We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Boutiquehotel Stadthalle
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
View Hotel
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (1,527)
Filter reviews
1,527 results
Traveler rating
1,111
333
61
18
4
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,111
333
61
18
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviewseco friendly hotelorganic breakfastsolar panelswestbahnhof stationcity centreunique hotelthere is no air conditioningpublic transportyogurtairport bustram stopfamily roomminute walka lovely staymain stationchoose this hotelquiet street
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
374 - 379 of 1,527 reviews
Reviewed August 14, 2013

We stayed at this hotel during the recent heat wave conditions in Europe. It ended up being unpleasant, simply because the hotel doesn't have airconditioning. To cope with the heat in our room we were provided with a fan. It was simply inadequate. Indeed, the hallways of the hotel were much cooler than our room. While the unique ventilation system presumably works in normal weather it wasn't the case during our visit.
All other aspects of the hotel stay were fine, the staff were helpful, the design and look of the pace was refreshing, and we appreciated the efforts towards minimising the impact on the environment.
The hotel is away from the main centre of town, which has it's pro's and con's, but the close by main station and underground links make up for that.

Room Tip: Avoid north or west facing rooms if the weather is likely to be hot.
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hotpies1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_Stadthalle1, Manager at Boutiquehotel Stadthalle, responded to this reviewResponded August 18, 2013

Dear Hotpies1,

Thank you for your review on tripadvisor. I would like to apologise for the warm temperature in your room. As you already said, the ventilation system works in normal weather, but had its difficulties with the tropical temperatures Vienna experienced in this unusual heat wave. We are working on new ideas to improve this. We hope to have finished our research for innovative ideas soon.

Many thanks also for your postive comments about our staff and environmental actions. We hope we may welcome you again soon in our hotel!

Kind regards,
Claudia Plot

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2013

Stayed 2 nights in this excellent, helpful and friendly hotel. Staff were all excellent and willingly compensated for our abysmal lack of Austrian. Breakfast was healthy, plentiful with plenty of options. Good advice on places to eat and getting around. Parking was useful but the hotel is also ideally placed for public transport, a few minutes walk from the West station, the underground and the 49 tram route that runs through the shopping areas straight to the museum quarter. We want to visit re-visit Vienna and will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Simon P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2013

This is fantastic hotel situated a tram/tube ride from the centre of Vienna. We walked from Westbannhoff station to be met at the hotel by the most helpful and polite staff I have ever met. We had a garden room which was spacious and well appointed. Breakfast is excellent especially if weather allows to be taken outside. Strangely sinks do not have plugs meaning I had to use running tap for shaving etc (not very green). The weather was exceptionally hot (35 deg) and the air conditioning could not cope. Difficult to sleep with fan on all night. Perhaps complimentary cold drinks when this happens would assist? That said the beds were very comfortable.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KMICHAEL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_Stadthalle1, Manager at Boutiquehotel Stadthalle, responded to this reviewResponded August 12, 2013

Dear KMichael,

Thank you very much for writing your review on tripadvisor. We would like to apologise for the warm temperature in your room. The tropical climate really surprised us all. As you can imagine Austria does usually not experience such temperatures ;-). Thank you for your idea regarding offering complimentary cold drinks, this is very much appreciated and an excellent addition to the cold lemon-and mint water we provide free of charge in the lobby everyday.
We hope to welcome you again soon in our cosy Boutiquehotel!

Best regards,
Claudia Plot

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 9, 2013

This is a great little boutique hotel in one of the most interesting cities in Europe. The staff at the front desk and in the breakfast room are great. The breakfast buffet has everything you could possibly want. Not a great place to lose weight.
The hotel is very green and like most European hotels does not have air conditioning. Unfortunately it was a rare 95+ degrees for the three days of our stay. There was no way to cool off. Other than the heat, this was a great place to stay.

Room Tip: You will need to decide if you want a more modern room in the newer part of the hotel or a more traditional, European style.
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 4711Transplant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2013

If you arrive at Vienna Westbahnhof on the train as you walk off the platform you see a large map showing you how to walk to the Hotel Stadthalle. This is an example of their attention to detail in energy saving. We chose to stay there because it was near the station and had easy public transport links. When we arrived the receptionist was very helpful and explained the hotels policies and also advised us on the best trams and u-bahns to use. the breakfast was a good choice of mainly organic foods.
You can choose this hotel because of its green policies but you should choose it because it is a very good value hotel.

Room Tip: At the moment rooms at the back might be better as there is work going on at the front of the hotel and just across the street.
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Inner-Rock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews