We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent value for money”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Motel One Wien Westbahnhof
Ranked #86 of 358 Hotels in Vienna
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 30, 2012

Stayed here for two nights from 19 to 21 Oct 2012 while touring Austria and parts of Europe. The location is excellent for travelers as it is located in a train and metro hub, rooms were clean and breakfast was great. Staff were most helpful and there is a shopping center at the train station for all your needs. Most importantly Wifi is free and accessible in the room.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Aikido9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,193)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

400 - 406 of 1,193 reviews

Reviewed October 26, 2012

Stayed here in June. Great location to explore the city. Access to Tram Underground and train. Clean and modern. No in room phone. Breakfast was good value for the price. I would/will stay here again.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LisaB14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 22, 2012

I stayed for three nights for business in October 2012. Overall, although it is definitely not comparable with Mandarin Oriental, it is hard to beat the value for money. Especially for business, I would consider coming back. Let me list pros and cons.

Pros:
(1) Close to the area with a lot of bars and restaurants.
(2) Next to the Westbahnhof station, and there is a bus that connects between the airport and in front of the hotel.
(3) Seems very new building. Very clean. Very pleasant interior of the hotel.
(4) Cool interior, of the room especially for the price.
(5) Large room for European standard.
(6) Friendly and efficient staff.
(7) Good breakfast. Good hotel bar (although the staff was a bit inefficient).
(8) Not too far from, let's say, Museum Quarter. Like 15-20 min walk. 5 min with metro.
(9) Check in-out is very efficient (due to simplicity I guess: see Cons (2))
(10) It's next to the station, so you can buy stuff like water in the station shops.

Cons:
(1) Far from the tourism highlights. If you walk, it takes probably 45-60min to get to the canal.
(2) Very very very simple. No safety box. No iron. No phone! no minibar (who uses minibar these days?). No laundry bag. Amenity like shampoos are also limited (but you can ask the reception to get some).
(3) I was a bit worried leaving valuables in the room without safety box (I asked the front if they have a safety box behind the front desk and the answer was NO).
(4) Did I say it's very very simple?

Overall, if you don't mind the location (or your business is close to Westbahnhuf), and the simplicity, it is hard to beat. Personally, I take this price even if I am in Vienna for tourism, especially if I stay long.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank makoto n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 19, 2012

I stayed in the hotel in the second week in October 2012. This was a semi-emergency booking and I made it to stay the same day.

The staff all appeared to speak English and were more than happy to hold onto my bags for me when I turned up very early for the check-in.

The hotel's location is an easy walk into the center of Vienna along one of the main shopping street. The hotel is sited right next to the railway terminal and the tram hub; I am afraid I did not notice the availability of other transport such as buses,but I would imagine that they would be just as convenient.

A room for the night was sixty-nine euros which I though reasonable. The room itself was spacious clean, everything looked new and without wear. There were no wardrobes or draws and instead the room had hidden hanging space and shelves. I should imagine this would be inconvenient if you were staying for some time, or if you wanted to entertain. The room also lacked any bell and whistles in the way of fridge, kettle, or the like. This was not a problem for me as I rarely use them but I mention it for others.

Room Tip: The hotel is adjacent to a busy train station on one side, and a large tram junction on the other...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank travel_KCC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 16, 2012

We stayed at Motel One in Vienna for three days during the last week of September and were very pleased with this facility. The motel is only a couple of years old and hence is in immaculate condition. While the room was a bit small it was quite functional and well set up. Loved the walk-in shower especially! Have noticed some other travellers had issues with A/C - but wasn't an issue when we were there <outside temp. in the low 20's>. Our room was on the third flour facing in so was very quiet and easy to access. Three elevators made for no wait times and the open stairs made for a scenic walk down. The WiFi worked okay but had to access the password each time. As we had breakfast included in our rate the WiFi was also available. Found the ground floor lounge and outside sitting area most convenient. Staff were most accomodating and answered all questions with a smile. Fully conversant in English. We paid 390 Euro for three nights through Expedia which was good for that weekend as rooms were at a premium in Vienna. Judging from other posted rates perhaps one could find a better deal however. The breakfast was one of the better ones we had on our trip <especially compared to Italy> as had a wide variety of meats/bread/croissants as well as a fresh fruit bowl and boiled eggs.
The factor which really stands out is the location. It is literally attached to Westbahnhof train station which is a clean, modern facility. The public metro station is across the street as are above ground trains. We did walk downtown once which was only about 25 minutes. One mistake we made was taking a metered cab from the airport <45 Euros> as the airport bus also stops RIGHT in front of the motel <believe the cost is 6 Euros each passenger>.
We really liked this facility and would definitely stay there again!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TajanderStAlbert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 16, 2012

Stayed at this hotel which is ideally situated beside the Westbahnhof and U bahn stations. 5 stops on U Bahn from Swedensplatz and Stefansplatz area which is the lively centre at night ( less than 10mins journey). Rooms were clean and modern, bar staff friendly and attentive. No problems encountered. Bus stop outside runs regular timetable to the Airport which is very handy. I paid 69euro for a double room which was very reasonable for this hotel. Would stay there again but I do think this hotel is best suited to adult clientele or business travellers. All in all very good hotel

Room Tip: For a good night's sleep ask for a room overlooking the courtyard which is quieter at night
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NeilIssagum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 15, 2012

the hotel was new clean and very helpful city center and prices very good no resturant but so close to city center this is no problem bar staff were very helpful thanks Thomas and Daily
perfect right at the traian and metro stations and taxi stop

Room Tip: no bad rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Siberian-gerry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Vienna hotels
Dobling
Ibis Styles Wien City
Ibis Styles Wien City
#56 of 358 in Vienna
1,027 reviews
Mariahilf
Hotel ibis Wien Mariahilf
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Lucia
#51 of 358 in Vienna
670 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Motel One Wien Westbahnhof? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Motel One Wien Westbahnhof

Address: Europaplatz 3, Vienna 1150, Austria
Location: Austria > Vienna Region > Vienna
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #86 of 358 Hotels in Vienna
Price Range: $98 - $116 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Motel One Wien Westbahnhof 3*
Number of rooms: 438
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and Cancelon so you can book your Motel One Wien Westbahnhof reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing