We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good value for money” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Novum Hotel Congress Wien am Hauptbahnhof

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Novum Hotel Congress Wien am Hauptbahnhof
Ranked #339 of 367 Hotels in Vienna
Saint Petersburg, Russia
Level Contributor
23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Good value for money”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 8, 2013

Good hotel close to subway. 20 minute walk to the Opera (city center). Varied and tasty breakfast. Service on 10 of 10, friendly staff. The rooms are very warm (sometimes too) and clean. Thin doors (heard talk), but sleep well. Elevator, fridge, plenty of hangers - all or the people.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Margarita_Miu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

261 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    19
    61
    89
    34
    58
See reviews for
37
86
47
33
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bavaria, Germany
Level Contributor
31 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 3, 2013

Stayed here over New Years and it was a last minute choice so there was limited selection. Paid almost double the usual rate for a single room - understandable as Vienna is very popular at this time.

Staff were EXTREMELY helpful and the reception is manned 24hrs. Cleaning and cooking staff deserve kudos as well for a job well done. The location is good for the new main train station but the street out front has the potential to be loud.

My only complaint is that the photos on the hotels website and some travel sites do not represent the SINGLE room I had: it was functional but tiny and I would never have booked if I had known before hand. The bed was barely big enough to sleep in (I am only 175cm [5'9"]) - for a child alone it would be fine but a full grown adult I would call it a day-bed.

Room Tip: I would not recommend a SINGLE room here. Doubles might be ok.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Odian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairo, Egypt
Level Contributor
96 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 14, 2012

Amazing Friendly Staff, welling to help when it comes almost to everything, special Thanks To Daphne & Anna they are just amazing, they did everything in hand to make our stay worthy, we checked out and headed to Prague for 2 days, and when we got back we stayed again our last night there, its 30 seconds away from the U Bahn metro station, 1 min away from the Train station, its just amazing, The breakfast just perfect, so delicious, they also got luggage room and they kept our luggage for free,

Room Tip: Pick The Rooms by the main street, 507 , 407,307 just a perfect choice
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MohammedKhaled
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
93 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 26, 2012

We stayed in this hotel on a tour after staying in a few hostels so it really was a treat to have a beautifully comfortable bed, albeit two singles pushed together to make a double bed, normal in Europe but annoying for couples. Room faced a busy road, so not possible to have windows open for long but it was fine. Bathroom is looking a bit dated but fine. Nice basic breakfast. Close to metro stop, great for exploring Vienna. Free wifi in lobby. Would stay again but would request courtyard room. There is a lift for luggage.

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank JJroses
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 28, 2012

We chose this hotel for the price and location. The center of Vienna is walkable from the hotel. If you are driving, street parking is available by purchasing a permit in the hotel. The hotel is certainly NOT modern and sophisticated, but the price is affordable for Vienna. We had a 2 room suite for 3 adults (1 couple, 1 single) and it was clean and comfortable. We didn't spend time in the room other than sleeping and showering so it was perfect. Breakfast was fresh and generous and kept us going for our Vienna exploration. If you are looking for a no frills hotel, this hotel adequately meets the need.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stephanie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
France
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 6, 2012

This Is a well located hotel, near the center and 50m from metro station. Réception staff very welcoming and helpfull . Stayed in room 3 on the ground floor, small but clean and very hot ( had to open the window to cool the room), with confortable bed. Bathroom need updating, the shower head was stuck with calcaire and did not let the water through properly. Bad isolation, people on the corridor can be heard clearly. Breakfast ok, included savoury and sweet options.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Odei
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melksham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 4, 2012

I stayed at this hotel for five nights in late September, 2012. Being on a six-lane ring-road I wondered if it would be noisy - not a bit!!The weather was hot (up to 29c. each day) but with the window open at night there was no traffic noise whatsoever. Staff very helpful & all speak excellent English. Room (single) was a good size, everything worked & I had no cause to complain about anything. Convenient for sightseeing in the South-Eastern quarter of Vienna, (Belvedere Palace complex & army museum a five minute walk) U-bahn/S-bahn station (SudTirolerplatz less than five minutes walk. Vienna airport 50 minutes bu S-bahn. I would thoroughly recommend this hotel - & would use it again myself. Air-con in room worked without any noise.

Room Tip: Request a fifth-floor room at rear of hotel - very quiet!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Richard L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Vienna hotels
Hotel Kolbeck
#205 of 367 in Vienna
4.0 of 5 bubbles 212 reviews
Leopoldstadt
Novum Hotel Cristall Wien Messe
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ottakring
A&O Wien Stadthalle
A&O Wien Stadthalle
#264 of 367 in Vienna
3.5 of 5 bubbles 289 reviews
Wieden
Attache Hotel Pension
Attache Hotel Pension
#326 of 367 in Vienna
3.0 of 5 bubbles 122 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Novum Hotel Congress Wien am Hauptbahnhof? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novum Hotel Congress Wien am Hauptbahnhof

Property: Novum Hotel Congress Wien am Hauptbahnhof
Address: Wiedner Guertel 34, Vienna 1040, Austria
Location: Austria > Vienna Region > Vienna > Wieden
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #339 of 367 Hotels in Vienna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Novum Hotel Congress Wien am Hauptbahnhof 3*
Number of rooms: 76
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Novum Hotel Congress Vienna is located at the main station in a building dating from 1900 and is centrally located near the new central train station. It offers a typical Austrian atmosphere. The 76 rooms are functional but stylishly furnished and have private bathroom with shower and toilet, satellite TV and hairdryer. A full buffet breakfast is served in our restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia and Priceline so you can book your Novum Hotel Congress Wien am Hauptbahnhof reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Congress Hotel Vienna

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing