We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quite satisfied”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Arcotel Wimberger Hotel
Ranked #167 of 359 Hotels in Vienna
Reviewed March 9, 2014

Nothing to complain about, really. My room was looking at the main street, but windows are soundproof and there were no problems with the noise. The room I stayed in was a little bit dark, but very clean and spacious. Bed was comfortable, I had three nights of good sleep there. Breakfast was OK too. Comparing the price with value I got, I would say this hotel was a very good choice.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MrKB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ARCOTELWimbergerWien, Leiter Front Office at Arcotel Wimberger Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 13, 2014

Dear guest,

thank you very much for your stay in ARCOTEL Wimberger and also for your feedback.
We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and it would be great to welcome you again in our hotel.

Kind Regards,
your ARCOTEL Wimberger team!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (839)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

169 - 175 of 839 reviews

Reviewed February 21, 2014

We stayed in this hotel for 3 nights during my husband's business trip to Vienna. The company he was visiting booked it as it was close to their offices.

I first thought we were staying in a superior room because it was so spacious, but a look at the minibar prices and the fact that the internet was definitely not highspeed made me realize it was probably a comfort room. And comfortable it was!

It faced the back and not the busy road. Therefore it was rather quiet except for the extraction pipes which we could hear if we left the window open at night. This didn't bother us much since it was a monotonous noise like from an air conditioner unit.

The beds were very comfortable, the room was large and it had a good bathroom, although the toilet paper was just about the roughest I have ever experienced anywhere. It reminded me more of an army camp than of a **** hotel! Coffee making facilities would have been nice instead of the overpriced mini bar (1 bottle of mineral water 0,75 l € 4,80, nut-fruit-mix € 6,00).

Breakfast was super with a large choice of everything. I especially appreciated the great variety of different kinds of bread! The staff could be friendlier and at least wish a good morning when you enter.

The hotel is located within an easy walk to Westbahnhof. It takes exactly 5 stops and 5 minutes by underground to get right into the centre of Vienna (single ticket: € 2,10). Near the Westbahnhof are lots of shops, bakeries and take-aways in the bustling Mariahilfer Strasse.

We were very happy with our stay and can definitely recommend this hotel!
If it had coffee making facilities, softer toilet paper and friendlier staff I would rate it 5 out of 5!

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank hirondelle11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ARCOTELWimbergerWien, Front Office Manager at Arcotel Wimberger Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 25, 2014

Dear guest,

first of all we would like to thank you for your stay at ARCOTEL Wimberger Vienna and that you have given us a feedback.
You feedback give us the chance to improve our operational procedures because for us the most important requirement is to satisfy our guests.
We are glad that you enjoy your stay and we want to apologise, that our service left a negative impression and we want to make sure that you know that your experience according to your feedback in our hotel was by means up to our standard.
About the Minibar we want to inform you, that the whole Minibar and the High Speed Internet Access is included if you book a Superior Room.
Coffee making facilities are in the Junior Suites or Suites available.
We want to apologise but also to thank you for your feedback about the flaws during your stay.
It would be great to welcome you again in our Hotel.

Kind regards,

your ARCOTEL Wimberger team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 20, 2014

Everything about the Wimberger (as the locals call it) has a certain touch of class.

There are more upmarket hotels in Vienna, but this one has a very good combination of quality, price, location and service. That's enough to be going on with.

Staff in the ample-sized reception area are very helpful. You may need to check what exact sort of room you getting, and what you are paying for - since they have an array which includes Comfort, Comfort Deluxe, Superior, Junior Suite and possibly more. Ours was Comfort Deluxe, which included the usual minibar, safe, TV and free wifi. Overall room quality was good, and had a decent bath in the bathroom (I hate hotels that provide shower only).

Breakfast was included in the price, and was a very high quality buffet, served up to 10.00 am (but not a second beyond that).

Public transport links are good - 5 mins walk to the U station, and several trams passing up and down by the front door.

Overall reaction - positive

Room Tip: Check exactly what kind of room you are getting, and how much the "extras" are costing you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dec105
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ARCOTELWimbergerWien, Front Office Manager at Arcotel Wimberger Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 25, 2014

Dear guest,

first of all we would like to thank you for your stay in ARCOTEL Wimberger Vienna and also for your feedback.
We are glad that you enjoyed your room and the quality of our house.
You feedback give us the chance to improve our operational procedures because for us the most important requirement is to satisfy our guests.

It would be great to welcome you again in our hotel.

Kind regards,

your ARCOTEL Wimberger team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 11, 2014

The hotel is a good one for your duty break in Vienna. Situated 5 mins walk from Westbahnhof station, we did't have any problems using the subway to get about. Also we felt safe and didn't see any 'dodgy' areas as per the previous comment. The room was good, we were offered an upgrade which for an extra amount which would have included high speed internet and the contents of the mini bar, but we felt that it didn't justify paying the extra for us. Did feel that the high speed internet should have been free through out the hotel though.
We didn't have breakfast as we thought it was too expensive and instead went out and had a brunch on our travels.
The staff were pleasant and helped out with any queries we had. The rooms were clean and comfortable

Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank DanieleJollyRoger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ARCOTELWimbergerWien, Leiter Front Office at Arcotel Wimberger Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 17, 2014

Dear guest,
first of all we would like to thank you for your stay in ARCOTEL Wimberger and also for your feedback.
We are glad that you enjoyed our service and the room. About the internet we can tell you that we have it for free in all our rooms. Just for the high speed internet you have to pay extra when you are not in an upgraded room.
We hope that we will welcome you again in our hotel in next future.
Kind Regards,
your ARCOTEL Wimberger team!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 10, 2014

We stayed at this hotel as part of our trip to Europe, and while it was convenient (a short tram or Metro ride from the Westbahnhof - easy if you're arriving via train from Munich), the rooms were a little dated. Our room smelled quite badly, and to fix it up, the staff gave us some air freshener, so it smelled quite strongly of air freshener afterwards.

Pros:
- The free minibar
- Convenient location
- Reasonable price

Cons:
- Rooms were dated
- Our room was quite smelly

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vincent C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ARCOTELWimbergerWien, Leiter Front Office at Arcotel Wimberger Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 17, 2014

Dear guest,

first of all we would like to thank you for your stay in ARCOTEL Wimberger and also for your feedback.
We would like to apologize for the circumstances with your room. We already talked to the departments which it concerns.
We have completely new renovated and modern rooms in our hotel. For the next time we would like to offer you one of these rooms.
It would be great to welcome you again, in ARCOTEL Wimberger, in our new Comfort Deluxe rooms.

Kind Regards,
your ARCOTEL Wimberger team!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 17, 2014

There is nothing much can be said about our stay than just an OK (4 nights). Nothing special.
The hotel location is OK as well. 5 minutes walk from Westbahnhof (West Station). Close to the shopping street Mariahilfer Straße. The catch is to chose the right direction from the Westbahnhof station.
Right by the hotel there is a cute super market where you can get anything you like. Including making you a sandwich, fruits, soda, chocolate, alcohol.
We didn't have breakfast in the hotel and we found ourselves a very nice bakery where we had great breakfast every day (for 10 euros for couple), but from what I understood you had to go to the near restaurant. Having breakfast in the hotel was TOO expensive.
The area itself is OK, but as you can read in other reviews you have few shady places around.
It's not dangerous. But kinda makes you feel uncomfortable.
Still, the location is OK after all as it is close to the main station where you can take the bus to/from the Airport for 8 euros I think.
The service is OK as well.The personal appears to be nice, but doesn't seem to be genuinely nice. I mean after all I got my questions answered and was taken care of, but still something was missing. The check in and check out were OK as well. We were not able to get our rooms during early check in, but they had a storage room where we could leave our luggage. We also left our staff there after we checked out. This appears to be complimentary service, but still you should tip the guy, just in case :-)
The room was quite big and it faced the main street which was very busy during most hours of the day. The sound isolation was good, but when I wanted to open a window, I realized how noisy the street is.
From what I saw the hotel is built in square shape. So you also have the rooms in the inner side of the hotel where you have trees and I believe these rooms are nicer (at least the windows can be remain open).
The saunas, the Jacuzzi and the so called fitness center are located in the very weird place. You need to go to the last floor, use the stairs to go up and eventually you get there. Unusual place to locate the "spa" center.
There is a small bar downstairs. The man on the bar was real nice and pleasant, but unfortunately he was alone that day and it slowed the service a lot.
To summarize the above - the hotel was OK, the whole stay was OK, but unfortunately just an OK. It's hard to point on something that was actually bad. But It is also hard to say it was what I expected it to be.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Vitarix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ARCOTELWimbergerWien, Leiter Front Office at Arcotel Wimberger Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 19, 2014

Dear guest,

first of all we would like to thank you for your stay in ARCOTEL Wimberger and also for your feedback.
We are very sorry that your stay wasn´t up to your expectations and that our hotel left not a really good impression.
We want to make sure that you know that your experience according to your feedback was by no means up to our standard.
For us the most important requirement is to satisfy our guests.
It would be great to welcome you again in our hotel, so we will convince you of our high quality service.

Kind Regards,
your ARCOTEL Wimberger team!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 29, 2013

First off, this hotel is not near the old town. We navigated public transportation to get to the old town, but it wasn't convenient at all.

We arrived as part of a bus tour. There were 3 tours arriving at the same time and it was chaos. The hallways were smelly and the room was very disappointing. It was not well cleaned and very rundown. There was something caked on the bathroom door jam that remained there for our entire stay. I called to the front desk for help with the internet and was told that I had to come to the desk for a password and they would not give this out over the phone. The chair in the room was broken when we arrived. I called to ask for a new one, and it was delivered quickly, but it was old, dirty and an uncomfortable stacking stool.

We went to the front desk and stood in line for an internet password and to ask for directions on a good place to eat. The person in front of us (a member of our tour group) was asking the same question and the staff member stated that the hotel has an excellent restaurant. The tour group traveller asked if he could recommend somewhere outside of the hotel and the staff member stated no, and repeated that they have a restaurant on site.

Breakfast - tasty but messy. Tables were not cleaned quickly. I was soooo looking forward to coffee in Vienna and the breakfast coffee was terrible, however, that could have been because I had to ask guests as they were leaving the table for whatever was left in their carafe as I had asked a breakfast staff member on both mornings there and none was ever brought.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Cantwaitforholidays
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ARCOTELWimbergerWien, Leiter Front Office at Arcotel Wimberger Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 7, 2014

Dear guest,

first of all we would like to thank you for your stay in ARCOTEL Wimberger.
We are deeply sorry for the circumstances and that your stay wasn´t up to your expectations.
We would like to apologize for the problems with your room.
We already talked to our housekeeping staff, that something like that, will not happen again.
About the internet we can tell you, that each guest gets an individual internet code. It is important to keep this code to logon a few hours later. All our guests have also the possibility to logon with the date of birth and room number.
We would also like to apologize about the breakfast and our service.
We regret that you felt uncomfortable during your stay at the ARCOTEL Wimberger and that our hotel left a negative impression. We want to make sure that you know that you experience according to your feedback was by no means up to our standard.
For us the most important requirement is to satisfy our guests.

Hopefully you will give us the opportunity to disprove your negative impression of the ARCOTEL Wimberger on your next stay.

Kind Regards,
your ARCOTEL Wimberger team!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Vienna hotels
Neubau
Alla Lenz Hotel
Alla Lenz Hotel
#220 of 359 in Vienna
100 reviews
Arcotel Kaiserwasser
#128 of 359 in Vienna
732 reviews
Neubau
Fleming's Conference Hotel Wien
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Neubau
Hotel Viennart am Museumsquartier
Neubau
Falkensteiner Hotel Am Schottenfeld
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Arcotel Wimberger Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arcotel Wimberger Hotel

Address: Neubauguertel 34-36, Vienna 1070, Austria
Location: Austria > Vienna Region > Vienna > Neubau , Schottenfeld
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#23 Spa Hotel in Vienna
#120 Luxury Hotel in Vienna
Price Range: $75 - $130 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Arcotel Wimberger Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 225
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The ARCOTEL Wimberger is located in Vienna’s vibrant 7th district and is a charismatic hotel with 225 rooms. A legend in Vienna since 1871 the hotel remains a popular place for celebrities, artists and cosmopolitan types to stay.The hotel’s central location makes it perfect for fans of art and culture as well as those who love to shop. Close by are Vienna’s main shopping boulevard, the Mariahilfer Straße, the Wiener Stadthalle, the city’s major concert venue, and numerous galleries and boutiques. The city’s museum quarter is also just a few minutes away either on foot or by public transport.The hotel has its own restaurant, the Restaurant WIMBERGERs wia z'Haus which serves traditional Viennese dishes and also boasts the most famous brunch anywhere in the city - WIMBERGERs Jazzbrunch. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Arcotel Wimberger Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Arcotel Wimberger Vienna
Arcotel Wimberger Hotel Vienna

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing