We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Choice in Vienna”
Review of NH Wien Belvedere

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
NH Wien Belvedere
Ranked #101 of 361 Hotels in Vienna
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Europe
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great Choice in Vienna”
Reviewed November 18, 2013

Located just outside of Vienna's "inner ring" the hotel was in a beautiful old building which was easy to find from the metro station. The receptionists were all extremely sweet and helpful. Our first room was enormous, however it was on the 1st floor facing the street, so it was a little noisy with the cars going by. I asked the receptionist if there was another room to change to since I can be a light sleeper and in one minute she had a new key for me in a quiet room facing the patio. We slept very well and the room was completely silent.

The wifi works great in the hotel. They also have a computer and printer which was handy to print our boarding passes out on.

The rooms need a bit of an update, but very clean. We had a pleasant stay and cannot complain since we only spent 58 euros for the night.

Getting to the airport was painless. The airport line (S7) picks up at the nearest metro station (Rennweg).

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TLL75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,285 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    385
    602
    223
    50
    25
See reviews for
190
574
77
233
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (82)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 17, 2013

Was accidentally booked into this hotel (really wanted to be near the VIC but the manager did his best to relocate me. Far cheaper to stay put. Had an opportunity to use the Underground/Overground Metro to explore the city. Breakfast was good, rooms quiet and reasonably well appointed. The real bonus was the amiability and helpfulness of the staff. Apples on the front desk too!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EuroTraveller14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
476 reviews
89 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 225 helpful votes
Reviewed November 7, 2013

This is an old rambling building. The entrance and reception areas are dull and uninspiring.

I agree with other reviewers that the bed was very comfortable but, otherwise, I found the facilities disappointing. The television, for example, was set within a cabinet and was not easily viewed if you were lying on the bed.

I wanted a bath, but when I filled it, I found it was full of brown water, presumably stained by old pipes. I wouldn't suggest the water was unhealthy or unclean but it created a very poor impression. Sticking with the bathroom, I have also found an accurate guide to the quality of hotel services is whether the housekeeping staff have been instructed to provide fresh shampoo, shower gel, etc. each day. If they don't, but prefer to leave their clients with partly-used bottles, this indicates, to my mind, a management that seeks to save money wherever possible. The management at this hotel failed the test.

The WiFi is indeed free but rather than being able to log straight into a hotel server, one is directed to a Swisscom provider. (Presumably Swisscom gives some discounted rate to the hotel in return for being able to advertise itself.). It was impossible to log in and stay logged in - one constantly had to reinsert username and password details. It made for a frustrating experience, which is unnecessary in most hotels, so why not here? I subsequently received a survey request from Swisscom; you are obliged to provide your email address during the initial log-in process. The survey, however, was as much a marketing device as it was seeking customer feedback.

What really frustrated and disappointed me was the absence in the room of any coffee/tea making facilities. The provision of those is surely absolutely routine these days and can be found in even the cheapest bed-shop discount Travel Lodge, Premier Inn or motel.

I expected, for the price charged, to find myself in a quality hotel, albeit not a luxury hotel. If this is a good example of the NH chain, I'll avoid them like the plague. There is no way I would recommend the Belvedere to anyone and I will never stay there again.

I realize that TripAdvisor reviews inevitably produce sometimes dramatically different opinions. I am, however, astonished that other reviewers were satisfied with the facilities provide here. I can only presume that the rooms allocated to them differed dramatically from the one I occupied.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank aberdeenangler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed October 29, 2013

I do not quite agree with the other positive evaluations of this hotel. It might be 4* in theory but my experience was more of a 3*. The hotel needs investment. The entrance hall is not charming at all and the upstairs coridoors reminiscent of a converted office building. Our room for the weekend (313) has a huge bleach stain in the carpet and the street side windows were loose so one could hear the street well enough. The only plus points are the discount pricing and location. As a simple bed for the night it sort of works.

Room Tip: Ask for garden facing rooms away from the street
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank David K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork, Ireland
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed October 23, 2013

Check in was fast and easy. We got a special rate online for €49.50. We had a large room with a nice view of the gardens. It was a short 10 minute walk from the Karlplatz metro which was also near a lovely market on Saturday. The bed was so comfortable and I slept like a log! I wouldn't pay full price but if you get a discount, book it! It is also near a pretty foundation

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank keiraoconnell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisbon, Portugal
Level 4 Contributor
48 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed October 22, 2013

Nice hotel, good price for quality of service. Very polite and friendly staff. Always attentive and eager to help.
Good breakfast buffet.
Quiet rooms. Clean, spacious. Good bathroom. Well located. Free wifi.
Recommend as an option if you want to visit Vienna.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rute F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Petersfield, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
358 reviews
161 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 553 helpful votes
Reviewed October 17, 2013

We booked this hotel through a very attractive NH World promotional rate so my rating and comments take into account that we paid a lot less than other similarly rated 4-star hotels in Vienna. The hotel is located just outside the Ring (the inner ring road in Vienna), and a very short distance to the entrance to the excellent Belvedere gardens. Rennweg S-Bahn station is just a couple of minutes away (turn right when exiting the hotel and cross to the other side of the road and you'll find it), and there is also a tram running down the street.

The public areas of the hotel were generally quite dark and very austere looking - just plain painted walls. I understand the building used to be a government building, and the corridors, and stairwells in particular are oddly reminiscent of an old school or hospital. It would be nice to see this freshened up with some more paintings, lighting and occasional furniture added to create a less oppressive atmosphere. The reception area is next to a smoky bar area so non-smokers will not want to hang around in this part of the hotel.

Our room was enormous - almost like a mini-suite, but was not set up with a separate sleeping/sitting area. Looking at the "fire escape plan" on the back of the door, it looked like we'd been allocated one of the largest rooms on our floor. The bathroom was OK but a bit dated, nothing special. The queen size bed was fine, but had separate duvets and incredibly thin pillows (the front desk was happy to provide additional ones). The aircon was deactivated due to the time of year but there were plenty of windows to open and little street noise. We did however suffer from noise from the neighbouring room on two nights - a couple arguing loudly and a baby crying on another occasion, so the sound insulation is not that good.

Breakfasts were included in our rate and were very good, offering a good continental selection and a few hot buffet items. The coffee, as you'd expect in Vienna, was very nice too! In the evenings, we ate at both the Salm Brau pub about 100m along the road, and at the excellent Lindner Hotel next door which offered Austrian specialities at quite reasonable prices by local standards (Vienna is an expensive city).

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gordon2112
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Vienna hotels
Neubau
NH Wien City
NH Wien City
#86 of 361 in Vienna
1,198 reviews
Landstraße
Lindner Hotel Am Belvedere
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ottakring
Boutique Hotel Donauwalzer
Landstraße
Austria Trend Hotel Savoyen Vienna
Renaissance Wien Hotel
#72 of 361 in Vienna
1,105 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to NH Wien Belvedere? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about NH Wien Belvedere

Property: NH Wien Belvedere
Address: Rennweg 12a, Vienna 1030, Austria (Formerly NH Belvedere)
Phone Number:
Location: Austria > Vienna Region > Vienna > Landstraße
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Green Hotel in Vienna
#18 Spa Hotel in Vienna
#74 Luxury Hotel in Vienna
#121 Business Hotel in Vienna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — NH Wien Belvedere 4*
Number of rooms: 114
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
NH Wien Belvedere is a four-star hotel located in the heart of Vienna's diplomatic quarter, right next to the must-see Belvedere Palace and beautiful botanical gardens, within easy walking distance of the city center and old Vienna, as well as bars and restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Expedia, NHHotels, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Evoline ltd, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your NH Wien Belvedere reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nh Belvedere Vienna
Nh Belvedere Hotel Vienna

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing