We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Would stay here again”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Novum Hotel Congress Wien am Hauptbahnhof
Ranked #334 of 360 Hotels in Vienna
San Francisco
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Would stay here again”
Reviewed May 13, 2010

Not the most fashionable location in Vienna, but close to the metro and the Sudbahnhof. This is a budget hotel with remodeled rooms. There were original oil paintings, which is not something you see everywhere. The staff have tried to make this a pleasant place to stay. I felt like I got my money's worth.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fermi_paradox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

281 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    21
    70
    93
    36
    61
See reviews for
40
90
52
36
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Den Haag
Level 5 Contributor
77 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed December 28, 2009

This is a really cute hotel, but what makes it good is the staff! They are EXTREMELY helpful and paitent. I think the walls are a little thin.. in the fact I can hear when someone is entering a neighboring room, but other than that it was well worth the money considering the similar hotels in the area.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mutinyluv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Devon
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed December 13, 2009

Despite the unfavourable reviews, four of us stayed in this hotel in two rooms for three nights last week. I get the impression that people expect 5 star quality for 3 star prices. We all thought breakfast was very good with both hot and cold choices. Remember that breakfast on the continent is not the typical English breakfast. Our room was facing the back so the view was nothing to write home about. It was clean and warm with a good bed, which is all we required after all the walking we did in Vienna. The cleaning lady came every day, changing the towels and tidying up. We had a big bathroom with a shower in the bath and a hairdryer. There is also a TV and fridge in the room. No tea making facilities, we always take our own kettle, etc on the continent as most hotels do not supply. It is close to the underground, although we walked everywhere (and we are all in our 60's). All the hotel staff were friendly and very helpful. I would have no hesitation is staying there again.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JohnMNorthDevon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saskatoon Canada
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed September 27, 2009

I was only in Vienna for one night so this hotel was fine. Close to sudbahn train stn, clean, safe, walking distance to Belvedere Palace. Multi-lingual staff.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank takayaV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 17, 2009

Probably wouldn't stay there again. The people at the front desk were nice enough, and the property is close to some sights. You need to take a tram or walk to see most things though. My room was very small, but it was a room. It is very close to SudBahnhof, which can be a good thing. I took a day trip to Bratislava from this station. They had a breakfast every morning, which wasn't any thing special, but it was free. If I were to visit Vienna again, I would want to stay closer to the action though.

  • Stayed July 2008, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank arbrenner1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Vienna hotels

Stockholm
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 6, 2007

I chose this hotel for a business trip because of the convenient location relative to the premises I was to visit, despite the rather unsavoury neighbourhood.

Unfortunately, after checking in I discovered that the room I was booked in was abysmal. Cracks in the wall, large patches of moisture on the walls, absurdly hard beds. Also, the only source of light above the bed was a naked halogen lamp (!) (I wondered about the danger of ignition from that, so I turned it on as little as possible).

The bathroom was tolerably furnished and cleaned, though.

Overall, despite the rather friendly management this hotel is not fit for human habitation and ought to have been renovated years ago.

  • Liked — Checking out
  • Disliked — Horrible room
  • Stayed May 2006, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank BaryonicLord
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Vienna hotels
Neubau
Novum Hotel Kaffeemuehle
Novum Hotel Kaffeemuehle
#270 of 360 in Vienna
253 reviews
AZIMUT Hotel Vienna
#184 of 360 in Vienna
668 reviews
Ibis Wien Hauptbahnhof
#237 of 360 in Vienna
12 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Leopoldstadt
Novum Hotel Cristall Wien Messe
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Novum Hotel Congress Wien am Hauptbahnhof? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novum Hotel Congress Wien am Hauptbahnhof

Property: Novum Hotel Congress Wien am Hauptbahnhof
Address: Wiedner Guertel 34, Vienna 1040, Austria
Location: Austria > Vienna Region > Vienna > Wieden
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #334 of 360 Hotels in Vienna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Novum Hotel Congress Wien am Hauptbahnhof 3*
Number of rooms: 76
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Novum Hotel Congress Vienna is located at the main station in a building dating from 1900 and is centrally located near the new central train station. It offers a typical Austrian atmosphere. The 76 rooms are functional but stylishly furnished and have private bathroom with shower and toilet, satellite TV and hairdryer. A full buffet breakfast is served in our restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Cancelon and Hotwire so you can book your Novum Hotel Congress Wien am Hauptbahnhof reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Congress Hotel Vienna

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing