We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It could be better”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Novum Hotel Congress Wien am Hauptbahnhof
Ranked #333 of 360 Hotels in Vienna
Milan, Italy
1 review
“It could be better”
Reviewed May 16, 2014

Room was big enough, bed was good and very quiet to sleep.
Bathroom was bad, shower without a protection barrier to avoid water all over the room, toilet bowl was not screwed in the floor.
Hotel concierge very helpful, kind and courteous.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with BudgetPlaces

Helpful?
Thank Alessandro G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

275 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    20
    67
    93
    35
    60
See reviews for
40
88
51
35
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sofia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 10, 2014

I have choosed to stay at this hotel because of the good location, price and stars rating. I have always believe that 3 stars hotels are a better place to stay for a few days holiday. I don't know who gave those stars to the hotel, but he/ she has made a big mistake. When I was coming back to the room in the evening I found that my wallet was missing from my rucksack, with my driving licence, credit cards and cash in it. I've closed it in the morning and later when I came back it was largely open. I went down to the front desk to tell what was happened. The employee told me to wait until the morning to call the police and then the manager may look to the cameras. I asked the lady to call the police. On the next morning, another employee told me that he doesn't know if the manager will come to the hotel and that the manager only has the password for the cameras. No manager at all for these two days. Nobody asked the housekeeping which lady has cleaned the room, nobody has looked to the cameras, absolutely nothing. I am totally disappointed of that attitude. I haven't even receive any excuse about that.
The staff is really unhelpful. I can't believe that this happened to me in Vienna, one of the best cities in the world... When I sent a complaint to the hotel management, the manager answered me that may be I've took my wallet with me during the day and somebody take it from the outside. However I'm not a sclerosis 78 year old lady and my bag wasn't open itself because it was bored to stay alone in the room all day long.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Daniela R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Vienna hotels

Austria
Level Contributor
85 reviews
85 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed April 25, 2014

The hotel is located directly at the Gürtel which isn't exactly a nice location but its just a few meters from the U1 station that takes you to the heart of the city. Nothing fancy, but pretty ok for the money. The rooms are a bit outdated and the walls are thin but you can't expect a hilton in that price range. Breakfast is ok - for the price more than I expected. Staff is friendly. All in all a good bugdet hotel if you don't expect more than you payed for.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gert B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zrenjanin, Serbia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed March 25, 2014 via mobile

It is almost a terrible hotel near railway station. It is a hotel for max one night. Rooms are spacious but not clean especially bathroom. Poor sleep quality. Breakfast is ok. Hotel is two metro station away from the opera and three from the cathedral. Parking is not for free (some sites said it is free). You must pay a day ticket (10€) Hotel needs urgently renovation! Friendly staff!

Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank jovan_zr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashkelon, Israel
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed February 11, 2014 via mobile

Spent 4 night here,paid 158Euro breakfast included. Room for one is small with the window almost impossible to open because it's blocked by the head board of the bed, there's a tinny and old TV with Austrian channels and CNN , there's also a mini fridge, the room has no ventilation because you can't even open the window. Bathroom is tinny with 1 piece if soap and 1piece of shampoo. Flashing the toilet was tricky because water pressure is awful. Don't try to wash your hair you won't be able to wash the shampoo off, in the shower feels like the water goes everywhere but not on you, heater in the bathroom didn't work so it was a bit cold to get out from the tinny shower. Staff is ok, didn't ask them anything so can't sat if they're helpful or not.
Hotel is close to the metro station and just across the road from the new train station Hauptbahnhof. The neighborhood is ok though as a single woman traveler I didn't feel completely safe going alone there after dark. There are no restaurants or shops near the hotel.
The only thing that was very good was breakfast with a lot of choice so that was a good way to start the day but after sightseeing for the whole day the thought of going back to the room in this hotel was depressing.
Overall I guess I got what I paid for and didn't expect much but that hotel was way bellow any basic expectations.
Will not stay here again, my advise is pay more but go to a basic but nice hotel near city center.

Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank ritashor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Vienna hotels
AZIMUT Hotel Vienna
#191 of 360 in Vienna
661 reviews
Hotel Kolbeck
#214 of 360 in Vienna
217 reviews
Neubau
Novum Hotel Kaffeemuehle
Novum Hotel Kaffeemuehle
#271 of 360 in Vienna
250 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Leopoldstadt
Novum Hotel Cristall Wien Messe
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Novum Hotel Congress Wien am Hauptbahnhof? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novum Hotel Congress Wien am Hauptbahnhof

Property: Novum Hotel Congress Wien am Hauptbahnhof
Address: Wiedner Guertel 34, Vienna 1040, Austria
Location: Austria > Vienna Region > Vienna > Wieden
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #333 of 360 Hotels in Vienna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Novum Hotel Congress Wien am Hauptbahnhof 3*
Number of rooms: 76
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Novum Hotel Congress Vienna is located at the main station in a building dating from 1900 and is centrally located near the new central train station. It offers a typical Austrian atmosphere. The 76 rooms are functional but stylishly furnished and have private bathroom with shower and toilet, satellite TV and hairdryer. A full buffet breakfast is served in our restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotel.de and Priceline so you can book your Novum Hotel Congress Wien am Hauptbahnhof reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Congress Hotel Vienna

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing