We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel & very handy”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Arcotel Wimberger Hotel
Ranked #155 of 361 Hotels in Vienna
East Kilbride, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great hotel & very handy”
Reviewed May 28, 2013

Just back from a four day trip too various parts of Germany & Austria. We stayed in this hotel on our last night. This was a great hotel very clean and friendly as well as a great price. We booked it while we were there and got a superior room for €80 including the mini bar (result!) the staff were very helpful in providing directions. The wein westbanhoff is literally down the street then there are trams running through Vienna which stops about 50 yards in front of the hotel. The hotel is a great base to stay due to the amazing transport system in operation. Vienna is a beautiful place and when we return we would most definitely choose this hotel again!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GillianC_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ARCOTELWimbergerWien, Leiter Front Office at Arcotel Wimberger Hotel, responded to this review, June 11, 2013
Dear guest,

thank you very much for your feedback.
We are glad that you enjoyed your stay in ARCOTEL Wimberger.

It would be great, to welcome you again in our hotel.

Kind Regards,
your ARCOTEL Wimberger team!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

753 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    191
    333
    155
    36
    38
See reviews for
132
305
52
112
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Doha, Qatar
Level Contributor
313 reviews
80 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 167 helpful votes
Reviewed May 21, 2013

When we travel in Europe, we choose hotels based on the proximity from the Metrol station. We booked this hotel seeing that it was close to the hotel but we had a little tough time finding the hotel upon arrival from the train station. But then again it was just us - we always get lost when we travel.

When we arrived at the hotel, all the staff were very accommodating. We were so awed by the room given to us. It is a two-storey superior room with a common balcony and view of the city houses( but mainly street view). Each room has a flat-screen TV! We SOOO loved it. And we got the minibar consuption and Nespresso capsules included in the room rate - refillable! Awesome, right? We didn't want to leave the room as the kids were so happy!

It was challenging to keep the kids especially our dear toddler from the stairs but it was a good family activity in the room as well.

We are more than ecstatic to have stayed in this room - it was rainy for the second day we stayed in Vienna but we didn't mind - the hotel is quite an adventure in itself for the kids.

If there is one flaw I would highlight for this hotel: The reception desk needs to be more accommodating to tourist activities. We have asked details for watching an opera for the night and we were bombarded with brochures - no specific answer at all. We ended up not going due to our lack of planning and limited knowledge at that time so that's one reason to go back to Vienna.

Room Tip: Book the 2-storey superiom room for family with kids.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Turknoys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ARCOTELWimbergerWien, Leiter Front Office at Arcotel Wimberger Hotel, responded to this review, May 26, 2013
Dear guest,

first of all, we would like to thank you for your stay in ARCOTEL Wimberger.
We are also glad, that you took the time to give us a feedback.
We are really happy that you enjoyed your room.
Thank you for the information about the tourists activities. We have already talked to the reception desk.
It would be great, to welcome you again in our hotel.

KInd Regards,
your ARCOTEL Wimberger team!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wichita, Kansas
Level Contributor
72 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed May 20, 2013

Vienna is clean and seemly affluent. This hotel has a Hoffer grocery store about three blocks to the left of the hotel door. Also, in the same vicinity there is a subway station where you can buy a one-way ticket for 2 Euros each way. Make sure tickets are validate at the time of purchase or before entering the subway platform. Public transportation easy to use. Many of the electrical outlets are not practical or useful. If you want ice, you have to go down to the first floor bar.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MonTues
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ARCOTELWimbergerWien, Leiter Front Office at Arcotel Wimberger Hotel, responded to this review, May 26, 2013
Dear guest,

thank you very much for your feedback.
It would be great to welcome you again in our hotel.

Kind Regards,

your ARCOTEL Wimberger team!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mexico City, Mexico
Level Contributor
222 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed May 16, 2013

If you want to stay in a very nice Hotel with wondelfull food this is it. It is not far from Stephan Platz where mosst of Viena's life is and the subway is one block away. he rooms are spacious with Antique decoration with nice taste. Breakfast is one of the largest buffets I've seen with food for all tastes. The subway will take you anywhere. If you will like to try Austrian food there is a nice restaurant just across the corner.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carolina B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ARCOTELWimbergerWien, Leiter Front Office at Arcotel Wimberger Hotel, responded to this review, May 26, 2013
Dear guest,

thank you very much for your feedback.
It would be great to welcome you again in our hotel.

Kind Regards,
your ARCOTEL Wimberger team!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed May 15, 2013

We have been unfortunate to get the room facing the street. There are 3 traffic lines in each direction, and a tram line in the middle - straight beneath the windows. Even from the 6th floor we were listening to the traffic noise all the time during our stay, day and night.
It is even more upsetting that I asked for a quiet room when making the reservation. I was then assured by the staff that it was quiet when we were checking in. Having discovered the actual situation, we went down to the reception and asked for another room. They sent us to apparently the only available quiter room. It turned out to be a smaller one with a terrible smell inside, of obviously lower rate - though noone mentioned we would be charged less. We then returned to the noisy room.
Otherwise, we would probably have liked the place. Large and clean room and bathroom (though it was difficult to have a shower without spilling water on the floor), double bed, working airconditioning, complimentary red apples and water.
The hotel is a 5 minutes walk to the tube station, Westbanhof and parking (with Sixt there), but the walk itself is not a pleasant one, given that you are going along the street with heavy traffic.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank OlgaMrg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ARCOTELWimbergerWien, Leiter Front Office at Arcotel Wimberger Hotel, responded to this review, May 17, 2013
Dear guest,

herewith we would like to thank you for your feedback during your stay in the ARCOTEL Wimberger.
We regret that you felt uncomfortable during your stay at the ARCOTEL Wimberger.
We are very sorry that the room was too noisy for you.
On this day, we were fully booked and we didn´t have rooms to the inside available.
We alway take care about the requests of our customers and we also took a note to your profile that you prefer a room to the courtyard but we also would like to inform you that it is not possible to guarantee it.
Hopefully you will give us the opportunity to disprove your negative impression of the ARCOTEL Wimberger on your next stay.

Kind Regards,
your ARCOTEL Wimberger team!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed May 7, 2013

This hotel is a brisk 30 minutes to the main attractions such as St Stephens the main church in downtown Vienna.
The room very good in size, but one light not working and both soap dispensers empty, when I advised the unfriendly front staff lady on duty at 5pm, she coldly advised this will be fixed in the morning. The floor towel had a very noticeable brown mark on it, I hope it was a rust mark, but I am not sure.
I do not recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rydeboi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ARCOTELWimbergerWien, Leiter Front Office at Arcotel Wimberger Hotel, responded to this review, May 12, 2013
Dear guest,

herewith we would like to thank you for your feedback during your stay in the ARCOTEL Wimberger.
We regret that you felt uncomfortable during your stay at the ARCOTEL Wimberger.
We are very sorry, that the soap was empty and the light was not working in your room.
We also would like to apologise that our front desk lady left a negative impression on you.
We already talked with our staff about your feedback.

Hopefully you will give us the opportunity to disprove your negative impression of the ARCOTEL Wimberger on your next stay.
It would be great, to welcome you again in our hotel.

Kind Regards,
your ARCOTEL Wimberger team!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisbon, Portugal
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed May 3, 2013

I stayed in this hotel for a couple of days on vacation, and was pleased with my choice.
The hotel is modern and the rooms are spacious and well equipped.
The staff is very friendly and made us a reservation for a concert on the same day, having to make a few phone calls. It seemed to be a business-oriented hotel and was very quiet.
The hotel is close to a metro station, although the line won't bring you directly to the tourists sites, and you'll have to switch on the next station.
The hotel is very close to Westbahnhof train station, so if you come by train it will be a very good choice, as it was the case for us.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AndAlmeida
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ARCOTELWimbergerWien, Leiter Front Office at Arcotel Wimberger Hotel, responded to this review, May 7, 2013
Dear guest,

thank you very much for your feedback.
We are glad, that you enjoyed your stay in ARCOTEL Wimberger.
It would be great, to welcome you again in our hotel.

Kind Regards,
your ARCOTEL Wimberger team!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Vienna hotels
Ottakring
Boutique Hotel Donauwalzer
Neubau
Fleming's Hotel Wien-Westbahnhof
Arcotel Kaiserwasser
#127 of 361 in Vienna
4.0 of 5 bubbles 649 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Neubau
IntercityHotel Vienna
IntercityHotel Vienna
#164 of 361 in Vienna
4.0 of 5 bubbles 584 reviews
Margareten
Ibis Wien City
Ibis Wien City
#105 of 361 in Vienna
4.0 of 5 bubbles 869 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Arcotel Wimberger Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arcotel Wimberger Hotel

Property: Arcotel Wimberger Hotel
Address: Neubauguertel 34-36, Vienna 1070, Austria
Location: Austria > Vienna Region > Vienna > Neubau , Schottenfeld
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#22 Spa Hotel in Vienna
#114 Luxury Hotel in Vienna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Arcotel Wimberger Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 225
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The ARCOTEL Wimberger is located in Vienna’s vibrant 7th district and is a charismatic hotel with 225 rooms. A legend in Vienna since 1871 the hotel remains a popular place for celebrities, artists and cosmopolitan types to stay.The hotel’s central location makes it perfect for fans of art and culture as well as those who love to shop. Close by are Vienna’s main shopping boulevard, the Mariahilfer Straße, the Wiener Stadthalle, the city’s major concert venue, and numerous galleries and boutiques. The city’s museum quarter is also just a few minutes away either on foot or by public transport.The hotel has its own restaurant, the Restaurant WIMBERGERs wia z'Haus which serves traditional Viennese dishes and also boasts the most famous brunch anywhere in the city - WIMBERGERs Jazzbrunch. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Agoda, Priceline, Cancelon, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Arcotel Wimberger Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Arcotel Wimberger Vienna
Arcotel Wimberger Hotel Vienna

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing