We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Redeemed by the excellent staff”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Boutiquehotel Stadthalle
Ranked #13 of 359 Hotels in Vienna
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed September 19, 2013

A short walk from the Westbahnhof in Vienna, this is a well situated hotel in a quiet back street. First impressions were superb with a pleasant reception area and staff who simply couldn't do enough for us.

The room was spacious and very clean but had a few annoying quirks. Two single beds for a start rather than the double we had requested. Worse were the bathroom arrangements. There was a toilet in a separate room next to the shower room with the hygiene issues that entails - you had to operate two doors to be able to wash your hands. The toilet room was absolutely miniscule and incredibly claustrophobic with the door closed. The shower room was only a little bigger. All very strange given that the room was a thoroughly generous size.

The furniture was surprisingly old fashioned as was the old style carbon gobbling CRT TV. It was at this point that the green billing began to irk me. No mini bar for 'green' reasons, yet a huge Coke machine thundering away outside the lift on the ground floor... and of course no air conditioning either. It wasn't the cheapest hotel and for that reason I really got the impression they were cutting corners and justifying this with the green concept.

Breakfasts were generous in the usual European cold meat and cheese manner plus hot scrambled eggs. No teabags though - you had to make your own in some kind of bizarre DIY fashion.

All in all I was ready to give this a three when we left after our two nights at 5am in the morning to catch an early flight home. It was then that the quality of the staff shone through again - they have 24 hour reception and we were offered coffee and juice at such an unearthly hour - well above and beyond the call of duty. For that reason, it just about edged a four.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Obarmoth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stefania A, Leiter Gästebetreuung at Boutiquehotel Stadthalle, responded to this reviewResponded September 20, 2013

Dear Obarmoth,
Thank you for writing a review on TripAdvisor. We appreciate your feedback and thank you for recognizing our team.

We regret that your room did not match your expectations. It must have been a misunderstanding in our in-house communication. The beds in your room can either be used as a double bed (they push together & can be fixes so to provide one double bed with 2 separate mattresses) or they can be separated. We are truly sorry about the mistake of leaving the beds apart. Regarding the bathrooms: Most of our hotelrooms have the toilet separated from the bathroom. There are a few rooms where toilet and bathroom are provided in one room. We are happy to make a note in your guest file to provide one of these rooms upon your next stay.

The room you stayed in, is actually very often a favourised room of international guests. We combine traditional Biedermeier furniture, that was refurbished only 3 years ago with modern accents. You are right there is an older television set in the room. The reason is simply, that sustainability also means not throwing everything out just because it is older. We are aware that the device is no longer cutting edge technology, but sustainability also means for us to make use of the lifetime of the apparatus as long as quality can be provided.

Although your stay was not to your complete satisfaction, we would like to have the opportunity to restore your faith in our property. Should your travel plans lead to Vienna in the future, please do not hesitate to contact me directly stefania.aloia@hotelstadthalle.at and I will personally take care of your well-being.

Best regards,

Stefania Aloia
Quality Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,498)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

353 - 359 of 1,498 reviews

Reviewed September 17, 2013

We were intrigued by the hotel being "green" and thought this would be a great way to support an environmentally-friendly hotel. As others have stated, it is definitely not for hot weather. We stayed there during July and not only was it hot but also because of construction on the exterior of the hotel, we could not open the windows (there was a huge amount of dust). Even without construction, we probably would have had to keep the windows closed because of the mosquitoes. There ]was a small fan but it provided little relief.

Also the bathroom was odd. In fact, it looked as if it had been added after the room had been built and someone realized that they had forgotten to include a bathroom! The toilet has a translucent door and faces the bed, providing an interesting view for anyone sharing the room. Would not recommend for anyone who would like a bit of privacy.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Holly W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stefania A, Leiter Gästebetreuung at Boutiquehotel Stadthalle, responded to this reviewResponded September 20, 2013

Dear Holly,
Thank you for posting your comments on tripadvisor.com.

We are sorry we did not meet your expectations in regards to room design and decor. The hotel rooms are furnished with modern and classic bathrooms. In the town house part of our hotel we have classic bathrooms where the toilet and bathroom are separate by normal doors. If we had known during your stay, we could have tried to find a different room for you.

The feedback you provided will be very helpful for future reservations. Please contact me directly at stefania.aloia@hotelstadthalle.at and I will note down for your next visit that you would like to have a bathroom with traditional elegance.

We would like to apologize for the warm temperatures during your stay. We placed a fan in each room to help improve the situation a little bit. Please accept our sincerest apologies about the construction on our street façade. During the summer months we built a vertical garden on our façade. In the future you will be able to pick strawberries from your window!

We hope we may offer you our hospitality soon again and hope you will come back to see our new vertical garden for yourself. I would be more than happy to assist you personally with your reservation.

Best regards,

Stefania Aloia
Quality Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2013

I have stayed in this hotel a few times now. I always get a room for one with a little patio (#4?). It is quiet and there is a desk where I can work. Nice reading light above the bed, too. And not too small. To be "green" there aren't fridges in the room - but I can just pop over for a cup of tea in the lobby. Breakfast is fantastic - they even have soy milk. Not far to walk from the Stadthalle or to the Westbahnhof. The personnel is very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jean H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 8, 2013

The hotel is not inconveniently located, given that staying in the center of town costs about three times as much. Also you're about halfway between the town center and Schoenbrunn, the two major tourist areas so it's a really nice compromise. The subway is a few blocks walk so you can get to most typical destinations in 30 minutes or so.


The rooms are clean, reasonably sized for Europe, and very stylishly decorated; but not comfortable. The beds are tiny (I could barely fit in mine), the electricity only works when you're in the room so no charging your laptop while you're out; and the switches are so confusing the staff had to put up signs explaining where each switch is and what they do. It still took me several hours to find the light switch for the WC. This hotel is a triumph of form over function.


Worst of all (at least in August) and there's no air conditioning. The room was uncomfortably hot, even with the window open the four centimeters it opened. To make matters worse there were no sheets, just one large duvet that was far too heavy for the weather. Obviously this will depend on the time of year, but during summer stay away.


The Wifi works minimally, but it's one of those annoying standards non-conformant browser login pages that fails as often as it works and doesn't work well with cell phones.

Breakfast was Austrian style: mostly cold vegetables, cheese, processed meats, and fruit but they did have scrambled eggs. There was no cream or artificial sweetener for the coffee, just milk and sugar.

Room Tip: No idea. This supposed to be optional.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Charm H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stefania A, Leiter Gästebetreuung at Boutiquehotel Stadthalle, responded to this reviewResponded September 10, 2013

Dear “Elharo”,
Thank you very much for your feedback! We would like to express our sincere apologies because your stay with us did not meet your expectations. I can ensure you that if we had know during your stay about any of the above mentioned points we would have offered you a room change and would have had the opportunity to react and to take care of your personal requests immediately many of which would have been easy to solve.

We regret to hear that you were disappointed from your room. Our single beds are 90cm wide and 200cm long. We also offer single rooms with slightly larger beds of sizes of 140cm x 200cm.
I believe you stayed in a twin room in our passive house, where all the rooms are decorated in a modern style. The rooms in our town house are all different. Each has its own style and charm.
I am truly sorry we did not get the chance to find you a different room that you would have liked.

Being an eco hotel, we do not have air-conditioning, but fans are available in the rooms to keep them cool. We provide summer blankets roughly from May to October in all the rooms, which are thinner than our winter duvets. Of course we are happy to provide sheets only, if they are requested.
The electricity in the room does not work if your key card is taken from the electricity box. This is to save energy and avoid having lights or the TV switched on by accident when nobody is in the room. Second keycards are available at the reception if needed.

We are sorry you had troubles with our Wi-Fi. We provide one Internet transmitter on each floor which is enough to keep it working well. We will investigate this further, thank you for making us aware.

Regarding breakfast I would like to mention, that an artificial sweetener is available at the buffet and cream is available upon request.

We would have loved to prove you the opposite of what you experienced and truly hope we may get the chance sometime in the future to do so.
With best regards,

Stefania Aloia
Quality Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 24, 2013

We are staying here right now and I have to say that we are very disappointed by the hotel, it is nothing like what we were expecting having seen its ranking here on Trip Advisor 12th best out of 363 - I don't think so!!!
We had booked a classic double and it is nothing like the pictures shown on Booking.com. The room is very bland and pretty basic, the curtains are old and not even 1 piece (so they don't block out the light!), there is no Air-Con & if it at all warm in Vienna when you are visiting, then the rooms are too hot at night. Plus there is not even any tea & coffee making facilities, so you can't have a drink when you wake up or when you get home from a day out sightseeing, before you go out for dinner.
I have to say that the room is clean & the staff are very friendly, but apart from that I can't see what everyone is raving about at all. We were going to book the Austria Trend Park Royal Palace and I have to say, that I wish we had !!!
Summary - VERY AVERAGE

Room Tip: Wouldn't have a classic double if they are all like what we had, they are very average and at th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank MarkAshwell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stefania A, Leiter Gästebetreuung at Boutiquehotel Stadthalle, responded to this reviewResponded August 26, 2013

Dear Mr. Ashwell,

Thank you for sharing your comments on tripadvisor.
We are very sorry that your stay at our 3* Boutiquehotel did not meet your expectations. Please allow me to express my sincerest apologies.

We are very sorry that you did not like the decor of your room. Our rooms in the main house are furnished completely different, each with its own Viennese charm.

You requested a smoking room for your stay. If we had known that we did not meet your taste with this room, we would have been able to react immediately and offer you another (non-smoking) room instead.

We are really sorry that it was too warm during your stay: as we explain on our website we do not have air conditioning in the rooms, but we have equipped them with a fan: an energy efficient alternative for very warm days. However, we are currently looking for another green solution to cool the air in our rooms during the summer.

We would like to inform you that instead of equipping each room with a minibar, you can get drinks at our reception 24 hours a day, enjoy the personal service of our staff and save 21,000 kg of CO2 each year. In addition kettles are available at the reception free of charge.

We hope we could explain our philosophy and we would be very grateful if you would consider giving us another opportunity to welcome you at the Boutiquehotel Stadthalle.

Best regards,

Stefania Aloia
Quality Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 24, 2013

What a great place to base your Vienna visit.
Lovely hotel and great courtyard.
The breakfast was great could be had in the garden setting.
A nice piece of green in the city makes it a pleasant place to be.
The staff are very friendly and helpful.
Would definitely use it again as we really enjoyed all aspects of this hotel.
Has a great feel about the place as a nice friendly place to be on a holiday.

Room Tip: Ours looked onto the courtyard from 3 rd floor Very pleasant.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GEEOZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2013

This hotel has a lovely courtyard, but during the very hot weather the small fan did not provide relief from the heat. The absence of a mini bar was also very inconvenient. No coffee and kettle meant that we had to go downstairs at night to request a cup of coffee.
The shower was small and the transluscent toilet door a bit odd.
The stairways, public toilets are beautifully decorated.
The desk staff were always very pleasant.

Room Tip: The newer version of the rooms are more pleasant.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sharon R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stefania A, Leiter Gästebetreuung at Boutiquehotel Stadthalle, responded to this reviewResponded August 26, 2013

Dear Sharon,

Thank you for visiting our Boutiquehotel and for posting your comments on tripadvisor.com.

We apologize that the temperature in your room was too warm, although the room was extra equipped with a fan. As you know already, the hotel has not got an air-conditioning, for environment-friendly reasons, but has an automatic airing system which normally provides a comfortable temperature in each room. We are aware that the situation was not ideal during the unusually hot days in Vienna and we are investigating new options to improve the airing system so that such inconvenience will not occur again.

We would like to inform you that the facilities to prepare tea and coffee are included in superior rooms and junior suites. These are equipped with a kettle, tea, coffee and hot chocolate. We will make a note for your next visit to remember which room category to offer.

We hope we may offer you our hospitality again soon and would be more than happy to assist you personally with your reservation.

Best regards,

Stefania Aloia
Quality Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Vienna hotels
Wieden
Hotel Kaiserhof Wien
Hotel Kaiserhof Wien
#3 of 359 in Vienna
1,928 reviews
Mariahilf
Hotel Beethoven Vienna
Hotel Beethoven Vienna
#12 of 359 in Vienna
1,422 reviews
Leopoldstadt
Austria Classic Hotel Wien
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Neubau
25hours Hotel at MuseumsQuartier
Leopoldstadt
Das Capri
Das Capri
#15 of 359 in Vienna
1,736 reviews
Serviten Quarter
The Harmonie Vienna
The Harmonie Vienna
#17 of 359 in Vienna
664 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Boutiquehotel Stadthalle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Boutiquehotel Stadthalle

Address: Hackengasse 20, Vienna 1150, Austria (Formerly Minotel)
Phone Number:
Location: Austria > Vienna Region > Vienna
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Vienna
#9 Business Hotel in Vienna
#12 Family Hotel in Vienna
#20 Romantic Hotel in Vienna
Price Range: $96 - $198 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Boutiquehotel Stadthalle 3*
Number of rooms: 79
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A trendsetting combination of sustainability, design, and a touch of luxury: the world’s first hotel with a net zero energy balance is located in the heart of Vienna. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Boutiquehotel Stadthalle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Boutiquehotel Stadthalle Hotel Vienna
Boutique Hotel Vienna

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing