We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great hotel, not-so-great access” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of NH Wien City

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
NH Wien City
Ranked #87 of 367 Hotels in Vienna
GreenLeadersSilver level
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Level Contributor
176 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Great hotel, not-so-great access”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 23, 2014

Even though the hotel is very well located, the access to it is awkward. you either enter through a series of stores, which is labyrinthine and not very well presented, or by a back street, which is also cumbersome.
Once inside, the hotel is nice and the rooms are very comfortable and well equipped.
Service is courteous and efficient.
Would recommend, with a mandatory warning regarding access.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fcgg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,102 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    383
    466
    190
    41
    22
See reviews for
238
438
55
179
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sarasota, Florida
Level Contributor
33 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 20, 2014

I stayed here when I've missed connecting flight to the Ukraine. Impressed with service and breakfast but be aware it's very pricey when you book same day, location is great-just walk from the airport. I slep very good so noise level was low.
Breakfast is very nice....

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MarynaR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lommel, Belgium
Level Contributor
28 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 21, 2014

I have been in many hotels but this hotels breakfast was extremely good !!
The hotel is in the center on the big shopping street just near the metro
The rooms are big but for us the room was to warm we had to sleep withe the window opened

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jef g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lasko, Slovenia
Level Contributor
82 reviews
80 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 5, 2014

Durring my business trip I booked this place again as it is very conveniently located. It was already my 3rd time here.
Hotel is located in the busy and attractive shopping street – Mariahilferstrasse, yet it is hidden enough that is totally quiet. Metro is located so very close, practically in the basement of this hotel and this gives you a good point where you start either business or your travel day.
Standard and quality of this hotel remains top and I was very satisfied. Rooms are spotless and super clean. What I like about the place is its breakfast which offers a rich selection of food for all different kind of taste. Even though February is very quiet in Vienna the hotel did not reduce the selection of the buffet.
Durring my stays in NH Wien I stayed always in different rooms but I see that configuration is the same for all. I like it and rooms gives you enough space to move around. Without a problem I would be able to stay here for a longer period of time.

Internet is free of charge and that is what all the hotels around the world should do.

Staff is very professional and kind, either in the lobby or in the dinning. Also cleaning staff did their job super even though I never saw them. Anyway I will return here again when in Vienna next time. And last not to forget to mention that price was super in January, especially what I got for it. True 4 star hotel that deserve all these stars, that’s why I give them 5 :).

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Davor K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Devizes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 15, 2014

Stayed at the NH in central Vienna for two nights. Its quite basic but clean and well built. Off the main shopping street of Vienna in a courtyard, so don't expect any views of the city. Modern room with bare floors which were a little hard and a bit stark. Same with leather sofa - hard to lounge around and relax in the room, but bed was very comfortable indeed with good cotton bedding and single duvets continental style, so we both had a good night's sleep. Main criticism is that neither of the showers were working in the sauna, so that potentially relaxing experience after a days sight seeing was a bit limited! Highlight wascthe breakfasdt buffet! Masses of choice and all fresh and beautifully presented. Make the most of it and you could last till supper time!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank 141wearytraveller141
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
17 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 15, 2014 via mobile

I stayed for night at this hotel after a one week trip to Prague and Rome. It was like the icing on the cake. Everything was perfect regarding cleanliness, service, luxurious rooms, and the breakfast was excellent. In the morning it only took two minutes walking from the hotel to the airport to make the check-in in the terminal.
I thought that the mini bar was free cos they never asked me whether I took anything from it.
If you are looking for a hotel that is near the hotel, this is the best that you can choose.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Haidarali
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belgrade, Serbia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 14, 2014

People say that the hotel is a bit hard to find but it is not the case. On the hotel site you can get directions on how to get there easily. They advertise that hotel is on Mariahilfer Strasse but it is not. Actually entrance is from the Lindengasse 9 which clearly is said on their www site. You can easily get to mariahilfer in just a minute from the hotel trough the passageway.
Hotel is greatly located and has a great value for the price. The parking is a problem though it costs 19 euro per day but there are just a handful of places in the garage so you need to consider that. There are other public garages near the hotel so it should not be the problem. An advice on that - if you are not to lazy you can find a garage in the ottakring strasse near the beer making factory for just a fraction of the price and take the sub directly to the hotel (15 minute on the sub). So if you do not need your car you can unload your stuff in the hotel and then park away and then return to the center via sub where everything is close and you can walk.
Hotel is just 15-20 minute walk from all the major landmarks in vienna center. Main shopping street is under a minute walk trough the passageway from the hotel.
Rooms are nice and spacious. Small kitchen is there also. You can choose non smoking or smoking section of the hotel.
Staff are very polite and helpful and will attend to your every need if they can.
WiFi internet is tricky to get a good signal and you may need to enter the user name and pass several times before it connects properly. You get a code for a 24hours use with the 100mb limit then you need another one.
Our room was on the second floor of non smoking section of the hotel. It was large with one big room (small kitchen, dining area and livingroom), one bedroom and bathroom. Room was kinda circular because you can start at the front door go straight to livingroom trough the door to bedroom trough the door to bathroom and that again trough the door to where you started (never seen that before :-)).
We did not try breakfast because we thought it was not worth the money (there is a bakery shop just around the corner trough the passageway).

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank stereo78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Vienna hotels
Neubau
NH Collection Wien Zentrum
Landstraße
NH Wien Belvedere
NH Wien Belvedere
#107 of 367 in Vienna
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,156 reviews
Mariahilf
Hotel Kummer
Hotel Kummer
#55 of 367 in Vienna
4.0 of 5 bubbles 822 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Neubau
K+K Hotel Maria Theresia
Neubau
Hotel Viennart am Museumsquartier
Neubau
25hours Hotel at MuseumsQuartier
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to NH Wien City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about NH Wien City

Property: NH Wien City
Address: Mariahilfer Strasse 32-34 (via Lindeng. 9), Vienna 1070, Austria (Formerly Astron Suite Hotel Wien)
Phone Number:
Location: Austria > Vienna Region > Vienna > Neubau
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
#12 Green Hotel in Vienna
#63 Luxury Hotel in Vienna
#99 Business Hotel in Vienna
#115 Family Hotel in Vienna
#129 Romantic Hotel in Vienna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — NH Wien City 4*
Number of rooms: 105
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
NH Wien City is the perfect place to enjoy your stay right next to the historical center of Vienna, by the city's main shopping areas and countless other attractions and conveniences. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, NHHotels, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda and Cheap Tickets so you can book your NH Wien City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nh Hotel Vienna
Nh Hotels Vienna

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing