We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very nice hotel, not the best location” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Arcotel Wimberger Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Arcotel Wimberger Hotel
Ranked #147 of 367 Hotels in Vienna
Spartanburg, South Carolina
Level Contributor
81 reviews
74 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Very nice hotel, not the best location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2012

Got a great deal on this hotel through Expedia, and was happy it was so close to the train station where we were arriving. Unfortunately, the area around the train station isn't the best. There are numerous strip clubs and lots of questionable people hanging about. There are also no restaurants to eat at, aside from the fast food type places at the train station, or the overpriced restaurant in the hotel. There is a grocery story on the same block though which was a plus, and it is right by a main metro and tram line. If you stay here I would definitely suggest eating elsewhere before heading back to the hotel, and being careful after dark.

Aside from the location though, the rooms were great! Our room was quite large, and even had a pull-out couch. The bathroom is nice too, and everything was very clean. The staff was very helpful, and even gave us a free welcome drink b/c our room wasn't quite ready when we checked in. Internet is free as well.

We did enjoy our stay but I am not sure we would stay again simply b/c of the area. I prefer a place where I can walk to restaurants nearby and not worry about safety. The hotel itself though is very nice and was a great value.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank scmommy8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

734 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    187
    327
    149
    35
    36
See reviews for
131
297
50
109
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 25, 2012

we enjoyed our 5 night stay. The only complaint is that the room got stuffy and the air conditioning did not overcome this. The staff were all helpful. The location was fine.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank valueoriented129
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 25, 2012 via mobile

We stayed here 3 nights and were very delighted with out choice. The hotel is perfectly located if you consider using public transport, making daily trip to another city (like Bratislava). If you like long walks, you can reach all attractions by walking, too. The only negative point of location is the surroundings, which is actually almost same anywhere located close to central train stations.
The room was big, bright, clean and very comfortable. It was hard to leave our room to see the attractions. If you have busy trip agenda and come back to the hotel very tired, this is the perfect hotel to relax down and get ready for the next day.
We could also enjoy the very delicious breakfast. No matter what your breakfast choice is, you'd find something for you. We had breakfast included room booking; I don't know how much it separately costs. But it worths having breakfast in the hotel.
We made only good experience with the staff. They were friendly and helpful. Even we called them at 10pm and asked for something additional; they came within couple of minutes and solved the issue very quickly.
We made very good experience and will stay in Arcotel Wimberger for our next Vienna trip, for sure.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Simofor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oklahoma
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 21, 2012

We stayed three nights at the Arcotel Wimberger in Vienna. The location of the hotel is ideal for the closure to the WestBanhof, one Tram terminal and an underground public train system. Unfortunately the nudy bars in front of the Hotel are the only negative in my opinion.

The rooms were very clean with lots of space for your clothes and a nice bathroom. Beds were comfortable and nice beautiful furniture. Free Wifi. You get a mini bar in the room (stop!! look first for the prices then decide).

Been a "Trendy/Modern" Hotel you will have to deal with some negatives that I experience.

- Staff are what we call "by the book" rule followers. You ask or inquire about something and there is no way to get a straight answer.
- Door shower was useless in keeping from spilling water to the floor (modern innovation vs. a simple shower curtain) which creates a hazard (wet floors)
- Trying to figure it out how to use the wireless phone. Not even instructions were provided.
- Extra charges for other things. Please read carefully before using them.

I didn't use the restaurant nor the bar so I have no opinion to give you. I did inquire about the breakfast but the price per person kept me out.

In general is a nice hotel and service but not perfect as they want to be viewed.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank iskch1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle
Level Contributor
21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 18, 2012

We stayed for three nights at the Arcotel Wimberger at Easter time and were very satisfied. The strengths of this hotel for us were: location and access to metro, direct line to Stevensplatz, comfort of room, very helpful staff and quality of breakfast. Given the busyness of Vienna at this time of year the ease with which we were able to access the highlights of Vienna without having to pay top dollar for a hotel in the centre of the city was a great advantage of the Arcotel. The staff both at reception, room service and at breakfast were very pleasant and always helpful. We would certainly stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Knightsupporter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Russia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 14, 2012

Splendid and yet comfortable atmosphere of the place, the high quality services of the professional personnel combined with outstanding cuisine of the restaurant. I felt welcome and that made my stay at Arcotel Wimberger truly enjoyable!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank E-Kat T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Utrecht, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
40 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 27, 2012

Stayed here for one night. Big hotel, quite near Westbahnhof (Streetcars stop almost in front of the hotel).. Well maintained room on a quiet " inside Hof" AC worked properly. Big, big restaurant with hughe breakfast buffet. Hotel is targeted on groups and therefor hundreds of people at the breakfast.
Decent hotel for a stay in Vienna; don't expect something typical Austrian here though: hotel is somewhat of a good 13 in a dozen venue.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank trainriderUtrecht
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Vienna hotels
Neubau
Fleming's Hotel Wien-Westbahnhof
Neubau
IntercityHotel Vienna
IntercityHotel Vienna
#157 of 367 in Vienna
4.0 of 5 bubbles 565 reviews
Ottakring
Boutique Hotel Donauwalzer
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Arcotel Kaiserwasser
#124 of 367 in Vienna
4.0 of 5 bubbles 634 reviews
Mariahilf
Leonardo Hotel Vienna
Leonardo Hotel Vienna
#160 of 367 in Vienna
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,001 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Arcotel Wimberger Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arcotel Wimberger Hotel

Property: Arcotel Wimberger Hotel
Address: Neubauguertel 34-36, Vienna 1070, Austria
Location: Austria > Vienna Region > Vienna > Neubau , Schottenfeld
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#21 Spa Hotel in Vienna
#108 Luxury Hotel in Vienna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Arcotel Wimberger Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 225
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The ARCOTEL Wimberger is located in Vienna’s vibrant 7th district and is a charismatic hotel with 225 rooms. A legend in Vienna since 1871 the hotel remains a popular place for celebrities, artists and cosmopolitan types to stay.The hotel’s central location makes it perfect for fans of art and culture as well as those who love to shop. Close by are Vienna’s main shopping boulevard, the Mariahilfer Straße, the Wiener Stadthalle, the city’s major concert venue, and numerous galleries and boutiques. The city’s museum quarter is also just a few minutes away either on foot or by public transport.The hotel has its own restaurant, the Restaurant WIMBERGERs wia z'Haus which serves traditional Viennese dishes and also boasts the most famous brunch anywhere in the city - WIMBERGERs Jazzbrunch. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Arcotel Wimberger Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Arcotel Wimberger Vienna
Arcotel Wimberger Hotel Vienna

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing