We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Arcotel Wimberger Hotel
Ranked #161 of 361 Hotels in Vienna
Ottawa, Ontario
Level 6 Contributor
143 reviews
90 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Very good hotel”
Reviewed October 8, 2012

We were quite pleased with our room - it was clean and comfortable. We also got decent pillows there, for which we were grateful. However, the hotel has its weak points:

(1) Location. This was the choice of Globus, so we had no say in the matter. It wasn't bad (on the west side of the broad boulevard that separates the 7th district from the 15th. But, it is a very long walk to the central part of the city and one really needs to get a 24 hour transit pass if one is staying at the Wimberger. Fortunately, one can get the pass at the front desk for 6.70 euros (currently). We took the subway from Westbahnhof into Stephansplatz and back on our full day in Vienna, but later the #49 tram near the hotel to get to our restaurant that evening.

(2) The breakfast buffet was chaotic and poorly organized, in our view. There was ample selection and the food was ok, but the buffet should be better set up.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ottawa_retiree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

786 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    198
    345
    163
    40
    40
See reviews for
140
317
54
115
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
tipperary
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed September 17, 2012

My husband and I stayed in the Arcotel Wimberger Vienna for 6 nights. I have to say that I everything about the hotel was first class. Our room was spacious and well equipped. The hotel is bright and airy and the staff were all more than helpful. The breakfast buffet was excellent with a huge choice of foods. The only negative thing I found was that the jaccuzzi was out of order while we were there and we were looking forward to relaxing after long days sightseeing.

Room Tip: We had a courtyard facing room which we found to be very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank costadreamer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ARCOTELWimbergerWien, Front Office Manager at Arcotel Wimberger Hotel, responded to this review, September 21, 2012
Dear guest, thank you very much for your kind feedback.
We would like to thank you for your stay at ARCOTEL Wimberger and we are glad that you enjoyed our service.
We are very sorry that there were some technical issues with the jaccuzzi during your stay but we hope that we can welcome you again at ARCOTEL Wimberger and that you can also enjoy our jaccuzzi at your next stay.
Kind regards, your ARCOTEL Wimberger team!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed September 9, 2012

Had a one night stay in the hotel. The rooms are nice and spacious, but quite basic. The staff are friendly.
Hotel is clean, but requires renovation. Breakfast is extraordinary good.
The hotel is located in a central spot

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kobiK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ARCOTELWimbergerWien, Front Office Manager at Arcotel Wimberger Hotel, responded to this review, September 13, 2012
Dear guest, thank you very much for your feedback. We are glad, that you enjoyed your stay in our ARCOTEL Wimberger. We also wanted to tell you that there will be some renovations within the next weeks. It would be great to welcome you again in our hotel. Kind Regards, your ARCOTEL Wimberger team!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doha, Qatar
Level 4 Contributor
20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
Reviewed September 7, 2012

Me and my husband stayed here for 2 nights in August. Wouldn't rate it four star. We had reserved a double bed room. Luckily we got upgraded to a better room because of unavailability, but the room were only ok for a 4 star hotel. Even though the rooms had air con, the room was still hot. So the staff provided us a fan. Bathroom was good and spacious. Breakfast and wifi is free. Excellent and wide choice in breakfast. The hotel is in a good location,there mite be few "clubs" nearby,but it did not bother us in anyway. Its a 10 - 15 mins walk from the railway station. Limited restaurants and shops near to the hotel.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JenLen11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ARCOTELWimbergerWien, Manager at Arcotel Wimberger Hotel, responded to this review, September 18, 2012
Dear guest,
thank you very much for your feedback.
We are very sorry that there were some technical issues with the air condition which we already managed to clearify.
Our hotel is located centrally and in five minutes walking distance to the railway station "Westbahnhof" and Austria´s biggest shopping street "Mariahilferstraße" .
We would like to thank you for your stay at ARCOTEL Wimberger and hope to welcome you again.
Kind regards, your ARCOTEL Wimberger team!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Level 6 Contributor
112 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
Reviewed August 27, 2012

We stayed in this hotel for 2 nights in August 2012. Though we had specially requested for an early check in, we didnt get the room and had to pay extra to get a superior room. The room is a bit hot though the air condition is working. But the hotel staff was kind enough to provide a fan in the room. Moreover, they also provided a baby cot for my son. The breakfast is very good. There was a wide variety of choices. The room is neat and the hotel is close to the station.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EmilAlex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ARCOTELWimbergerWien, Manager at Arcotel Wimberger Hotel, responded to this review, September 18, 2012
Dear guest, first of all we would like to thank you for your feedback.
Check in is is from 2:00 p.m.. We gladly provide the possibility to check in at a prior time but when we are fully booked on the day before, it might be not possible to get in the room earlier.
We are glad that you enjoyed our service and it would be great to welcome you again at ARCOTEL Wimberger. Your ARCOTEL Wimberger team!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisbon, Portugal
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 6, 2012

Stayed for 2 nights. Rooms are large with good sleeping quality and good furniture, just the carpet is very outdated. Hotel is clean and breakfast is excelent! A lot of variety, good products and a good service.
There is some reviews that say that the hotel is located in bad area. There are a few "clubs" nearby but it doesn't mean that is bad located, I always felt safe and I even walked to the city center at night (took me around 20 minutes). You can also take the metro downtown, city center is only a couple stations away and there is one right across the hotel.
I would recommend this hotel

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GFdC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 15, 2012 via mobile

The Arcotel is clean, fairly good quality and good for a short stay. WiFi is available but frustratingly slow. Beds v comfortable and bathroom nice. We paid €50 for one night which is well below the going rate so were happy with what we had. Hotel is a 10min walk from the Westbahnhof and area isn't great - bit rundown, some sex shops and girls in windows, however this didn't particularly bother us.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank thehungryheron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Vienna hotels
Arcotel Kaiserwasser
#132 of 361 in Vienna
676 reviews
Neubau
Fleming's Conference Hotel Wien
Mariahilf
Austria Trend Hotel Anatol Wien
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ottakring
Boutique Hotel Donauwalzer
Renaissance Wien Hotel
#72 of 361 in Vienna
1,105 reviews
Neubau
IntercityHotel Vienna
IntercityHotel Vienna
#167 of 361 in Vienna
598 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Arcotel Wimberger Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arcotel Wimberger Hotel

Property: Arcotel Wimberger Hotel
Address: Neubauguertel 34-36, Vienna 1070, Austria
Location: Austria > Vienna Region > Vienna > Neubau , Schottenfeld
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#22 Spa Hotel in Vienna
#115 Luxury Hotel in Vienna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Arcotel Wimberger Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 225
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The ARCOTEL Wimberger is located in Vienna’s vibrant 7th district and is a charismatic hotel with 225 rooms. A legend in Vienna since 1871 the hotel remains a popular place for celebrities, artists and cosmopolitan types to stay.The hotel’s central location makes it perfect for fans of art and culture as well as those who love to shop. Close by are Vienna’s main shopping boulevard, the Mariahilfer Straße, the Wiener Stadthalle, the city’s major concert venue, and numerous galleries and boutiques. The city’s museum quarter is also just a few minutes away either on foot or by public transport.The hotel has its own restaurant, the Restaurant WIMBERGERs wia z'Haus which serves traditional Viennese dishes and also boasts the most famous brunch anywhere in the city - WIMBERGERs Jazzbrunch. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Cancelon, Agoda, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Arcotel Wimberger Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Arcotel Wimberger Vienna
Arcotel Wimberger Hotel Vienna

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing