We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely worth a visit!”
Review of Spezerei

Spezerei
Ranked #709 of 4,859 Restaurants in Vienna
Cuisines: Deli
Neighborhood: Leopoldstadt
Restaurant details
Neighborhood: Leopoldstadt
Reviewed April 16, 2018

We had a great evening at ‘Spezerei’. It’s a small and cosy restaurant with only 14 places. The owner is very kind and passionate about his food and wine. He waits and cooks himself. The pasta is homemade and tastes delicious!

Date of visit: April 2018
Thank Nora D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (66)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1 - 5 of 66 reviews

Reviewed April 9, 2018

This place has such a nice atmosphere! There were a lot of regulars when we were visiting, giving a homey and casual feeling. We had the pasta paired with some excellent Viennese wine. The owner does all the work all by himself and he is the friendliest character ever. No Viennese crankiness to be experienced here!

Date of visit: April 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Baya_Bay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 30, 2018 via mobile

Tiny restaurant (around 15 seats?) with a great atmosphere. Filled with locals. The owner/chef is very nice and spoke English to us as our German is not good yet :)
The food is very fresh - the beef carpaccio to start was beautiful.
Must book as very tiny. Cozy atmosphere and quite noisey in comparison to Vienna’s usual calm. Different atmosphere to the large and grand cafes in the centre of town.
A good choice if you feel like something different and intimate.

Date of visit: October 2017
Thank shanegrace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 14, 2017 via mobile

We stayed at the Hotel Stefanie, and after googling options for dinner I came across Spezerei. It is a warm and inviting restaurant in Vienna, just outside of the old town. Wolfgang is warm, personable and the food amazing. Trust his suggestions for wine. Wishing we would have visited sooner... dinner was outstanding. Pasta with feta and jalepeno. My husband had the sausage stew. We were both thrilled with our entrees. Dessert, a must!
What a pleasure to find such a great spot in the middle of a huge city. Thank you Wolfgang and staff!!

Date of visit: September 2017
Thank 482martaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 3, 2017 via mobile

Probably good products.
I had the pulpo and that was excellent but seems more as a starter as a main plate. Just a Primi?
Anyhow when back home my girlfriend was sick. She had some pasta and ice-cream.

Date of visit: August 2017
1  Thank Christel_Benjamin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SPEZEREIVIENNA, Owner at Spezerei, responded to this reviewResponded August 5, 2017

Dear Christel_Benjamin!

Yes the Pulpo Carpaccio was a primi in our menu! Maybe there was a misunderstanding when I explained the menu of the week. I can only assure you that all our meals are made freshly everyday and after thirteen years of SPEZEREI it is the first time we heard that someone got sick from our food. We had hundred of guests in the last days (many of them were regulars) and I got no negative feedback that something was not ok with one of our pasta-dishes or with the ice-cream. Nonetheless we are of course very sorry your girlfriend did not feel well.

Kindest Regards from Vienna

Wolfgang Salomon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Spezerei also viewed

Vienna, Vienna Region
Vienna, Vienna Region
 
Vienna, Vienna Region
Vienna, Vienna Region
 
Vienna, Vienna Region
Vienna, Vienna Region
 

Been to Spezerei? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing