We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Stay away”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Arcotel Wimberger Hotel
Ranked #151 of 362 Hotels in Vienna
Regina, Canada
Level Contributor
28 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Stay away”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 29, 2013

First off, this hotel is not near the old town. We navigated public transportation to get to the old town, but it wasn't convenient at all.

We arrived as part of a bus tour. There were 3 tours arriving at the same time and it was chaos. The hallways were smelly and the room was very disappointing. It was not well cleaned and very rundown. There was something caked on the bathroom door jam that remained there for our entire stay. I called to the front desk for help with the internet and was told that I had to come to the desk for a password and they would not give this out over the phone. The chair in the room was broken when we arrived. I called to ask for a new one, and it was delivered quickly, but it was old, dirty and an uncomfortable stacking stool.

We went to the front desk and stood in line for an internet password and to ask for directions on a good place to eat. The person in front of us (a member of our tour group) was asking the same question and the staff member stated that the hotel has an excellent restaurant. The tour group traveller asked if he could recommend somewhere outside of the hotel and the staff member stated no, and repeated that they have a restaurant on site.

Breakfast - tasty but messy. Tables were not cleaned quickly. I was soooo looking forward to coffee in Vienna and the breakfast coffee was terrible, however, that could have been because I had to ask guests as they were leaving the table for whatever was left in their carafe as I had asked a breakfast staff member on both mornings there and none was ever brought.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Cantwaitforholidays
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ARCOTELWimbergerWien, Leiter Front Office at Arcotel Wimberger Hotel, responded to this review, January 7, 2014
Dear guest,

first of all we would like to thank you for your stay in ARCOTEL Wimberger.
We are deeply sorry for the circumstances and that your stay wasn´t up to your expectations.
We would like to apologize for the problems with your room.
We already talked to our housekeeping staff, that something like that, will not happen again.
About the internet we can tell you, that each guest gets an individual internet code. It is important to keep this code to logon a few hours later. All our guests have also the possibility to logon with the date of birth and room number.
We would also like to apologize about the breakfast and our service.
We regret that you felt uncomfortable during your stay at the ARCOTEL Wimberger and that our hotel left a negative impression. We want to make sure that you know that you experience according to your feedback was by no means up to our standard.
For us the most important requirement is to satisfy our guests.

Hopefully you will give us the opportunity to disprove your negative impression of the ARCOTEL Wimberger on your next stay.

Kind Regards,
your ARCOTEL Wimberger team!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

744 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    189
    331
    153
    35
    36
See reviews for
131
302
51
109
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Aviano, Italy
Level Contributor
3 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 28, 2013

When we arrived the front desk offered our family an upgraded room for an extra 20 euro a night. It was on the 7th floor and It included free HIGH speed internet, free minibar use (restocked everyday), and the room was bigger and on two levels. First level had a partial bathroom, TV, minibar, couch/bed, and desk. The second level of the room had the same set up except it included the full bathroom and king size bed. There was plenty of space for our family and our suitcases. The breakfast was well worth the extra cost. It was included in our reservation so i don't know the price if paid separately. The breakfast was one of the best we had and had a large assortment of items to choose from…meats, cheeses, bacon, eggs, fruits, juices, cereal, teas…etc. The location was next to the ubahn and street trains and Mariahliferstrasse which has plenty of brand name stores and fast food places.

For the flaws…We found them minor but maybe not to the next person…There is no loading zone in front of the hotel as it is right on the street. We drove around back where they have the parking garage and alternate entrance to the hotel. The parking garage is 18 euro a day which we didn't want to pay for but luckily there is street parking everywhere. You just have to be lucky enough to find one. Our only issue came during the weekend when we had to drive around for a little bit before finding a free spot. Even then the spot we found was 3 streets over but we didn't mind. If you do decide to stay in the garage be advised that the entrance is only 2 meters/6.5 feet high so if you have a taller vehicle or a cargo box set up on top it will not fit and the street parking will be your only option. The upper level of the room was hot even after adjusting the temperature. We remedied this by sleeping with the balcony door open. Lastly, the water pressure for the shower head was not as strong as we are used to.

Room Tip: Upgrade to the larger room with two levels if you need more space
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Justina B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ARCOTELWimbergerWien, Leiter Front Office at Arcotel Wimberger Hotel, responded to this review, January 12, 2014
Dear guest,
first of all we would like to thank you for your stay in ARCOTEL Wimberger and for your feedback.
We are glad that you enjoyed your upgraded room.
We would like to apologise but also to thank you for the feedback about the flaws during your stay,
It gives us the chance to improve our operational procedures. For us the most important requirement is to satisfy our guests.
It would be great to welcome you again in our hotel.
Kind Regards,
your ARCOTEL Wimberger team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
74 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 11, 2013

first i was upgraded to a bigger room with free high speed internet and room was provided to me at 7 am instead of 2 pm check in time so a big thank you for that. the rooms are very very big and bathrooms are good except that drains are not channelized well. the hotel is at the central location and has good connectivity by metro tram and bus. i would definitely recommend this place. only bad thing was that i was charged 60 euros as deposit which took 1 month to get returned after pursuing with the bank and the hotel.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank YoungIndianTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ARCOTELWimbergerWien, Leiter Front Office at Arcotel Wimberger Hotel, responded to this review, December 12, 2013
Dear guest,

First of all we would like to thank you for your stay in ARCOTEL Wimberger and for your feedback.
We are glad that you enjoyed your room, your stay and that you would like to recommend our hotel.
About the deposit we can tell you that this is an international standard in hotel business and we take it from all guests at time of check in. This deposit is just a guarentee if our guests would like to consume any extras in our hotel bar or restaurant. After check out it will be automatically cancelled from our side. We are sorry that this standard left a negative impression.

It would be great to welcome you again in our hotel.

Kind Regards,
your ARCOTEL Wimberger team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England
Level Contributor
33 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 8, 2013

Great location – from the airport take the Postbus to Westbahnhof (45 mins), then take tram 6 to St Loritz Platz which stops right opp the hotel, or you can walk from Westbahnhof in under 10 mins.

We stayed in the Comfort Deluxe rooms, which to my knowledge are the most recently decorated rooms (the modern looking lime green ones on the site). Water was complimentary as were the apples (albeit a bit fluffy) – a nice touch. We had one room facing the main road and one to the side, neither were overly noisy if the windows were closed, we were on the fifth floor. The rooms were clean, as were the bathrooms. Hairdryers were better than your average standard beige hotel issue. Air con/heating in the room was perfect but could be heard if you're a very light sleeper. Rooms had two chairs and table along with a mini bar.

The staff was always polite, kind and attentive. Large hotel offering a very ample buffet breakfast, (hot, cold, cakes, pastries, cereals etc…. you name it, they probably had it). Breakfast served until 10am. Didn't go to Joe's Bar so cannot comment. Free wifi in rooms and communal areas.

Spa was clean and spacious for a hotel of this standard. If you do want to use the sauna however, give the staff an hour’s notice for them to switch it on.

Not much going on in the surrounding neighbourhood. Tram 29 takes you straight to the Museum Qtr/Karlsplatz in 15 or so mins. Mini Restaurant (recommended) is 15 mins in a taxi. The U-Bahn is less than 10 mins by foot and takes you straight into St Stephensplatz. easy to get to Schoenbrunn Palace (two lines and around 20 mins away).

Would definitely stay here again, great value for money when compared to those in the city centre.

Room Tip: Go for the comfort deluxe rooms if you can as the others looked very dated (some review state this t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Herwin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ARCOTELWimbergerWien, Leiter Front Office at Arcotel Wimberger Hotel, responded to this review, December 12, 2013
Dear guest,

thank you very much for your stay in ARCOTEL Wimberger and also for your kind feedback.
We are glad that you enjoyed your stay in our hotel.
It would be great to welcome you again in ARCOTEL Wimberger.

Kind Regards,
your ARCOTEL Wimberger team!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 6, 2013

I stayed here for 5 nights (11/27-12/2/2013) with my father-in-law who is handicapped. When I asked them a barrier-free room, they told me that I had to reserve a superior room with those equipments and I did so. When we arrived, the room was ready (the "barrier-free" room was end of the hallway. Why it is so far from elevators for people having difficulties of walk?). When we entered the room, found it was rather small (not superior room at all) and had strong smell of toilet (saw lots of stains of urine on the toilet floor). We opened a window but smell was never disappeared. But my father was too tired and we did not complain on the first day. Next morning when we came back from breakfast, we could not stand the smell any more and asked them to change the room. It took half a day to change but they did it (we assumed everybody complained about the room), the new room was twice bigger and bathroom was newly renovated with a large tub and separated shower (no smell anymore). But no equipment for handicapped person. Actually my father slipped in the shower room and he was afraid of washing himself since then. How they could do like this twice? They put us into a lower-ranked room (not what I paid for), we had to stay there for 4 more days if we did not complain?
At checking out I told a receptionist about this, and she said "sorry about that but next time will be perfect". There is no "NEXT TIME".

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank akinewyork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ARCOTELWimbergerWien, Leiter Front Office at Arcotel Wimberger Hotel, responded to this review, December 16, 2013
Dear guest,
First of all we would like to thank you for your stay in ARCOTEL Wimberger.
We are deeply sorry for the circumstances and that your stay wasn´t up to your expectations.
We would like to apologize for the problems with your room.
We have in our hotel three “barrier-free” rooms. On the day of your check in, we had just the “barrier-free” room you have got available. We would like to apologize for the circumstances with this room. On the next day we could move you into another room, the same category as you booked, our superior room which is also mentioned as “barrier-free”. We have also in this room equipment for handicapped person.
We regret that you felt uncomfortable during your stay at the ARCOTEL Wimberger and that our hotel left a negative impression. We want to make sure that you know that your experience according to your feedback was by no means up to our standard.
For us the most important requirement is to satisfy our guest.

Hopefully you will give us the opportunity to disprove your negative impression of the ARCOTEL Wimberger on your next stay.

Kind Regards,
Your ARCOTEL Wimberger team!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome, Italy
Level Contributor
28 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 28, 2013

We've been to Arcotel Wimberger last April and we stayed there 4 days...unfortunately not enough time to discover all the sightseeing that a city like Wien could offer.One of the nicest city we've ever been.The hotel is marvellous and has got a great wellness area free of charge located on the top floor with an amazing view.The hotel is very good located and has got very comfortable rooms,staff is really helpful and always available,breakfast is excellent and the restaurant is very beautiful.I promised my husband to come back for sure.He wants to go there very soon!!!!!!Many compliments to everyone.Annalisa e Domenico

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Annalisa D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ARCOTELWimbergerWien, Leiter Front Office at Arcotel Wimberger Hotel, responded to this review, December 7, 2013
Dear guest,

thank you very much for your kind feedback.
We are glad that you enjoyed your stay in ARCOTEL Wimberger and we would like to welcome you in next future.

Kind Regards,
your ARCOTEL Wimberger team!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santiago, Chile
Level Contributor
36 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 25, 2013 via mobile

We went to Vienna in a family trip for the weekend and the hotel disappointed us because the family room was not as promoted (darker and old fashioned) and some people attending was not friendly. We have to admit the breakfast is very good (but getting a table is chaotic because is overbooked) and location is good. With proper selection and training could be a lot better hotel. The superior room was good and as advertised.

Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank sesog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ARCOTELWimbergerWien, Leiter Front Office at Arcotel Wimberger Hotel, responded to this review, December 12, 2013
Dear guest,

First of all we would like to thank you for your stay in ARCOTEL Wimberger and also for your feedback.
We are very sorry for the circumstances during your stay and that you couldn´t enjoy your room.
For the next time we would like to offer you our new renovated rooms on the higher floors.
These rooms have a more modern design.
We also would like to apologise that our service left a negative impression and we want to make sure that you know that your experience according to your feedback was by no means up to our standard. For us the most important requirement is to satisfy our guests.
We already talked to all the departments which it concerns.

It would be great to welcome you again in our hotel, so we will convince you of our high quality service.

Kind Regards,
your ARCOTEL Wimberger team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Vienna hotels
Ottakring
Boutique Hotel Donauwalzer
Neubau
Fleming's Hotel Wien-Westbahnhof
Arcotel Kaiserwasser
#126 of 362 in Vienna
4.0 of 5 bubbles 640 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Neubau
IntercityHotel Vienna
IntercityHotel Vienna
#162 of 362 in Vienna
4.0 of 5 bubbles 576 reviews
Margareten
Ibis Wien City
Ibis Wien City
#109 of 362 in Vienna
4.0 of 5 bubbles 855 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Arcotel Wimberger Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arcotel Wimberger Hotel

Property: Arcotel Wimberger Hotel
Address: Neubauguertel 34-36, Vienna 1070, Austria
Location: Austria > Vienna Region > Vienna > Neubau , Schottenfeld
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#22 Spa Hotel in Vienna
#110 Luxury Hotel in Vienna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Arcotel Wimberger Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 225
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The ARCOTEL Wimberger is located in Vienna’s vibrant 7th district and is a charismatic hotel with 225 rooms. A legend in Vienna since 1871 the hotel remains a popular place for celebrities, artists and cosmopolitan types to stay.The hotel’s central location makes it perfect for fans of art and culture as well as those who love to shop. Close by are Vienna’s main shopping boulevard, the Mariahilfer Straße, the Wiener Stadthalle, the city’s major concert venue, and numerous galleries and boutiques. The city’s museum quarter is also just a few minutes away either on foot or by public transport.The hotel has its own restaurant, the Restaurant WIMBERGERs wia z'Haus which serves traditional Viennese dishes and also boasts the most famous brunch anywhere in the city - WIMBERGERs Jazzbrunch. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Agoda, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Arcotel Wimberger Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Arcotel Wimberger Vienna
Arcotel Wimberger Hotel Vienna

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing