We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Hotel Viennart am Museumsquartier
Ranked #141 of 360 Hotels in Vienna
Certificate of Excellence
VIENNA
1 review
“Very good Hotel”
Reviewed December 6, 2012

Very Very Very good Hotel. Perfect location relative to railway station, metro, city central and shops. Easily accessible from the airport..............Very reasonable price by reservation Galahotels.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Galahotels.com

Helpful?
Thank ANTON S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

628 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    185
    269
    129
    31
    14
See reviews for
99
293
58
51
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cairns, Australia
Level Contributor
53 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed October 30, 2012

We stayed here for 4 nights recently in early October. We were in the "blue building" which is located at the back of the building. We booked a "comfort double bedroom".

Our room was spacious and very clean. The king bed was very comfortable, as were the pillows and we had the best sleep while we were there. As we were at the back of the building, it was very quiet as well, and we could open the windows to cool the room down when needed, not that we needed to do it much as it was quite cold already with autumn weather firmly established.

We had free wifi, which was very rare for hotels in Vienna. However, it was a hassle to obtain access codes daily (as each code only lasted 18 hours) and as previously mentioned internet was rather slow and intermittently stopped completely. Still, it was free and quite useable most of the time.

A safe and mini bar are available in the room, and we always found them useful to have in the room.

We didn't have breakfast there, and we looked at the breakfast buffet choices in the morning and certainly wouldn't pay to eat there. Instead we bought breakfast from the bakery in the nearby U-Bahn (museumsquartier) which was less than 5 mins walk away. There is soft drinks, fruit juice, espresso coffee and tea available 24 hours at the dining room, and the coffee from the machine was actually quite good.

The location was good, as it was so close to a U-Bahn and was almost next door to Musuem Quarter.

We certainly recommend this hotel to travelers visiting Vienna.

Room Tip: Request room in blue building/ block if you want to have a quiet room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank soulighter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Pole
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed October 25, 2012

1. To have to hold the shower head over you as the holder is broken
2. To have to go to a storage room near reception to iron your clothes
3. To have just one pillow with a pillow-case in the double room even if it is being used for single-occupancy
4. When you telephone from your room for the username and password for the free WiFi, a staff member is extremely rude and lazy to do so, insists that you should have got the details from the front desk, then reluctantly provides the required information but shouts instructing you to get the information at the desk next time...

Well, there won't be a next time...

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LMCI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
Reviewed October 5, 2012

Scrupulously clean; excellent quality towels and sheets; a decent closet; a roomy bathroom. Excellent location, convenient for the subway, across from museums, and extremely close to Hofburg, State Opera, and city center. Numerous places to eat are a short walk away -- go round the corner up Siebensternstrasse and peek into the second or third cobblestoned pedestrian street to your right for ample very convenient choices, or try Glacis Beisl across the street for top-notch Viennese. Even when the city is full to groaning for a convention, the local places will generally have tables. For a quicker and cheaper breakfast than the hotel's, hit up the Strock bakery stall in the subway for an Apfeltasche on your way out.

On the less glowing side: Wireless internet service, though free, is sporadic and unreliable. This may be a deal-breaker for some business travelers. Be aware, though, that internet service is pretty appalling in most of Vienna and is very expensive in most hotels; a colleague at the Intercontinental paid 25 euros a day for "VIP," i.e., adequate, service. If you wanted to spend that kind of money, you'd be looking at a fancier hotel, no? There is no hotel bar, although there is a comfortable place to sit in the lobby with 24/7 coffee and soft drinks. Noise from outside the room penetrates very easily, even in the quiet back block. As with most basic/sensible European hotels, bring your own bar soap, shampoo, conditioner and lotion.

Overall, this hotel is phenomenally good value for money. It's not a luxury hotel and doesn't pretend to be one. It's an excellent basic hotel. I wouldn't hesitate to recommend it to active tourists. I would hesitate only a little bit, on internet grounds, to recommend it to the business traveler on an austerity budget.

Room Tip: Best rooms are in the Blue block. Ask for a bathtub if you want one. Room 209 is a great, ample room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hedgehogsaysno
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicestershire
Level Contributor
154 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
Reviewed September 12, 2012

LOCATION: We chose this hotel due to its proximity to the Museums Quarter where my husband was attending a course. However, it still came as a surprise to realise just how close it was - a 2minute walk - perfectly located. This was our first trip to Vienna and we were thrilled that we had chosen a hotel in this area of the city - all of the main sightseeing areas are very close at hand. VALUE FOR MONEY: After consulting Trip Advisor we had a shortlist of three hotels, this one was the middle hotel - not the most expensive, and not the cheapest. This pretty much reflects the hotel - not the best we have stayed in, but not the worst. Pretty much got what we paid for. POSITIVES: Friendly staff, near to good shopping street (Maria Hilfer Strasse), Clean rooms, comfortable beds, good sized shower room. 24 hour complimentary tea and coffee/cold drinks available on the ground floor. NEGATIVES: The road is extremely busy, especially during the morning rush hour - the trams are particularly noisy. It was not possible to leave a window open as the noise was so bad. Poor wi-fi signal - our room was on the front of the hotel, on the 5th floor - if wi-fi is important to you perhaps try to be in a room near to the reception area. No air conditioning - it was 30 degrees during our stay - we did not mind the lack of air-con as a fan was provided which did a good job of keeping us cool during the night - but it is something to be aware of. All in all, nothing major to report - if you want luxury then this is not the place for you - however if you want a great location, a good clean room and a comfortable bed then you will probably be happy here.

Room Tip: Ask for a blue room ....
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Happy2Travel3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Espoo
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 11, 2012

I and my son needed a room for one night before our flight back to home. Would have booked on Metternich but they didn't have twin rooms at all. I requested by email if there are any twin rooms available. Reply came in 9 minutes that if I just reserve and pay the room through their booking site, the twin room is for us.

Arrived a couple of days later and it appeared that as it was apparently low season, they had one of the suites for us. The sofa in the other room was not set up as a bed yet, but they took care of that in half an hour. Suite even had air conditioning.

Of course this exceeded my expectations and one wouldn't really expect to have this every or even most times. But this is a sign of staff attitude: if it is not away from them (or the hotel) they are ready to offer the best when approached politely.

24/7 soft drinks and coffee in the lobby is a big plus when you arrive there thirsty and tired, you don't need to try to find a place to get rehydrated!

When leaving, they kindly printed our boarding passes, for free. This really makes it simpler in the airport.

Room Tip: You can ask details and arrangements before booking with email. They seem to reply. If you are co...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Antti L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta Indonesia
Level Contributor
74 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
Reviewed September 4, 2012

Location: Strategic. Walking distance to the major attractions of the city and to the metro.

Price: Very good value

Service: Fantastic

The hotel is rather modern, with interesting artwork on display. We arrived early after a tiring long trip from Asia. At first the lady at the front desk said that check-in was not until another 4 hours. When I said how tired I was and that I needed to rest a bit, she upgraded us to a room in the “blue” area and we could check in right away. We appreciated this graceful gesture very much.

Room: Good size, comfortable. There is no air condition in the room. But there is a portable air-condition provided in the room automatically, and it made the stay comfortable even when the temperature was soaring hot.

We didn’t get breakfast (it was not included in the room rate), but their in-house café has free hot and cold drinks available at all times, which we really took advantage of.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Maura-SoeparjadiKwik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Vienna hotels
Neubau
K+K Hotel Maria Theresia
Neubau
NH Wien City
NH Wien City
#91 of 360 in Vienna
1,163 reviews
Neubau
25hours Hotel at MuseumsQuartier
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mariahilf
Mercure Secession Wien
Mercure Secession Wien
#136 of 360 in Vienna
655 reviews
Josefstadt
Mercure Josefshof Wien am Rathaus
Neubau
Savoy Hotel Vienna
Savoy Hotel Vienna
#153 of 360 in Vienna
348 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Viennart am Museumsquartier? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Viennart am Museumsquartier

Property: Hotel Viennart am Museumsquartier
Address: Breite Gasse 9, Vienna 1070, Austria
Location: Austria > Vienna Region > Vienna > Neubau
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites
Hotel Style:
#106 Luxury Hotel in Vienna
#117 Romantic Hotel in Vienna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Viennart am Museumsquartier 4*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Art, Design & Joie de VivreIn our house, you will enjoy the most modern comfort in our stylish rooms and a warm hospitality. A special highlight is the location in the idyllic, vibrant, and creative area at the Spittelberg, right next to one of the most important museum complexes in the world, with the Museum of Natural History and the Museum of Art History, as well as the trendy Museumsquartier. The impressive Ringstraße with the imperial residence „Hofburg“, the theatre „Burgtheater“, and the public gardens “Burggarten” and “Volksgarten” is within walking distance.• odern 4-star boutique hotel directly at the Museumsquartier• perfect downtown location in immediate vicinity of the most important sights such as the Hofburg with the Spanish Riding School and the Sissi Apartments, the Wiener Ringstraße with the Opera, the City Hall, the theater “Burgtheater “…• 60 standard or superior rooms and suites with bath tub or shower, toilet, telephone, satellite TV with Sky channels, safe, radio, minibar, hair-dryer, and make-up mirror• rich buffet breakfast with Austrian quality products• free Wi-Fi throughout the hotel• free PC use with free internet access in the hotel lobby• free drinks in our “Café Lounge” (coffee, tea, juice) from 12:00 to 24:00• underground stops of U2 & U3 in immediate vicinity of the hotel ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Fastbooking, Hotels.com, Agoda, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotel.de, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Viennart am Museumsquartier reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Austrotel Hotel Vienna

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing