the breakfast area were fine for mid day pit stops. Breakfast seemed a bit high at 15 euros, so we opted for a nearby bakery/cafe which was just fine, there was also a supermarket a block away for snacks, and a wide selection of restaurants a walk away.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wallyarr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Viennart, Manager at Hotel Viennart am Museumsquartier, responded to this review, November 3, 2013
Dear guest,
thanks a lot for your feedback! We are very happy to hear, that you have been confident with the hotel, it's location and our staff!
If you want to have a different room, try our superior rooms, with its modern design and first-class facilities!
We would be happy to welcoming you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chalfont St. Giles, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed October 30, 2013 via mobile

We spent 3 nights here. The staff is very welcoming and friendly. There is a short flight if steps to reception and the lift which makes it difficult if you have heavy bags or impaired mobility. Coffee and tea is freely available in the lounge, which is a nice touch. The room was fine, but rather warm ( no air con) but open windows meant tram and traffic noise from the busy road outside. It's ideally situated for exploring the many galleries and museums, all within easy walking distance. Breakfast at €15 seemed a bit steep so we walked down to one of the many restaurants in MQ for very adequate breakfasts which cost about half that price. There's a Spar gourmet supermarket opposite the end of Breitegasse to buy souvenirs, chocolates etc to take home at reasonable prices. Thanks to the lovely Viennart staff for help with luggage, booking restaurants etc!

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Anne H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Viennart, Manager at Hotel Viennart am Museumsquartier, responded to this review, November 3, 2013
Thank you for your feedback and the time you spent for writing it! It helps us, to improve our services!
We are very happy to hear, that you enjoyed your stay in our hotel and that you have been confident with location and staff - i will forward that to our team!
For constructional reasons we can not avoid to have steps at the entrace and to the elevator. I understand that it might be hard, with heavy bags. Our staff is always willing to help with luggage!
As it started beeing cold outside we turned on the heating and in each room the temperature can be regulated individually, so there should no A/C be needed. Although we do have some superior rooms with A/C just for a little extra charge. Please ask for it at time of reservation!
As we offer a big buffet breakfast with austrian quality products and our guests can drink as much coffee, tea and juices and eat as much as you want we calculated the rate of € 15,--, of course, if you only want to have a small breakfast you can get that cheaper somewhere else.
Greetings from Vienna
Your Hotel ViennArt-Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amersham
Level 6 Contributor
203 reviews
78 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 138 helpful votes
Reviewed October 26, 2013

Located in he 7th district Viennart is well placed to see the less fancy side of Vienna. The MQ offers lots of interesting tourist sights and places to visit just a short walk from the hotel.

The room we had was clean with all you expect but with quite uninspiring decor for an "art" hotel. There is no air-con so in summer we could not recommend this hotel, with the windows open the street noise is disturbing and goes on well into the early hours.

Staff are very friendly and are very happy to help.

Breakfast at €15 seems a bit expensive when there are many cafes in the MQ offering similar for €9 or less.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hazy_amersham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Viennart, Manager at Hotel Viennart am Museumsquartier, responded to this review, October 28, 2013
Thank you for your feedback and the time you spent for writing it! It helps us to improve our services and other guests to decide for a hotel!
It's good to hear, that you like the location of our hotel!
As we offer a buffet breakfast and you can drink as much coffee, tea and juices and eat as much as you want, and we offer a wide range of austrian quality products the price seems to be in the average compared to other similar offers in this area. Of course you can have cheaper breakfast somewhere else, it always depends, what you want and what you get.
We do also have rooms to the court or the more quiet back-street, so if you come back to Vienna we would be happy to welcoming you again in our hotel and we can book a more quiet room for you!
As all rooms are designed in a different style, we could book a different room for you the next time, and see if you like it more, or book a superior room with modern design and first-class facilities!
We would be happy to welcoming you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wallasey
Level 6 Contributor
240 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 145 helpful votes
Reviewed October 10, 2013 via mobile

I just love this hotel, we stayed 7 years ago and it has been totally refurbished which has made it even better. The foyer and breakfast room are lovely and so was our room. Fourth floor, comfortable and spacious and lovely. Everything about this hotel is relay great, the buffet breakfast has really wide choice to start the day...including a glass of fizz ! The staff are friendly, smiling and helpful which is unusual in city centre hotels . As for the location it's perfect, smack bang on the Museum Quarter, Spittelberg and the Kuntshistorisches Museuem plus the U bahn and the trams . Ten out of ten,well done!

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JeanneAlbi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Viennart, Manager at Hotel Viennart am Museumsquartier, responded to this review, October 13, 2013
Thanks a lot for your feedback and the time you spent to write it! We are very delighted that you enjoyed to stay in our hotel! I will forward it to our staff as well!
We would be happy to welcoming you, your friends or family again in our hotel!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wallasey, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 10, 2013 via mobile


This is a lovely hotel in a great location, very central near U bahn station Volkstheater and the trams of the Ringstrasse. We stayed here seven years ago and the hotel has been refurbished since then making it even better. Our room was terrific , on the top floor, large and comfortable. the staff are really friendly and helpful too. Breakfast was excellent, everything that you could wish for and a glass of fizz too!! Spittelberg is a great location for an evening wander with plenty of bars and a wide range of restaurants plus the Museum Quarter is across the road. We have had a great time in Vienna and the hotel made it so much better. Would recommend to anyone and would definitely love to stay again.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank John F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed October 9, 2013

My wife and I went to Vienna at the end of Sept. Just when it started getting cool. The hotel was conveniently located, and got a 4 star rating, which is why we picked it. We arrived in the afternoon, and the hotel staff were welcoming. The stairs that you have to carry your suitcases up at the entrance did not make for an inviting first impression.
The weather was cool, it was in the 40 degrees F at night, and 60 degrees F during the day. It made for some very cold nights in the room.. Apparently, the old water boiler heat system was not very efficient, and the room was very cold. The hotel staff were quick to provide extra blankets and try to fix the heat, but it still did not work very well. The free coffee/juice was nice, along with free wi-fi in the rooms was a plus. It would have been nice to be allowed to enjoy the free cappuccino up in the room, which would have helped to keep us warm.
We only found out that this hotel did not have A/C when we checked in, apparently they have a few rooms with basic A/C but there is an extra charge, and after the extra charge, you would be better off to book a different hotel. The hotel room also smelled like smoke when we requested non-smoking, and with the lack of heat + smell of smoke, we did not have good sleep.

Had we known about the lack of A/C, we would have booked elsewhere, and probably enjoyed our stay in Vienna a lot more. But, unfortunately for us, we prepaid. Won't make that mistake again. They really should work on getting A/C in all the rooms, and it wouldn't be too bad of a hotel, but I would definitely recommend passing on this hotel in Vienna.

Room Tip: If you insist on staying here, get a room with A/C!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CJ H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Viennart, Manager at Hotel Viennart am Museumsquartier, responded to this review, October 13, 2013
First of all, I want to thank you for your feedback and the time you spent for writing it. It helps other people to decide for a hotel and us, to improve our services.
I am really sorry for the inconveniences in our hotel. With 1.11.2013 we will be a complete non-smoking hotel, so the problem with the smell of smoke will be solved.
We only have air-conditioning in our Suites and some of our Junior Suites and comfort rooms, so there is an extra charge for the higher room-category if you booked a standard room.
I also want to appologize for the problem with the heating. When we change from summer to winter it takes some time until everything works properly and the cool temperatures came very early, also this should not be a problem anymore.
I still hope that you enjoyed your stay in Vienna!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Vienna hotels
Neubau
K+K Hotel Maria Theresia
Josefstadt
Mercure Josefshof Wien am Rathaus
Neubau
NH Wien City
NH Wien City
#86 of 361 in Vienna
1,198 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mariahilf
Mercure Secession Wien
Mercure Secession Wien
#135 of 361 in Vienna
669 reviews
Neubau
Hotel Admiral
Hotel Admiral
#247 of 361 in Vienna
232 reviews
Neubau
25hours Hotel at MuseumsQuartier
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Viennart am Museumsquartier? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Viennart am Museumsquartier

Property: Hotel Viennart am Museumsquartier
Address: Breite Gasse 9, Vienna 1070, Austria
Location: Austria > Vienna Region > Vienna > Neubau
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites
Hotel Style:
#105 Luxury Hotel in Vienna
#117 Romantic Hotel in Vienna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Viennart am Museumsquartier 4*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Art, Design & Joie de VivreIn our house, you will enjoy the most modern comfort in our stylish rooms and a warm hospitality. A special highlight is the location in the idyllic, vibrant, and creative area at the Spittelberg, right next to one of the most important museum complexes in the world, with the Museum of Natural History and the Museum of Art History, as well as the trendy Museumsquartier. The impressive Ringstraße with the imperial residence „Hofburg“, the theatre „Burgtheater“, and the public gardens “Burggarten” and “Volksgarten” is within walking distance.• odern 4-star boutique hotel directly at the Museumsquartier• perfect downtown location in immediate vicinity of the most important sights such as the Hofburg with the Spanish Riding School and the Sissi Apartments, the Wiener Ringstraße with the Opera, the City Hall, the theater “Burgtheater “…• 60 standard or superior rooms and suites with bath tub or shower, toilet, telephone, satellite TV with Sky channels, safe, radio, minibar, hair-dryer, and make-up mirror• rich buffet breakfast with Austrian quality products• free Wi-Fi throughout the hotel• free PC use with free internet access in the hotel lobby• free drinks in our “Café Lounge” (coffee, tea, juice) from 12:00 to 24:00• underground stops of U2 & U3 in immediate vicinity of the hotel ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Cancelon, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Fastbooking, Orbitz, Agoda, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Viennart am Museumsquartier reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Austrotel Hotel Vienna

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing