We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“No way this is a 4 star hotel”
2 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Boltzmann

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Boltzmann
Ranked #199 of 362 Hotels in Vienna
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“No way this is a 4 star hotel”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 31, 2012

I stay in hotels all over Europe. Granted this is my first trip to Vienna, but this is NOT a 4 star hotel. It's quite old and very disappointing. After getting to my first room, I went down and asked about the star rating - I thought I had it wrong or maybe the rating had recently been downgraded. They acted "shocked", but did agree to move to an "upgraded" room. This room has a nicer bathroom (recently remodeled), but the carpet and furniture could also use an update. Thankfully, I'm only here for 2 nights.

Room Tip: Stay in another hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sue K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

204 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    26
    97
    68
    8
    5
See reviews for
22
89
9
59
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Istanbul, Turkey
Level Contributor
69 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 21, 2012

If you are visiting Vienna for touristic purpose, I don't see any reason to pick this hotel among hundreds of choices.

Firstly, location of the hotel is inconvenient for me.
How to get there: First you should take U2 line in the metro and reach to Schottentor Universtat station. After you leave the metro, you should reach to tram line and pick either 40, 41 or 42. After two stations you reach to hotel. For me, using tram is not as easy as using metro. If you are coming from airport it is also long journey to take. From airport you must take S-bahn S7 and get off in Praterstern, then take U2 metro line and take off Schottentor and then take tram line 40, 41 or 42.

Apart from this, bathroom was awful. It was small, and they still use curtains for the bath tube which doesn't look comfortable. In the room, there was no air conditioning, which was also very shocking for a 4 star hotel. Decoration of the room was not appealing although we stayed in a Superior Double room. Superior Double Room had nothing superior.

Breakfast of the hotel was fair enough, I enjoyed in the breakfast as much as I enjoy in any other hotel.

In conclusion, I never ever stay in this hotel because of its location and room quality if I decide to stay in a 4 star hotel. Every 4 star hotel I have stayed so far in every country, is better than this one. Most of the 3 star hotels I experienced are also better than this one.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Murat S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Vienna hotels

Bristol
Level Contributor
31 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 22, 2012

This small hotel is well placed for both trams, buses and only two stops from the Underground.
We had no complaint about rooms at all - but the 14 euro breakfast is well overpriced. Beware they do not add this to your bill! We expressly emphasised we wanted no breakfast and still found it included on the invoice - nevertheless a good place to base yourself in this wonderful City.

Room Tip: Away from road (students in hostel can be noisy across road)
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Badock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kiev, Ukraine
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 21, 2012

If you arrive early morning be prepared to spend 4-6 hours anywhere, the check in time is exactly 14.00 (2 pm). Very tiny luggage room. Reception staff sometimes does not speak coherent English. If windows to the street - be ready to the noise until 4 am - the students hostel is in the nearby building. No conditioners in the rooms.
Cleaning service is good.

Room Tip: Warn in advice if you are non-smoker - if placed to the smoking room, you will have a chance to get...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Georgiy K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
Level Contributor
149 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 17, 2012

Pluses: Very near the University and just off Wahringer Strasse where there are trams. The Schottentor tram and subway stop is just a few blocks South (you can get your transportation passes there and stock up on beverages to circumvent the minibar). The hotel is scrupulously clean, and management seems on top of its game. The breakfast buffet was good -- lots of fresh food -- and well worth the money.

Minuses: No air conditioning, rooms are small, elevator is tiny. Immediate neighborhood is a little dull.

Room Tip: Low floor so you can use stairs and avoid elevator
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chienandalou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Koh Tao, Thailand
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 12, 2012

Stayed here for five nights. Good value but not 4 star standard. The hotel is in a good location. City centre is very accessible to walk or take tram. . The hotel is well maintained and very clean.The bed was rock hard and not very comfortable. I was on the fourth floor and it was very noisy. The room got too hot without the window open and other very noisy guests had the entire floor awake at five o clock in the morning one night. Staff are very friendly on the desk and helpful. Would not stay here again.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the street
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank emg77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, NY
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 21, 2012

Hotel Boltzmann is not located in the Inner District so please do not think you will step out the door and be in the middle of the Historic District. This is a good clean hotel located about a 15-20 minute walk from what you want to see but is an easy walk. If you want to step out the door and be there then this is not it.

The Hotel is Clean, the staff friendly and I had no problems with noise (although we did stay on an upper floor) The bath is nice with deep tubs to relay in, the breakfast in very adequate. I found it a good deal for the $.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Eileen J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Vienna hotels
Serviten Quarter
Hotel & Palais Strudlhof
Hotel & Palais Strudlhof
#124 of 362 in Vienna
4.0 of 5 bubbles 330 reviews
Alservorstadt
Atlanta Hotel
Atlanta Hotel
#230 of 362 in Vienna
3.5 of 5 bubbles 263 reviews
Bellevue Hotel
#198 of 362 in Vienna
3.5 of 5 bubbles 593 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Josefstadt
Hotel-Pension Baronesse
Hotel-Pension Baronesse
#208 of 362 in Vienna
4.0 of 5 bubbles 235 reviews
Serviten Quarter
Hotel Am Schottenpoint
Hotel Am Schottenpoint
#293 of 362 in Vienna
3.5 of 5 bubbles 88 reviews
Margareten
Ibis Wien City
Ibis Wien City
#109 of 362 in Vienna
4.0 of 5 bubbles 856 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Boltzmann? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Boltzmann

Property: Hotel Boltzmann
Address: Boltzmanngasse 8 | 1090 Wien, Vienna 1090, Austria (Formerly Arcotel Boltzmann )
Phone Number:
Location: Austria > Vienna Region > Vienna > Serviten Quarter , Alservorstadt
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#140 Luxury Hotel in Vienna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Boltzmann 4*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Boltzmann is a small but beautiful hotel in the heart of the elegant ninth district of Vienna. Behind the unassuming facade, the hotel offers a trendy interior, comfort, amenities and high service levels. It's friendly and relaxed atmosphere is complemented by modern facilities and comforts like flat screen TVs and cable TV, minibar and safe. Throughout the entire hotel and in all guest rooms high speed WIFI is free of charge. Modern and tastefully furnished rooms with air-conditioning, bath or shower / WC, hairdryer, telephone, wireless internet access, safe, flat screens, satellite TV and minibar invite guests to relax. At the bar guests can use a free internet terminal, printing of documents is also possible from there. The perfect start to the day is the hearty buffet breakfast, which can be enjoyed on the bamboo terrace in the summertime. The extensive breakfast buffet is of international standard. For guests arriving by car Hotel Boltzmann offers two solutions: In-house garage parking is available for small to medium sized cars, street parking for large cars. It is easy to feel comfortable in the chic and trendy environment of the hotel. Modern and classic architectural elements form a beautiful harmony. Due to its central, very quiet location in the university district, Hotel Boltzmann offers an ideal starting point for exploring Vienna. Impressive is the turn-of-the-century architecture of Servitenviertel, the Strudlhofstiege (open air staircase), which is situated directly behind the hotel, and a walk to the ring road with all its magnificent buildings takes only a few minutes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Boltzmann reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Arcotel Boltzmann Vienna
Arcotel Boltzmann Hotel Vienna

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing